We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Golden Experience in the Golden City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #23 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2008

From our very first inquiry to the assistance of the driver at the airport, this was truly a remarkable travel experience. We found the staff to be professional, attentive, and always friendly. They anticipated our needs and instantly solved every request. For instance, we wanted to ship some luggage home so that we could better attend to fragile items we had purchased. The concierge obtained a 25kg FedEX box, assisted with the paperwork, and saw that it was promptly shipped - completely painless for us. Laundry was returned in short order, room service was prompt and extraordinary. Prior to our arrival, we were able to communicate directly with the spa staff by e-mail to pre-schedule treatments, at a discount, and were so pleased by the expert treatments - honestly the best we have experienced in a hotel spa - that we booked a treatment for every day. The hotel, located on the Mala Strana, retains the peaceful beauty of the monastery - it is quiet, elegant in its simplicity, and restorative in its ambiance. The bathroom was an expansive, all marble space with a deep, long soaking tub and an excellent adjustable showerhead gently emitting good water - no softening agents. The windows in the bath open to allow the fresh air into the room - perfect after a hot shower or soak. The windows are configured in a double fashion unlike any I have seen - deep wells, with smooth-functioning locks & handles and built in shades for when you choose privacy over view. The moldings, especially in the curved multi-window design, are heavy and exquisite, the doors solid. The bed was extraordinary - and we never heard a sound from fellow travelers or staff. The peace that one would expect of a monastery was complete. The restaurant is excellent - a sophisticated blend of asian, east indian, and Czech food, with superior wine offerings. To cap it off, the view from our room showcased the Prague castle and surrounding rooftops. The Mandarin Oriental is where you want to stay when you visit Prague if you are looking for a perfect experience.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sojourner4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2008

Beware- Do Not Book a room at the MandarinOriental in Prague.
We were greeted at the airport by a rep from the hotel. He told us that the 2 rooms we booked for 3 nights were not available and they booked us at another hotel. The reason stated was that they extended the visit of some other people, already staying there.
I told him this was unacceptable and perhaps they should move those people to the other hotel.
He apologized and said there was nothing he could do about it. He did have a driver at the airport, at their expense to take us to the other hotel. I told him that I was in Prague in 2003 and stayed at the Four Seasons which was fabulous and in the best location. I did not stay there this trip because I wanted to try a new hotel. He asked if I would like him to get us rooms at the Four Seasons? I said yes and that thru American Express/Platinum I get an upgrade and free breakfast. He made the reservations and the Mandarin paid for our entire stay/ 2 rooms/3 nights at the Four Seasons plus transportation to and from the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
5  Thank DollyDollyLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

We stayed at the MO Prague last winter and I must say that it was everything you would expect and more. The hotel is discretely tucked away and you'd be excused for not realising that this is a 5 star hotel at all! From the friendly reception to the fantastic standard of the guestrooms I can assure you that you will not be disappointed. This is probably the best hotel in Prague, very quiet location (well away from the stag party venues), astonishingly pretty surroundings, excellent staff and service - you couldn't wish for more.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

This fine hotel is a gem; an ancient monastery has been perfectly restored to function as a luxury hotel. Property is tastefully beautiful and well-appointed. Staff is fantastic--concierges did everytihng well--from recommending and booking operas to restaurants. Hotel breakfast is delicious and setting is wonderful way to begin the day. And the bar plays just the right music, mixes just the right drinks, and is decorated just right--a great way to end a great day.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NomadicNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We had a lovely stay at the Oriental in Prague (late Feb 08 weekend). The property is located very well in Mala Strana, tucked away from the (even in February) maddening crowds, yet a short walk to everywhere one would like to visit in the City- very civilised location. It is visually stunning, one of the most beautiful hotels I have encountered (think central european version of Palazzo Sasso, Ravello or the Four Seasons in Milan). The staff is kind, smiling and helpful. Wonderful toiletries by Aromatherapy Associates. Great (firm but cushy) bed. The breakfast buffet is of very good quality (delicate pastries, nice smoothies, fresh cut fruit, great bread) served in a series of beautiful rooms of the restaurant. Reception efficient. Concierge helpful, informed and kind. NB recommended excellent restaurant w/ local cuisine close to hotel - U Modre Kachnicky. We had probably one of the most relaxed, pleasant weekends trips ever.

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank kickboxingshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

World Class

I my job I travel a lot and since I am working for a luxury car brand we often stays at luxury hotels to see who the manage to impress customers, I must say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at.
The people working there are so friendly and service minded, they always smile to you and know how important you are to them.
Rooms are very nice and I could not find anything wrong here.

If you ever want to stay in Prague, give your self the change to stay here.

Thanks to all at Mandarin
Ulrik, Denmark

Stayed: January 2008
4  Thank Satisfied-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

Having always stayed at the Savoy for the past 4 trips to Prague, fancied a change and went for the MO. Excellent hotel! Great location, not far from Charles Bridge, but really peaceful and quite area.

The restaurant was excellent for dinner. Great fusion of Asian/European food and the staff were excellent. Breakfast service was a little slow, but could be put down to it being a weekend and very busy.

Loved the bar and again the staff were excellent.

Rooms were a good size and the toiletries were great! Have only ever seen them used at Carlisle Bay in Antigua.

Overall, this is now my new place to stay in Prague. The Savoy is good, but the MO is perfect.

As I own a travel agency I have already recommended and booked numerous customers and have no problem recommending to anyone, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOHRUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#40 of 646 in Prague
1,183 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#11 Family Hotel in Prague
#21 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $242 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing