We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy
Ranked #607 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was very nice week. Weather was not too warm, to feel uncomfortable without aircon. It wasn't needed at all. The appartment was very big, nice and clean. I was very impressed. Wi-fi was not so strong - had to go catch the signal in the hall. I liked the position of the hotel. Cosy street very close to the Charles bridge. Great choice! The stuff was very helpfull. I really appreciated their effort - we were arriving late, so they left the keys with all needed instructions - it was also good that I called in advance and got all the information straight from them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    2
    5
    9
See reviews for
10
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This restaurant looks cultural and classy from the outside, which was what encouraged us to sample the food here despite the menu being somewhat pricey.

My first thought upon being served my meal was, perhaps this is a restaurant for ants because the portion size is ridiculously small. I ordered ravioli and although it tasted good, it didn't taste good enough to warrant the size or price of the meal.

It was nice to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine and I enjoyed writing my travel journal in peace, but essentially the lack of customers reflects the poor value for money and mediocre food. My mother ordered a simple spaghetti dish with olive oil and was also equally disappointed. Essentially this restaurant is not worth a visit and I would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vthomas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at The Black Star. We had suite number 5 accessed via a nearby doorway and through the mediaeval-style metal gates - a delightful 2-level apartment with kitchenette and small terrace. Breakfast was fine - ideal way to start the day as we ate out for lunch and dinner. Great location too, close to the Charles Bridge, Clementinum, Kepler Museum and other old town attractions. Nice signed photos of Denise Crosby and Marina Sirtis from Star Trek too!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Whilst visiting Prague for a long weekend we came across "The Black Star" restaurant and thought it represented a typical Czech restaurant. Althought it was not on our list of recommended restaurants we decided to go there for dinner that evening. It was a bad choice and represented everything bad about Prague that you read. The bill for for of us was £160.00 (2 soups/2 mussles/2 goulash/2 pasta/1 bottle of cheap wine). Without knowing they charge cover charge, tax and a surcharge on debit card payments. The food was terrible and no vegetables served despite the menu indicating otherwise. When compared to the meal we had at Augustine Hotel (5* hotel) where we paid less for a superb 3 course meal with drinks before and after. Stay away from this hotel for your own good. When we complained we were told "tough, we have a new chef and that is the way he cooks". Ultimate rip off and a bad end to a fantastic short break. We have learned our lesson and will in future stick with the local recommendations or at least the ones on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Dont stay at this hotel if it is anything to do with the restaurant, I assure you you will regret it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

II stayed at this property with friends over New Year's Eve. Its a small, apartment like complex with little to zero amenities. However, the location is great, right smack in the center. The rooms are clean (although a bit bare and lackluster in design). Front desk is very helpful. And the pricing is convenient if you prefer to spend your vacation money on useful things such as food and drinks! One tip: skip the one star continental free breakfast and go to a nearby bakery for your morning snack. If you plan to spend most of your time outside of the hotel, then, there is really nothing wrong with this property. Trust me, if it was good enough for 5 pretentious girls from Los Angeles, it should be good enough for most people :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineandCheeseFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2011

As a party, we stayed in two deluxe rooms, one for 3 (room 6) and one for 2 (room 4). Rooms 4 had a larger lounge area with two settees, overloooking a small side street. The separate inner bedroom was away from any potential noise of the street and we were well rested. The lounge room had an attached kitchen area next to the lounge (open plan), with a fully functional fridge, freezer and oven. There was plenty of room available. Room 6 had a separate kitchen and small in comparison with the open plan kitchen in room 4. However, it was fully functional also. Room 6's dining area was included in a bedroom area. As one of the bedrooms overlooked a thoroughfare, there was a degree of noise late at night according to one friend.
The location of the hotel was ideal - near enough to the square where there is an Easter market - and near enough to the Charles Street Bridge (Karlov).
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was eaten at the adjoining hotel - a combination of a typical continental breakfast, with with a degree of cooked food too. There is access to a computer for those who wish to book on-line for their flight / check emails, etc. Security into the building was impressive - a locked front door, leading to a locked gated door, leading to another inner 'front' door and finally, your own bedroom door (for rooms 4 and 6 at least).
I would definitely contemplate booking this hotel again due to its location and friendliness, and a reasonable price too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viviennepunshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2011

we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during winter, got some winter discount and for that money (app. 50euro) it was ok. I wouldnt pay more in high season because its not worth the money. however, the location is very central and therefore probably expensive. The room was ok, the gates were ridiculous but we didnt mind, we liked the medieval ambiance. I have to admit that all our complaines were solved immediatelly and politely. Staff speaks good english. The breakfast was very poor, cheap stuff, no taste. I was quite disappointed, I expected more from the pictures on net and references here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nufi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#103 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Aurus
Aurus
#129 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#105 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
#339 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy

Property: Hotel U Cerne Hvezdy
Address: Seminarska 177/6, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #607 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Residence At The Black Star is a romantic 3* star hotel situated in the historical centre of Prague, only 250 metres from the Charles Bridge and just a few minutes walk from the Old Town Square. It is an ideal location right in the heart of the Old Town. The building of the Black star is proclaimed within the Prague cultural preservation which was listed on the UNESCO world heritage list in 1993. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing