We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Golden Horse House
Ranked #316 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We spend 3 days with my boyfriend in Prague and we were quite happy about the accommodation. The house is very cozy, quiet, clean, location perfect - but overpriced comparing to other parts of the town, there were computers with internet on every floor, nice breakfast in the morning with fresh pastry. The room was avarage, Tv only in german, basic equipment, but with certain style. No sigh of smoke at all. The only problem was our bed. The mattress was horrible! Hard and low quality- some cheap ikea stuff. if you dont like hard matress, dont choose this pension. The house lady was a bit distant but polite and helpful. For that money (47 euro) it was a good value. however, Prague is absolutelly amazing! beautiful and mysterious.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nufi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 55 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2011

The Golden Horse is a 16th Century House converted into a B&B. The accommodations are very simple but it is clean and the location is fantastic. It is situated in the old part of the city within easy walking distance of everything and close to embassies and expensive hotels. It is not really romantic and there are no real services to speak of but for solo travelers or travelers on a tight budget, it is a great place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaizyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The location is excellent, the rooms are quite average. If you are non-smoker, do not come there. Somebody smokes in the premises (might be personnel), the smoke comes up and penetrates the rooms, if you are non-smoker, be ready to get a disgusting smells.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgiy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

I used to like this place. It is cheap, in a very good location and gives you all the basics (a good-sized room, ensuite bathroom, even a kitchen corner). However, I have just had a rather disappointing stay:
The room was okay (well, had a funny colour scheme, but no problem). The price seemed right (50 euro a night in what for Prague is the beginning of the high season). Free and well-functioning wi-fi. The TV didn't work (remote control was broken and the buttons on the set were so worn out they did not click) but who cares, in Prague. However, during my stay they rented two rooms above me to 4 English lads. Not the aggressive lager lout types, but noisy anyway. Would shut up when told to do so, but only until the return from the next trip to the centre. Spoilt my stay, I moved out, losing the 50 euro I had paid in advance for the last night (they insist on advance payment). The front desk guy shrugged his shoulders, 's-- happens'.
I will not return. There are places in Prague that quietly discriminate against groups of young Brits, and it's a good policy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LemonadeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Wel lived in the Studios, that are about 500m from the original Golden Horse House. The studios are in a very basic flat. It´s cheap, within walking distance to the tourist area and that´s it. The "original" house of the Golden Horse looked a lot nicer and is in a really nice area. So better try there!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I found the reviewes by the other travelers very useful in deciding where to stay in Prague . The place is nice, rooms are clean. Breakfast for additional 5 Euro was ok! I mean for what we paid it is more than enough. Everything is within a walking distance. We walked for three days.
They also orginised our transfer from and to the airport and that was real good. The driver, (seems he is the owner) was very friendly and gave us information about the city, where to eat etc. Generally nice place to stay for a good price and service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed in this B&B for 3 nights, but didn't get any sleep the first night, as the mattress was about 5cm thick and you could feel every single slat underneath. The owner and her son were very understanding and helpful the next morning and organised for a 2nd mattress to be laid on top the first one, which made a huge difference. The rooms are basic, but quite large. Bathroom was tiny, shower only. Breakfast was served in a cosy little room and consisted of mainly bread, cheese, ham, yoghurt and cornflakes.

The location is fantastic - in an otherwise exceedingly expensive Prague, Mala Strana boasts some affordable and excellent pubs and restaurants. We also stayed in the old town on the other side of the river for a night, but Mala Strana is by far the better option (if you are happy to walk).

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank QueenStoneage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 691 in Prague
793 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#21 of 691 in Prague
906 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#523 of 646 in Prague
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#88 of 646 in Prague
3,311 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#138 of 646 in Prague
5,091 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#185 of 646 in Prague
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Horse House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Horse House

Address: Uvoz 168/8, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $29 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Horse House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Golden Horse House Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing