We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel but a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence
Ranked #141 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
hk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely hotel but a bit noisy”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I like this hotel with its extremely clean and well equipped rooms. The staff are very friendly and can help you with advices in English. Location wise, it is around 25 minutes walk from the centre so better take tram to access tourists attactions. One thing a little bit annoying is the railway just outside so you can hear noises. My twin room is in top floor so due to structure of the triangular roof sometimes we have to bend down to reach the bed. My friend who lives in single room in the same floor looks quite cramped because the triangular shape low roof so he has not much room for movement. Yet overall speaking, I think it is a good hotel with reasonable price. I guess spacious or not,all depends on which room you are staying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasa88hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, Public Relations Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear sasa88hk,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it and always try to read the responds from our tourists carefully. Thank you very much for the nice words about the cleanliness in the hotel. Also we are happy that you find our reception staff helpful. Our staff is working for you to make your stay comfortable and pleasant.

We are sorry to hear that you had a room with the window to street side. We have also court side view and provide those rooms to our tourists with pleasure, if only they are available. If you come next time, please mention that you need this type of room. In addition, we also have Superior rooms in our hotel they are more spacious and highly recommended for a long stay. We hope that we will have an opportunity to offer them for your next stay!

We hope that you have enjoyed your time in Prague and we will be more than happy to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Aigerim Dodesheva (Public Relations Manager) & King Charles Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    258
    66
    28
    8
See reviews for
130
442
53
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is quite a bit south from the very center of Prague, but though you could easily walk along the Moldau River, it is very easy to take Tram 17 right up to the Karlovy Bridge! And to get to the hotel: from the airport you can take the Express Bus (about 3 USD) to the train station and walk 2 short blocks from the train station to Tram 3 which crosses Wencelslaus Square and stops the same place as Tram 17, about 0.2 K from the hotel. A plus is that the second castle complex and church with all the famous people buried there is a short walk up the hill behind the hotel. The room was pretty large, and the bathroom clean and modern. It was a good temp outside, so we didn't use air or heating. Breakfast was just fine, always some hot foods, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and decent coffee! Not extravagant, but filling. Wifi worked well in our room. The front desk people were always pleasant and helpful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: A train passes close to the hotel, so if that bothers you, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, Public Relations Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear njschultz,

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We will wait for you again with a big pleasure!
We are glad that you liked our rooms and the location of the hotel. It is really easy to get to the downtown from the hotel. Also as you wrote our tourists can walk over the river to the Charles Bridge and other attractions. It is a lovely way to get there with beautifull view of the Vltava river and the Castle.

We are looking to welcome you back in Prague!

Best regards,
Aigerim Dodesheva (Public Relations Manager) & King Charles Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

So it cost less than £50 for a double room with breakfast
From the outside, we werent expecting a great deal - a plain pink wall

inside, was a joy - the fittings, service, quality etc were of a hotel that you would expect to pay much more for

yes it was out of town (10 minute tram ride) and probably this was why such good value, but a tram ticket was only 80p

If you are thinking of going to Prague, and you need to be a little careful with money - book here, you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy1966a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear andy1966a,

First of all, let me thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. We do highly appreciate it! We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your trip to Prague and our hotel!
In addition to your comment: we sell the tickets for the public transport at the reception desk to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible.

We would very much appreciate welcoming you some time in the future and remain with best wishes,

Evgenia Sakharova
General Manager & Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We found this hotel to be excellent. Upon our arrival we were informed that we were being upgraded for free to a honeymoon suite. The room was spacious, well decorated and had a jacuzzi. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with anything, including when I left my phone charger here when I left, they were very good about sending it back to me. The hotel is located out of the centre of Prague, however this is not a problem as there is a tram stop across the road from which you can catch a direct tram to stops 5 minutes away from most attractions and the train station. Restaurants in this area are much cheaper than the centre and serve very good food. The breakfast is good, but perhaps lacks a little variety.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Ben A,

On behalf of all our staff here in King Charles Boutique Residence, please allow me to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague. We hope you have enjoyed Prague, our hotel and your trip. We are glad to hear that your charger arrived safely.
Thank you for your kind words, I have already passed them to our staff!
Regarding breakfast, we are constantly working on improving our breakfast menu, therefore your comments on this matter would be much appreciated. Please send your suggestions to es@kingcharles.cz

Yours sincerely,
Evgenia Sakharova
General Manager & Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We loved your stay in King Charles hotel. It was very quiet, the room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. What else does a traveler need?

The hotel is in 20-minutes walk from the city center, but it is a very pleasant walk alongside the Vltava river.

If we return to Prague, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0ungFrenchC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Y0ungFrenchC0uple,

Thank you very much for the positive comment! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Prague is always worth visiting a second time! We can definitely recommend you to come at the beginning of December. The city isn't so overcrowded and Prague has a fairy-tail Christmas atmosphere!

We look forward to welcome you some time in the future in Prague!

With best regards,
Evgenia Sakharova
General Manager & Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Spent 6 nights at this lovely hotel in August. What a fantastic little place this is and such great value for money.
I'll sum up and review various aspects of the hotel:
First of all the location. It's very close to the congress centre, which is where we needed to be for the week as my Girlfriend was attending a conference there (the purpose of our visit). The hotel is a little bit outside the main town, but it really is just a little bit, if you take a 5 minute walk to the river and follow it you can reach the new town in a further 10 minutes. My girlfriend and I walked from the hotel to the Charles bridge in about 25 minutes and on a lovely summers day it's a nice walk.However if walking isn't your thing the Prague transport system(Metro/Tram/Bus) is brilliant, cheap and very safe so there's no excuse for not venturing all over the beautiful city(and it really is a beautiful city).
Secondly the look of the hotel is delightful(once inside, from the outside you wouldn't realise what a gem it is, there's nothing wrong with the exterior it just pales in comparison to what's behind the doors).Fantastic rooms with comfortable old style wooden beds and fixtures. The bathroom was stunning with a working jacuzzi in the bath (we booked a standard room but were upgraded to a superior free of charge, another plus). The reception was very well maintained and welcoming and the dining room was pleasant. Overall a delightfully easy on the eye hotel.
Thirdly the food. I can't really say much about the breakfast as I'm not a breakfast person.I was more than content with a cup of tea every morning, but my girlfriend managed to find a decent meal every day so no complaints there. And other guests seemed happy with what was offered.
Lastly the staff. An absolute credit to the hotel. From the lady that checked us in (and told us we were upgraded). To the friendly guy who used the receptions printer to print off an important document my girlfriend needed for her conference.The staff really couldn't do enough for us, and most importantly every time we passed there was a friendly hello which is always good to see. Also on our departure day reception booked us a taxi back to the airport and even phoned us in the room when it was outside so we didn't have to wait in reception.
Overall this was a fantastic stay at a lovely boutique hotel with friendly and helpful staff in a beautiful city. What more could you ask for? I definitely recommend this hotel and hope to visit again soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Doctor1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Doctor1610,

Thank you very much for sharing such enthusiastic and wide review here on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your nice comment about our staff and hotel. We are working for you and therefore we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The satisfaction of our guests is our best reward!

On behalf of all our staff here in King Charles Boutique Residence, please allow me to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague! We will be more than happy to welcome you back soon!

With warm regards,
Evgenia Sakharova & King Charles Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

1. About 10 mins walk to the Convention center
2. Bus station very close by.
3. Very nice staff
4. Morning breakfast was great
5. The room and bathroom were very clean
6. Doesn't look that great from outside but who cares... Inside look very nice
7. The rail goes right in front of the hotel so it might bother some people, but didn't bother me
8. Free WiFi...

Overall, great place...

Room Tip: Call them and reserve the room of your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolt248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Bolt248,

First of all, let me thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Prague!
Secondly, we would like to thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback in exact points! It' s true that our hotel is not so beautiful outside (typical building from the beginning of the 20th century). Therefore, we are trying to compensate it by special guest care.

We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will be happy to see you again in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Evgenia Sakharova
General Manager & Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Union Prague
Hotel Union Prague
#281 of 649 in Prague
493 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#140 of 649 in Prague
510 reviews
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#178 of 649 in Prague
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
814 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#71 of 649 in Prague
1,122 reviews
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#99 of 649 in Prague
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence

Property: King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence
Address: Neklanova 148/34, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Prague
#53 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the center of Prague, in a historical building right under the walls of Vysehrad Prague Castle and its gardens, a few steps away from the Charles Square, the "King Charles" is the renaissance-style boutique hotel residence offering an unforgettable hospitality experience. Inspired by the romance of Rococo era, and reminiscent of a private chamber in a knight's castle, King Charles' 35 guest rooms feature antique replica mahogany furniture, crystal and brass light fixtures, and luxury bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Boutique Prague
King Charles Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing