We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay in Prague”
Review of Hotel Monastery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monastery
Ranked #33 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay in Prague”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Last weekend me and my family visited Prague. Our choice of hotel was Monastery, and we did not regret. Cozy rooms (1 4-p and 1 2-p), clean, nice bathrooms, good wi-fi. Very quiet area. Friendly and excellent staff. I did not what kind of breakfast we could expect (as I knew it was a little hotel), but got very positively surprised. Several kinds of bread, cereal, fruit, scrambled eggs, etc. In short, excellent.
Easy to get to downtown, either by tram or simply by walking.

Highly recommended place to stay for travellers in Prague

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erlend L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    110
    12
    1
    12
See reviews for
90
234
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The location is good - away from the busy town centre but easy on 22 tram. It was not so easy to find the place when we arrived after dark.

I found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was excellent.

I was first placed in an attic room which I found claustrophobic because of the sloping ceiling and very small windows. There was an air conditioning unit for hot nights but it was too noisy for me to sleep. I asked for a change and was pleased to have a room on the first floor which was very comfortable. I would definitely return but not to an attic room.

Room Tip: Avoid the attic (2nd floor). There is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel with excellent views over the old city, it's a really beautiful location in a quiet area.
Our room was more than we expected, very spacious and very clean.
The staff are so very helpful and kind.
I can't praise she hotel enough, even the buffet style breakfast was good. I would not hesitate to go back next year as Prague is very vibrant and beautiful, and a real gem of a place. Loved it so much

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jembaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The room was nice and the sauna room was really useful after a whole day walking. Breakfast buffet was amazing and location was superb. If you are in Praha, you should stay here. Hint: there is public transportation near by.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week while we toured Prague. It is located in the Strahov Monastery which is one of the sites you should see when you visit. It is surrounded by several interesting restaurants (4 within a stones throw).

The good: Gorgeous views, excellent breakfast, friendly helpful staff, clean, comfortable beds, very close to the 22 Tram (the one recommended for seeing the city) and the Castle.

The bad: It's noisy. There isn't air conditioning in the rooms so we kept the windows open most of the time (even in late September, but it was comfortable with them open) so you can hear the diners at all the surrounding restaurants at night, laughing and talking. During the day and evening you can hear the crowds of tourists. And, and this is the big one, the monastery still rings its bells for every hour and quarter hour but the really long one is at 6 AM!!! And theres a weird mechanical bird sound that runs all day long.

It is up a long hill. We walked it the first few days but were very quickly motivated to figure out the tram system for our poor tired tourist feet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilasno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed three nights as part of a group - our room was the larger of the three that our group had, but the others found their ones a bit cramped. Great breakfasts out on the terrace. Very handy to the castle, and the tram line if you don't want to walk downhill to the city. The view out over the city is to die for, and the restaurant next door has a great terrace for the evening meal with the city below you. Only down side are the steep narrow stairs to haul your bags up, but with off-street parking this is a great hotel - and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor - as they are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two days. The hotel is great. It is located in the monastery which is fun.
It is very close to the castle and not far from other sites. The staff was nice. Breakfast was good too.I would recommend this hotel for travellers who like authentic places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anton_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#31 of 649 in Prague
640 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 649 in Prague
273 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#44 of 649 in Prague
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,611 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 649 in Prague
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monastery

Property: Hotel Monastery
Address: Strahovske nadvori 13/134, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#30 Family Hotel in Prague
#42 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monastery 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and cosy hotel with unique and unforgettable view of the Prague Castle, Lesser Side and the Old Town embroidered by the Vltava river is located directly in the city center in a peaceful garden of the Strahov Monastery (national historic landmark, founded in 1142). The hotel is only a few steps from all landmarks and easily accessible by the public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Monastery Prague
Residence Monastery Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing