We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Fault, 5 Star Destination with Incredible Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Ranked #23 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was here for 3 nights and cannot really fault the place, the staff are outstanding and offer an incredibly high level of service. The rooms are perfect and the hotel's location is ideal. Regular users of the Mandarin chain will be used to these exceptional standards and a stay here will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HenryAbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your views of your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Prague. I am delighted to read that your stay with us was comfortable and pleasant. Our guest’s satisfaction – manifested in reviews such as yours - is our best reward.

Thank you again; I truly hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Prague in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

I just came back from a 5 night business trip. The Mandarin Oriental in Prague is in an excellent location in the Old Town. It benefits from having a nice outdoor space so on warm dry days you can eat breakfast/dinner or have drinks there. it is right by the entrance of the hotel so you look on to parked cars or taxis constantly pulling up. the staff in the hotel were friendly, professional and helpful throughout the trip. A decent breakfast buffet. The room service was fine but nothing to talk about an expensive. limp lettuce ceasar salad with no dressing and dry chicken. Also took over an hour from ordering it to it being delivered to my room. Spa massage was good but very expensive. I was given a room in the attic of the spa, it was clean and with a comfortable bed but the room was very hot as it is an attic room,no decent air con and so so noisy from the tram that went by all the time, the bathroom was big but teh shower had bad pressure and took ages before hot water came and the worst part of the attic spa room is that you had to take a lift walk through a corridor, take another lift and then walk up another flight of stairs or use the spa lift but only is spa hours. A serious pain each time. No swimming pool . The design in the hotel restaurant and bar feels a bit cheesy and dated considering the prices are top dollar. This hotel is fine for business and has good internet service & high speed connection. I would not want to stay here for pleasure. If i came back I would make sure that I was not in the spa part of the hotel. Prague is beautiful, people are lovely and Prague is well worth visiting.

Room Tip: do not choose a room in the spa building. especially not the attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your extensive review with the Trip Advisor community.

First, I am happy to know that you have enjoed many aspects of your stay with us, especially our service. Second, I regret to hear that our room service did not meet your expectations; rest assured that we take all guest comments seriously, and have already improved our quality check system prior to delivery so that food always arrives in top condition.

Finally, with respect to your room, due to the historical nature of the building we were not able to build a lift leading up to the top floor; nonetheless, it is the opinion of the vast majority of guests that the top-floor rooms in the Spa building make up for the slight inconvenience by their lovely rustic atmosphere and in one case, a beautiful sunken bathroom. As our property comprises four different buildings, there is a great variety of rooms available and it is only a slight exaggeration to say that no two are alike; we would be sure to choose one that better fits your needs should you honour us by choosing Mandarin Oriental, Prague for a future stay.

Thank you very much again for your helpful comments. Have a lovely rest of the summer and should your travels bring you to Prague again, we would be happy to welcome you back.

Best wishes,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here for work but it would be a great base for any purpose of stay - excellent location. The room was very comfortable, the twice daily maid service was discreet and attentive. Fresh fruit in my room was replenished daily. Breakfast was plentiful, varied and very tasty. Good bar & restaurant. I didn't try the spa but heard it's wonderful. All the staff were sweet and polite.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 128BukeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your stay. Your generous feedback is a wonderful encouragement to my team – we especially appreciate your ”sweet“ comment. We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Prague again.

My kindest regrads,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

During our visit to Prague with my wife and three kids we considered that the MO would be a nice option due to its location. When arrived the receiption by the staff was amazing; they made a great effort in order for us to feel at home. When arriving to our room (by the way we were upgraded), they really paid attention to those little details that make a difference. For instance, they included all kind of amenities for my kid of 1.5 years old (shampoos, special bath robes, pop corns).
The recommendations of the concierge with respect to restaurants were also great as we were able to skip those tourist traps.
The breakfast and the great service of the staff at the restaurant also made a big difference. The service was amazing and the food was also great.
I would say that the only part of the hotel that could be subject to improvement is the fitness area. Although the gym is fine, there is no one to assist you. That is a very little insignifant thing.
Finally, the rooms are great (spacious, clean and well decored).
This is a great city with great people with a great hotel, located in a very beutiful area of Prague.
I will definetly consider this hotel in a future stay in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepe014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your enthusiastic and detailed review. it is extremely gratifying to hear that you and your family appreciated the little child-friendly touches we are happy to provide to our little guests.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, from your room to dining and concierge services, and last but not least, our lovely city - Prague. Your generous comments are greatly appreciated by my entire team.

I would once again like to thank you for your time and effort, and sincerely hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Prague soon.

Sincerely yours,

Werner Anzinger,
General Manager, Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This branch of the Mandarin Oriental chain is a welcome oasis of restrained elegance in this glorious city. It is unusually quiet yet very central, set in the Little Quarter , a stones throw from the Castle and Charles Bridge, but in a tranquil bubble of calm. The building is a renovated monastery, and many wonderful archaeological finds excavated during the renovation are displayed, both artefacts in cases and also original structures displayed beneath glass floors in the Spa. Speaking of which...... the Spa experiences are out of the world, as are the prices! The rituals and the treatments themselves are excellent,and include diagnostic exercise and diet suggestions .... definitely worth it for an occasional treat. There are also free Yoga sessions every morning in the quiet clam of the spa area. Breakfasts are very very good, and the cocktail bar extremely inviting. The restaurant menu is possibly a little over-styled, with Eastern fusion cooking, but this can be a light and healthy alternative after all the heavy, fatty food on offer around the rest of Prague. Without exception the staff are charming and helpful. With welcome extras- fresh fruit in the rooms, iPod docks, dvd players, but a disappointingly narrow TV channel choice- 8 sports channels,?!, 5 news channels but no drama or art channels.- what about BBC Entertainment of Classic TV etc? There are no views in the Spa wing bedrooms, a narrow street with windows opposite, but the rooms themselves are comfortable and elegant.(Except for the rather ugly wardrobes), with cool parquet flooring.Classy marble bathrooms and beautiful double-ended baths, big enough for two , and excellent aromatherapy toiletries offer a pampering treat. I loved the Sleep Spray, and suffering jet lag , this sprayed on my pillow after an excellent de-stress massage meant I had the best night's sleep for a long time.

Room Tip: The Monastery rooms have no views and are a little way away from the main hotel, but are very peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague and posting such an articulate, informative and generous review following your stay with us. I am thrilled that you have enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, from our location to the historical highlights located throughout the hote, to our breakfast and Spa offerings.

If I may, I would only like to clarify one detail: Our restaurant, Essensia, does not offer fusion cooking but a two-part menu – updated Czech cuisine and classic, straightforward Asian classics, both prepared by highly trained and skilled chefs who emphasize quality ingredients and authentic flavours above all else.

With respect to the choice of in-room TV channels, I understand that it may appear limited but the programmes you mention are not available via public broadcast licenses in the Czech Republic, and thus cannot be offered by any Czech hotel. However, we are constantly monitoring the market and will be adding more programme choices as they become available..

I would once again thank you for your time, and am very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Prague soon.

My kindest regards,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager, Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Mandarin for two nights in July, 2012. Two rooms -- one a castle view room (507) and the other a garden view (328). Both were very nice. Large rooms, well appointed, great beds (although hard, as is typical in Europe). Great bathrooms. The hotel is set off from the touristy bustle of Prague and has a nice quiet feel to it. It is a little refuge in a busy city. It is located just over the Charles Bridge in the Little Quarter, so it is incredibly close to the castle, the bridge, and very easy to walk over to Old Town. The breakfast was great; the spa was excellent. Service was excellent. Overall, a solid hotel. Cheaper than the 4 Seasons by quite a bit (at least when we were reserving) and just as nice. I would definitely recommend it. (Only drawback if you have kids with you: no pool.)

Room Tip: The castle view rooms cost more but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel on the TripAdvisor community. I am thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay including the rooms, breakfast and spa; your mention of excellent service is also much appreciated.

It has been a pleasure to look after your during your stay. I truly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Prague soon.

My best wishes,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager, Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

this is absolutely top!!!!!! get a hotel transfer from the airport, sublime mercedes and very attentful driver. Breakfast with endless choice. The suites are breathtaking: three rooms !! , a bathroom as big as football field, shower where the whole footballteam can take a shower all together. restaurant of top quality with exeptional polite personnel. The hotel is on walking distance of the center of prague. I can 't imagine there would be a better place to stay in this lovely city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjHasselt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Prague, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Prague, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Dr. Hasselt,

It is not every day that I have the pleasure of reading a similarly delightful, enthusiastic review. Our heartfelt thanks for sharing your feedback following your stay with us, and rest assured my entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back to our “little jewel“.

Your compliments mean the world to us. Have a lovely rest of the season and let’s hope your travels bring you back to Prague soon.

With my best wishes,

Werner Anzinger
General Manager, Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 647 in Prague
1,166 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Prague

Address: Nebovidska 459/1 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#7 Business Hotel in Prague
#14 Family Hotel in Prague
#21 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $304 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Prague is an intimate hotel located in a former Dominican monastery set amidst the palaces and gardens of Prague's historic Mala Strana district. With a former Renaissance chapel housing the award-winning Spa, an inventive selection of delicious Asian dishes and mouth-watering cocktails at Spices Restaurant and Bar, and understated contemporary design blending local history with modern luxury, the hotel is a private oasis of sophistication and style in the very heart of Central Europe's most beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Prague Hotel Prague
Mandarin Prague
Prague Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing