We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location. Wonderful Staff!”
Review of Red Chair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Chair Hotel
Ranked #16 of 363 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I highly recommend the Red Chair Hotel for your trip to Prague.
The Red Chair Hotel is perfectly located on a quiet street in Old Town. We were able to walk to all the sites we wanted to explore. The hotel staff is fantastic! Gabriela, Lenka and Premysl were all so helpful. They made us feel right at home.
Our room on the third floor was very clean and spacious. (You should know that there is no elevator. We did not mind.) The room looked out onto the back of the building and was very quiet. The bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom had a stall shower with great water pressure and plenty of hot water.
The wifi is free and has a very strong signal.
You will be in very good hands when you stay at the Red Chair Hotel. Enjoy your trip to Prague. It is an incredibly charming city.

Room Tip: Room 31 was on the top floor. Very quiet and spacious. I think it is meant for a family. There we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BethOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad that our team was of such a great assistance to you - they work very hard to fulfil your every need and to make you feel most welcomed in our little hotel. Also, thank you for appreciating our room quality - we are proud to say that each of our rooms has its own charms and, related to the upcoming winter, has built in central heating and private bathroom, where you can take a hot shower after a long day of sightseeing. We have also an option to offer you a room facing the courtyard, away from the street, which is extra quiet at night, so next time you make your reservation, you can simply book it via our hotel email address, and we’ll have the same room ready for you! We are looking forward to welcoming you and your husband again at your next visit to Prague!

Your Red Chair Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 611 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Red Chair Hotel in Prague was one of our favourite stopovers during our 8-week family holiday in Europe. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. It was a bit of a hike up to the castle but at least the walk home was downhill!

The receptionist was incredibly friendly, gave great advice and spoke beautiful English - very helpful, as none of us knew a word of Czech apart from ‘hrad’ (castle) and ‘most’ (bridge).

Our room for 4 was spacious and comfortable; internet access worked beautifully and the fan provided a welcome breeze at the end of a warm day. The colour scheme and artwork was very pleasant too. We found it amazingly quiet for sleeping even though it was very close to the touristy areas. There are no elevators but the stairs are modern and well designed which makes getting your suitcases upstairs fairly easy. The breakfast included a nice range of foods, provided in a cosy atmosphere.

It stretched our budget a little to stay here but it was well worth it. We would recommend planning your trip so you don’t have a car with you. We found it impossible to get our hire car through the narrow courtyard entrance, but thankfully the staff found someone to help out. Actually, just driving there with all the one-way streets and an out-of-date GPS map was a challenge. We ended up parking close by, walking to the hotel and getting step-by-step directions from the lovely receptionist.

Prague was so beautiful and full of life; if we get the chance to revisit it, we would definitely stay at the Red Chair again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coralie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for taking your time and sharing such an excellent review with us. We are very happy that our hotel was one of the reasons you loved your European trip so much! We are glad that you liked the style we use to decorate our rooms in. As a hotel located in the very heart of the Old Town, we want our rooms to carry the same magic atmosphere as the rest of this historical part of Prague. That is why our rooms are designed in the same spirit and, at the same time, offer all the modern equipment you might need for your comfort.

As for the parking and arriving via car - it can be kind of tricky to find your way around the small streets in the Old Town, but if you are in any way uncertain how to get to us, please let us know - we are providing our guests with detailed directions including a marked map. We are also glad that you found our assistance with parking your car in our private car park helpful! Usually, there is someone at the reception who can park your car for you, so there is no need to be worried about that. All the main sights are within walking distance from the hotel, so you can leave your car safely parked with us for the whole period of your stay. But if you don’t feel like driving to Prague next time, we are more than happy to offer you our high quality pick-up service, either from the airport or the train station - leaving you with no worries about how to get to us. Please, let us know if you are in Prague ever again, we would love to welcome you and your family again!

Your Red Chair Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Staff was so helpful from arrival until sadly we had to leave. Small room, but comfortable. Walked all over the city from here. Pick up and drop off was great. We had an early evening flight on day of departure and we were able to leave our bags and explore the city without worry. Prague is a wonderful city. I miss it already!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Madam,

It is lovely to hear that you grew so fondly of our little hotel and that you enjoyed your stay here so much to take time and give us an excellent rating. We are very proud of the services that our hotel provides, especially our airport pick transfers and customer services. It is our great pleasure to take care of our guests from the moment they arrive, until the moment they have to say goodbye to our beautiful city. We hope you will not miss Prague for too long and come back to visit us soon! Please, do not hesitate to contact us directly and ask for a special deal for TripAdvisor visitors.

Your Red Chair Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Located in a quiet street, very close to charles bridge and old town square. Clean and nice room (no elevator). Staff very kind, ready to solve any problem and give useful indications to discover the city. Free wifi in the hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biccina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your excellent review, we are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location and our professional staff at the reception. We always try to do our best to make your stay perfect. Unfortunately, it is not possible to add an elevator to our hotel, as it is a historical building, which, on the other hand, is partly the reason why is the hotel’s atmosphere so special. But there is usually someone at the reception who can assist you with your luggage. We believe there are many other great features you may enjoy during your stay such as our high-quality airport pick-up service, our romantic package for special occasions, or free hot drinks from the reception, that will keep you warm, especially in winter time or our free wifi connection, available in every room. We hope that next time you come to visit us, your stay will be even better!

Your Red Chair Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The reception staff was very helpful. I stayed here for one night. Cozy room with good breakfast option. It is located near the Charles bridge and most of the other places are also withing walking distance. Good experience!
But don't book their romantic package with the room, because they charge a lot for just putting 2 flowers on your bed! That part was disappointing!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manpreet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we are happy to hear that you think of your stay in our hotel as of a good experience.

We are really sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our romantic package option, it really concerns us, because we always try to provide our clients with excellent services. Our guests usually value the romantic package very highly and they often choose it to be a surprise for a partner of a spouse. We surely prepare it with wider selection of flowers, rather than only two, and we cover the bed with rose petals. As a part of our romantic package we also place a high quality, iced champaign in your room upon arrival, which you chose not to receive. Perhaps that was the reason why the romantic package did not fulfil your expectations?

We always welcome any comments from our clients, so that we can improve our services. Hopefully, next time you visit our hotel everything will be to your liking and your experience will be even better!

Your Red Chair Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Small Hotel in Old Town. Very comfortable room, good breakfast buffet, free Wifi and great helpful staff. Many thanks to Lenka, Premysl and Gabriella for all their help in making my week long vacation in Praha a very pleasant experience. Very conveniently located for sight seeing.My first day there, Lenka researched a list of restaurants for me and marked them on a map. Also, took advantage of airport pick up and return.
After a lots of walking around, it was very nice to get a very friendly welcome and conversation, then take my shoes off and sprawl in my room.
Definitely would stay there on a return trip.

Room Tip: My room was on the courtyard, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your excellent review! We are glad that we could help you orient yourself on your first day in Prague, and it is nice to hear you enjoyed our suggestions for places of interests. Our hotel is located in a very convenient place, and there are many great restaurants and cafés just around the corner. But as with any major city, not all of them share the same charm, and that is why our professional staff try to point out the most special ones and recommend them to you. The reception is open 24 hours/day, so our staff is always available and ready to share their wisdom about Prague. That way you don’t have to waste your time and head for the best one right away! We believe that it is this friendly, family atmosphere of a small cosy hotel that make a stay at the Red Chair Hotel unforgettable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Your Red Chair Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Red Chair hotel in August 2013 while touring Europe. Our stay in Prague was the best part of our trip beginning with our amazing experience at the hotel. They offered a pick up service at the airport which I recommend to everyone. We had a late arrival flight and the driver, Premysl Vanek, picked us up at the airport to bring us to hotel and took the time to drive around Prague's main attractions and showed us where everything was and gave us very useful tips and advice on what to do and what to watch for. It was our first time in Prague and very much appreciated useful information given by Premysl. We couldn't ask for better service at the hotel, the staff at the service counter was always eager to help and very pleasant and smiling. It is located in the middle of Old Town Prague, walking distance to all major tourists attractions, lots of restaurants/café/shopping all around. The room was cozy, very clean and very comfortable bed. Great breakfast included was served every morning with plenty of fresh fruits, breads, cereals, luncheon meat, cookies, cheese and coffee/juice/milk. Just perfect. I give it a 5 stars!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocelyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redchair, Manager at Red Chair Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are thrilled to hear you loved your stay in Prague and that our hotel helped to make your stay even more perfect! We are glad that you enjoyed our airport pick-up service - we consider this to be one of our best features. Especially if you are arriving late at night or very early in the morning, all you need to do is just to provide us with your flight details and we will get you to your room as quickly and comfortably as possible. Or if you wish to learn some basic information about Prague’s main sights, our driver will happily do that for you. Our price is fixed, so you will not pay anything extra for our short guided tour! Also, our staff will be very pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast so much. We will definitely pass on your kind words to them. We always try to keep our breakfast selection fresh and tasty, so it would give you a great start to a day full of exploring Prague - and there is really a lot to see right at the hotel’s doorstep, just few metres away from all the main sights. Please, do not hesitate to contact us next time you are in Prague, we would love to welcome you again!

Your Red Chair Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 647 in Prague
1,744 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 647 in Prague
1,548 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 647 in Prague
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#25 of 647 in Prague
2,405 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 647 in Prague
1,166 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#138 of 647 in Prague
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Chair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chair Hotel

Address: Liliova 250/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 363 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: $92 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Chair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently renovated hotel located in a building dating to the 15th century. Our location to the Old town square is 300 metres – the same distance is from us to the Charles bridge. The location offers you calming area with historical attitude. We provide secure parking for cars, bikes and motorbikes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Chair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing