We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfaction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stary Pivovar
Ranked #526 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    53
    34
    15
    25
See reviews for
29
46
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

In the hotel we had 6.7 2014 wedding (50 people). Excellent food (lunch, evening reception), very helpful waiter Alex Nagy,Thank you very much!! Partying until 01 a.m., noise wasn´t problem. We had better rooms - clean. There was a little noise from the busy street - cars, trams. Excellent parking and access to the citycenter with trams. The hotel is next to the cemetery :-) Table decoration we have made ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aneta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I stay with my girl in this place for few days bia agency for low budget trips. It was clean and stuff was teally friendly. The breakfast was really poor but I guess for that price it is normal. It is 100 m from tram station. You need about 15 minutes with tram to center.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Need to say few words introduction to the review. We were planning a budget-trip to Prague, focusing on life in the city more than the standard of the hotel. We were not expecting anything outstanding from a hotel, but a regular, all-you-need in quality-you-pay-for.

First of all, the location is not too good when you want to visit the city as a tourist. It takes about 15 minutes to get from tram to the underground. Directly with tram you can go somewhere near the old town but still prepare for a 20 minute walk. Getting to the nearest tram stop from the hotel is still about 10 minutes - this is located perfectly in the middle between Motol and Krematorium Motol (yes, there is a crematory nearby - yummie).

As for the hotel itself - I can't say a bad word about the staff - the reception was since the beginning very helpful and nice (we were communicating in English). They have a small shop there where you can find something to eat and drink and even tickets (they don't charge extra when you buy 24 hour one). The hall looks quite nice, the restaurant is fine, I loved the design of the staircases. But this is where the positive things end.

The rooms are, to say kindly, below the expectations. First of all - room was very dark. Big, with only a little window - having seen the hotel from the outside, it is like this in most of the rooms. The window is so little and a bit hidden that even in the middle of the day the rooms are completely dark. The lighting in room is very poor and basic - there were only two lamps in the ceiling, barely giving any light and one little table lamp, giving almost no light. It was very unpleasant. Floor was completely dirty and haven't seen a mop for a while. Bed was ok, but we had double and it was getting separated way to easily so we were constantly struggling with a hole between them. TV was small and did not display the colors correctly. Choice of channels very poor - only one English, CNN. Fan in bathroom was broken and very noisy, water temperature in the shower - almost impossible to adjust to preferances. The air in the room was so heavy and smelly that having woke up or coming to the hotel after a few hours one could not breathe there. Opening a window could help, but the hotel is so close to very busy road (trams passing even all night) that the noise is almost like in the street. Forget about sleeping with an open window.

Breakfasts were poor as well. First of all - there are far too many guests for the food selection and amount that they prepare. The tables are being refilled, but as soon as some food is being prepared, it is immediately taken by impatient, hungry people. The quality was low - cheapest sausages, salads made from what was left from the previous day, eggs overboiled and with no taste... I chose bread, cheese and ketchup + coffee. If you have an option - save the money and skip the breakfast.

All in all, the hotel had a good potential. I liked the pictures on the walls showing the ruins of old brewery that was there 10 years ago, after they were renovated to an hotel. That works the imaginations. Hotel staff is also very nice and they try their best for the resources they have. But it is still not enough to compensate for the disadvantages of the hotel, that are inacceptable even for the low-budget stays. I will not come back here and would never refer it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window on the forest - the further from the street the better (still won't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beezqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have just returned from a two night stay in this hotel. I don't know how much it cost as I was there on business and did not choose the venue myself. My room which was an elongated shape under a sloped roof contained two narrow beds....I guess about one meter wide, one of which was dressed with a sheet and thin duvet and one very flat pillow. I asked for another pillow and after a bit of a search was given a lumpy object in a white bag. The room had a rough synthetic carpet which smelled so strongly of disinfectant I was afraid to walk on it barefoot. The sloped roof had two windows with decorative see through curtains but no blinds so when I woke at full light and looked at my clock it was only 4.30 with no possibility of getting back to sleep. There was a big bathroom but the thin towel and tiny bottle of soup couldn't induce me into the shower as well as the freezing temperature in the room. the conference space was like a metro tunnel with no light or heat. we had lunch on both days in the restaurant and dinner one evening all of which I will write about in the restaurant review. Suffice to say at the moment I do not want to see another member of the pig family for a long time! Staff were indifferent at best and rude at worst. Breakfast was poor with a choice of processed cheese, ham etc. I hate to say this but I was really glad to get some airport food.

Room Tip: Please ask for the room on the brochure. I would be interested to know if it actually exists
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bermb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri H, Vlastník at Hotel Stary Pivovar, responded to this review, January 29, 2015
Hello
We are very sorry to hear that you had bad experience, you should contact hotel manager if you were so unhappy, we could resolve your issue in the hotel and you could get your money back or some discount. You can still contact us anytime on our hotel email to resolve your issues.

Best regards - hotel owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very good and nice hotel for its price.Good location only 12 minutes by tram to Andel or 20-25 minutes to old town.One of the bad thing is that hotel is located very close to busy highway so its a bit noisy but it did not bothered me that much but for someone who has light sleep could be issue.Rooms are very nice and worm with small Tv with not much choice of channels.Only thing i was missing was a kettle to make tea or coffee.Another small issue was that during my stay it happened few many times that staff or cleaner came to my room without knocking even that i had do not disturb label on my door.But otherwise staff was friendly and helpful.Most definitely i would visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: as much far as possible from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertokralik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Good But Noisy Location, Great Staff

Although this hotel is located next to a busy highway with tram stops within easy walking distance, this is a very convenient location for visiting Prague.

We did not have the breakfast that was included in our nightly rate but it seemed typical European, nothing special.

Unfortunately, during our stay there was a huge down pour and the hotel lobby flooded. For me, this was no big deal just added an interesting touch to our stay.

On the plus side, the front desk staff at Hotel Stary Pivovar was exceptionally pleasant and provided good local information about touring the city. Tram tickets are available for purchase right at the front desk.

One nice touch for us was that one of the front desk clerks offered to take care of our laundry while we out and about in the city.

If you can sleep through the constant highway noise or end up with a more quiet room than we did, staying at Hotel Stary Pivovar can be a good deal.

I know I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Discounts Prague Hotel
Discounts Prague Hotel
#594 of 649 in Prague
114 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#525 of 649 in Prague
175 reviews
Praha 4
Botel Racek
Botel Racek
#564 of 649 in Prague
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#405 of 649 in Prague
51 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Wertheim
Hotel Wertheim
#524 of 649 in Prague
27 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Branik
Hotel Branik
#554 of 649 in Prague
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stary Pivovar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stary Pivovar

Property: Hotel Stary Pivovar
Address: Plzenska 229/9, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #526 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stary Pivovar 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are equipped with their own social facilities with shower. Hotel guests have at their disposal a parking area for cars and buses. Breakfast is served in buffet style. Hotel also offers currency exchange and secretarial services. On request we can arrange sight seeing tours, private guides and various cultural events. Hotels has also its own taxi service. Thanks to its location, the hotel is easily accessible from the center (15 minutes by tram from the Andel shopping center in Smichov) and also from Prague Ruzyne airport (15 minutes) and from the direction of Plzen as well. Hotel guests have at their disposal a guarded parking area for cars and buses. The hotel also offers currency exchange and secretarial services. We can prepare all events according to the clients' wishes, including complete services, decorations, technical equipment and gastronomic offers. On request we can arrange for circular tours of Prague and the near environs, guided tours of the city, tickets for sporting and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stary Pivovar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing