We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from this place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Athena Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Athena Palace
Ranked #544 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

I would avoid this hotel if I could. Only good thing about it, is that its close to the tram, subway and an excellent dining place.

The room was small, it was worn down with cracks everywhere, it smelled badly, the breakfast was so so (better than at a backpackers place) and for the price we were paying you would expect more. Alot more!

The worst thing, however, was an incredible rude staff and manager. Well, to be honest, it was 2 ou tof 3 that was very rude. One guy, was friendly, so I you read this - good on you - you made the day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axehigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    3
    3
    15
See reviews for
6
22
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

We booked two rooms and staid here for a whole week. I can not complain about anything. Both rooms were nice and clean. The hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere and staff were very helpfull. The breakfast was pleasing to all. The location is also great and Prague is just beautiful city. I recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zmijus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

We ordered Junior suite and we where given small room on the gound floor, with furniture like somewhere in the hostel. We wanted our money back but we were told its not possible, then I was put on the phone with the ''manager'' which she was very rude to me, did not even introduce her self and start shout at me that in no chance she'll give me my money back, so I asked her if she ever stayed in 4* hotel and she start telling me that her boyfriend is Prag's millionaire! Which I do not really care about.
Anyway we were given bigger room, which had dirty and small bathroom and the sofa had a white dirty spots.Every each of furniture had different colour and if you order sparkling wine they'll bring it with glasses for red wine.
Staff no formal uniforms, breakfast- cold eggs left there only on plate, 2 meats, 2 stale cheeses and from fruits cuted stale apples.
This is not a 4* hotel, I can recommend as a expensive hostel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooby30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Limerick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed for three nights and were really pleased with the hotel. Our room was very comfortable and well furnished with interesting old pieces. The staff were professional and pleasant. The breakfasts were large with lots of selection. Location is perfect – just walking distance to the Wenceslas square. We all recommend.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

We came to Prague to show it to our children and stayed at Athena Palace for 7 days. We were given a huge 2 rooms appartment with kitchen which was perfect for me, my husband and 2 our children.
The breakfast lady was very nice and every day baked something fresh and delicious. It was always a great choice of cold and hot food.
The reception workers helped us with every question we had and offered interesting trips in and out of Prague and good tip for restaurant.
The room was cleaned every day. We did not have problems with towels and other things.
I can't understand those who write bad reviews on this hotel. I guess they have some problems and I would advise them to stay in 5 Star Hilton where personell are robots and you don't have a feeling that they care about their guests. In this hotel we did have such feeling that all personell was happy to see us, were very friendly and smiled.
I am happy that we chose Athena Palace and recomend it to our family friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anntravelMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

This hotel shoudl not even be in any listing...they are completely unreliable, they chat you and tell you that the booking is confirm only to discover at arrival that you simply do not have a room. Then they are completely rude to you and say that they will need to send you to some other hotel where there is no room either.....just a dissaste. Please please do not make the mistake of staying in this hotel.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank EllaNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

We've stayed to this hotel during our summer vacation to Prague. As Prague is a city you can walk all attractions are really close to the hotel even if it's not to historical centre.
Also, a tram station helps those who want to visit Castle area and a metro station is close enough.
I enjoyed the breakfast, the stuff is really helpful (and multilingual), there is a pc at the lobby and it's a convinient place to stay.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#237 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#50 of 368 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 661 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#235 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Hilton Prague
#133 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,492 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#106 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athena Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athena Palace

Property: Hotel Athena Palace
Address: Salmovska 1539/10 | Prague 2, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Athena Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athena Palace, originally a Gothic building, dating back to the 14th century, is nowadays a beautiful 4-star hotel in Prague city centre, near Charles square. The Athena Palace Hotel is located in a quiet street on the right bank of Vltava river, a stone's throw away from Saint Ignac Church, The National Theatre, Wenceslas Square and The National Museum. The property underwent extensive refurbishment in April 2006. Facilities include free Internet access in the lobby, garage parking for guests, and the breakfast room may be used for conferences, meetings and parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing