We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, loud and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Chili Prague
Ranked #446 of 656 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Decatur, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dirty, loud and poor service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you're looking for a really cheap hostel, and that's it, then Chili Hostel is a good contender. But if you have even moderate standards for cleanliness and hospitality, then it's definitely worth it to spend the extra bucks on a slightly more expensive place.

The kitchen was absolutely filthy. It's what we first saw when we were waiting for our rooms, which didn't set a very good tone. We had plenty of time to evaluate it since the incompetent staff couldn't care less that we had to wait 30 minutes to check in (because of a "shift change"). In our room, we found dirty dishes with mold growing in them, which made us think twice about the supposedly "clean linens" on our beds.

Restrooms were unpredictable, and most without hot running water. Cold showers and waiting got really old after a while. Not to mention, the teeny bopper night club just below the window that kept sleep at bay til the week hours of the morning.

Unless you're really just dirt poor, I'd keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinleigh0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    75
    126
    74
    148
See reviews for
11
69
97
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I came in 2007 and in 2011 so I can't be sure what it's like now, but I wanted to stay there again this summer because I had loved it both times, but there was no room.
No Prague is one of my favorite cities in Europe and this place always complemented my time there.
Admittedly you're not paying for 5* luxury by any means, but sleeping arrangements are sufficient, room space is more than needed and the windows that look out onto the streets really immerse you in the Czech culture.
Reception staff have always been kind and respectful. Plus they're like 10 computers and free wifi available which is always useful.
Small kitchen but good nonetheless.
The games room downstairs however is pretty crap to be honest, unless they've sorted in out, but I doubt it.

But the best thing about this hostel is its location. Ten minutes walk from the Old Town, the best pub in the entire world is 30 seconds down the road 'Cafe/Bar Popocafepetl Na Struze'. Cafe Lovre (where Einsteain drank coffee) is 5 minutes walk. The biggest club in central Europe is also 5 minutes away, though its not really that good in my eyes - try Chapeau Rouge, it's insane!

Either way, stay here, its great

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Studentcriteec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The location was pretty good, close enough to the centre and easy enough to find. The price was brilliant and it had all the basic necessities. The kitchen was fairly disgusting and had very little cutlery which wasn't great seeing as it's quite a big hostel. In all fairness the hostel would be pretty great if it wasn't for the unfriendly staff. They were extremely unhelpful bar one girl. They seemed to resent being asked any questions and their answers weren't very helpful. If you want to wash your clothes i'd look outside the hostel as there's only one washing machine which is always being used.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deargzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I liked the kitchen and dining area, although dirty and kind of gross it was a nice place to get to know some of the other guests staying there. The computers were free and there was usually enough of them. The beds were pretty terrible but for the price i would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vryanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a very cheap hostel and close to the center. The baths are very very small, at least the one that we received, and we had to share it with other guests. For a one night and quickly experience, I would say it was ok and worked perfectly for our plans.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlepigeon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is not recommended to anyone who intends to sleep between 3 and 6am. Many noisy teenagers seems to use this hostel for their party-all-night-in-Prague-holidays. The showers had only cold water and the girls in the reception were unfriendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatMunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

when we were booking this hostel we saw a few bad reviews but we just ignored it because the price was so cheap. Big mistake. the best thing about this hostel is the location as its close to everything but this just doesnt compensate for all of its downfalls. the kitchen was constantly filthy so we never used it. the staff, to say they are unhelpful and rude is an understatement. when you ask them for help they just stare at you like you should know everything about prague already. the cheap price just wasnt worth the hassle we had here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNDX9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#4 of 656 in Prague
1,202 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#23 of 656 in Prague
314 reviews
Praha 2
Hostel Advantage
Hostel Advantage
#17 of 656 in Prague
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Orange
Hostel Orange
#66 of 656 in Prague
216 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Prague Hostel
Old Prague Hostel
#126 of 656 in Prague
417 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel Mango
Hostel Mango
#36 of 656 in Prague
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Chili Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Chili Prague

Property: Hostel Chili Prague
Address: Pstrossova 7/205, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 656 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Chili Prague 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Chili Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing