We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Red Chair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Chair Hotel
Ranked #10 of 359 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My mother, my daughter and I stayed at this hotel for a few days after Christmas. It is ideally located on a quiet street only steps away from the Charles Bridge and an easy walk to Old Town Square. The property is a 15th century building and as such cannot house an elevator, so the walk up to the higher floors is a workout but our room on the top floor had been recently renovated and was spacious, comfortable and cozy. The breakfast/reception area is also very small but never seemed to be overly-crowded in the mornings. Finally, the staff is very friendly, gracious and helpful - especially Gabriela and Premsyl. I recommend this hotel for a lovely stay in Prague that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    137
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
120
225
63
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Charming hotel, perfectly located, steps from Old Town, New Town and Prague Castle, on a quiet cobblestone street. I knew I'd like the place when we rolled up and the desk clerk was only too happy to give us the lay of the land, including her own personal tips on where to eat, and everything we needed to know about the hotel, right away and without us even asking. Rooms impeccably clean, new bathrooms, piping hot water & heat. Really recommend this place. Premysl really made sure we were happy with everything and that our booking was what we were expecting. The hotel is really responsive and accommodating by both phone and e-mail. You don't even get customer service this good in the big hotel chains. Please look no further, book here and support this locally-owned hotel as you will not be disappointed. I will 100% be back here during my next visit to Prague.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FarineFiveRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stay in this hotel for 2 nights. Nobody wants a lousy holiday. What differentiates this hotel is the people factor.

The 24 hours reception provides excellent services, unfailingly provides useful intelligence and advices with patience. Also the staff endeavor to book excursion off Prague (Cesky Krumlov) for me despite last minute notice. Great service.

Will return back to this hotel. Understand it is going some minor renovation now, and will be ready by end 2012.

Bravo!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CK_SG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Red Chair Inn during the Prague leg of our honeymoon. We could not have been more happy with the location, the room, and, most importantly, the service. Premysl was the most accomodating host we have ever met. From the minute we arrived, he made us feel at home. It was our first time in Prague and he arranged dinner reservations for us at what he felt (and what were) the best restaurants and gave us advice on what to spend our time seeing while in town for a just a few days. I'm super picky about accomodations, so this was a gamble as we usually stay in Ws, Westins, Le Meridiens, but one we definitely won on. We highly recommend staying at the Red Chair Inn-it's a great deal with great people who will make your stay extraordinary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The staff were very warm and friendly, and most helpful in making dinner recommendations, etc. We had requested a taxi to meet us at the station. Our train was quite late (about 30-45 minutes), but they had the driver to wait for us. On check-out, we had to leave before the breakfast hour, but the staff still provided us with a good breakfast.
Everything is within walking distance, and the hotel itself is in a very charming old building on a quiet residential street.
The room was spacious and comfortable, and the housekeeping staff made sure we had anything we needed.
We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the start of November and I couldn't recommend it more. It is a five minute walk from the main square and two minutes from the bridge. It was really clean and more than enough space in the room. The breakfast was basic but all you need. The staff were also really helpful and pointed out the places we should visit on a map on arrival. I got a discount for booking by email instead of over any booking site and a further discount for paying in cash on departure. Really really recommend this hotel!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Janefifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ah, I'm almost reluctant to put up a five star review because then more people will know about this wonderful little treasure of a hotel, but the staff were so lovely to me that I decided that I had to put my selfishness aside and give them their fair due.

The Red Chair Hotel in Prague has absolutely everything you would want. Its super centrally located (everything in the old town is in walking distance) but off the main drag in a beautiful little cobbled street so that there is very little pedestrian noise.

The staff are absolutely lovely, there to help with anything and everything and nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are comfortable and beautiful and the breakfast was great.

I would absolutely recommend the Red Chair Hotel to anyone travelling to Prague. It was the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#56 of 649 in Prague
2,319 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,454 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Chair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Chair Hotel

Property: Red Chair Hotel
Address: Liliova 250/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Chair Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently renovated hotel located in a building dating to the 15th century. Our location to the Old town square is 300 metres – the same distance is from us to the Charles bridge. The location offers you calming area with historical attitude. We provide secure parking for cars, bikes and motorbikes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Red Chair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing