We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Spot in a Wonderful City”
Review of Hotel Monastery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monastery
Ranked #33 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Spot in a Wonderful City”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Residence Monastery in Mid May and we had a wonderful time in this very well located hotel. Our room was comfy and well furnished with a beautiful view over the city. You're actually located within the Strazhov Monastery and there are bars, restaurants and major tourist attractions all within walking distance. However it is up the very long hill from the Old Town so you need to enjoy a spirited climb! The Hotel Staff are kind and friendly but we would suggest calling to confirm your booking in advance. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    110
    12
    1
    12
See reviews for
90
234
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in May. At first it seemed a bit remote from the city, but as we got oriented we realized it was a great location, near the castle, above the city but within walking distance to the Little Quarter and near a tram. and part of a substantial and interesting monastery complex. Snug but very comfortable room, very friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast - and a pretty garden for warm mornings If we go back to Prague we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We really liked this hotel. Peaceful, great location & good breakfast. Reception absolutely excellent.
Only downsides - toiletries in room could be better; chambermaid didn't clean our mugs very well; no bar; no nuts or crisps in minibar; need to use tram or long walk back from Prague centre. These are ALL minor points though & if we stay in Prague again we would stay here.

Room Tip: Be aware of walk from centre of Prague to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and our room looked directly on to Strahov Monastery (indeed this small hotel is in part of the Monastery buildings) The room was on the top floor and is split level - seating area and bathroom below and bedroom reached by a metal staircase) Bed was comfortable and I slept through the 6am bell ringing - though it woke my husband. The views were superb. Breakfast at ground level is standard continental fare. There is fruit, cheese, ham, excellent scrambled eggs, tasty bread to toast, some unappetising cereals and cake if you must. On fine days it is possible to have breakfast outside and we managed this on one day.
Andrea was the receptionist during our stay. She really could not have more helpful. Cheerful, helpful 10 out of 10.
The area around the hotel is generally very quiet, which suited us. It is not too far to walk into town, although there are trams. Finding somewhere to sell tram tickets is problematic and the automatic machines may not work.
There is no lift to upper floors of this hotel so this may not be a good choice for people with mobility problems. That said if you like somewhere a bit different away from the hordes in the middle of town then this is a great choice.

Room Tip: All rooms 31 to 35 are on the top floor with the best views and split level bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz49Elgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel has a heavenly setting. My room looked out on the monastery. Nearby is the best view of Prague. Lovely clean room and full breakfast included. Our innkeeper was so helpful and friendly. Near gallery, monastery and library.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing monastery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel. It is a perfect mix of old and new decor; the rooms are beautiful - very clean, and spacious if you have a room on the lower floors. The weather was very cold, but the room was warm and welcoming to return to. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff were extremely helpful. You virtually step out of the hotel entrance and you are in the grounds of the monastery. All the major sights - Prague Castle, Loreta Church, Charles Bridge and the Old Town Square are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Just a word of caution for the more mature travellers - ask for a lower level room - the attic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. First of all the photos's are quite misleading as our room was the tiniest hotel room I have ever stayed in but the pictures make them look spacious. Every night there was the sound of running water, which on the first night I thought I had left the tap on in the bathroom, but it was like chinese water torture which made sleeping very difficult. The hotel is clean and the breakfast (except the day where there were hot dogs and mixed vegetables!!!) is fine. The courtyard location is very nice and the 22 tram stop is 3 minutes away. I would recommend using the tram to come back to the hotel as it's only 85p and the 20 minute walk to the Charles Bridge in the morning is fine but after a long day the upward climb is tiring!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolsAddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#31 of 649 in Prague
640 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 649 in Prague
273 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#44 of 649 in Prague
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,609 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 649 in Prague
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monastery

Property: Hotel Monastery
Address: Strahovske nadvori 13/134, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Prague
#30 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#42 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monastery 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and cosy hotel with unique and unforgettable view of the Prague Castle, Lesser Side and the Old Town embroidered by the Vltava river is located directly in the city center in a peaceful garden of the Strahov Monastery (national historic landmark, founded in 1142). The hotel is only a few steps from all landmarks and easily accessible by the public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Monastery Prague
Residence Monastery Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing