We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location under the castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence
Ranked #121 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful location under the castle”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This hotel might be a little from the centre but I found that not to be a problem. There is a strop stop (Albertov) too minutes away opposite Lidl (10p beers!). Also, on the last few days I walked into the city down the river which took about 20-30 mins and was lovely. The castle above the hotel was lovely and covered in snow. The actual hotel was very nice. We had an attic room which had lots of beams but was very nice and comfy also the spa bath thing wasn't working. The staff were great, we even celebrated New Year we them 2 hours before for Russian new year (they were from St Petersburg). They set off fireworks and gave out free fizzy wine which was very nice of them. New years day they even offered a champagne breakfast! Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Abbylouise,

Please, let me thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that
you enjoyed the New Years Eve at our hotel. We would love to see you
some day again (this time of course without the little bath issues).

Kind regards,

Evgenia Sakharova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    256
    64
    24
    8
See reviews for
129
433
53
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The King Charles Boutique is a real gem of a hotel. The rooms were excellent value for money and had all the facilities that one could need for a short break plus the all important room safe to protect valuables. We read other comments about the noise and suggest that If you wish to enjoy a quiet night’s sleep, ask for a room with a courtyard view. The jacuzzi bath is a real bonus and I cannot possibly understand why anyone would complain about the quality of the breakfast. The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and able to provide good information about the best ways to reach the various city attractions and how to use the public transportation systems.

Although it is situated well away from central Prague the hotel's proximity to the tram and metro network means that journeys to the main sights of the city are both quick and cheap (about US$1 or £0.70). Immediately behind the hotel is the Vyšehrad, a castle located on a hill overlooking the Vltava River and a great starting place for a visit to Prague. In addition to the main attractions we would recommend a visit to the Botanical Gardens located near to Prague Zoo,

There are several decent and very reasonably priced restaurants on the street leading up to the Vysehrad (U Semika being the best) and both Lidl and Tesco have supermarkets within a few hundred yards of the hotel for any essentials that you might need.

This is a hotel which I most definitely recommend to anyone looking for an excellent value for money experience in Prague.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear (courtyard view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lightweight_brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, General Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear lightweight_brother,

We really appreciate that you chose our hotel for your trip.
Furthermore, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to see you again.

Thank you for devoting your precious time to write us such a detailed and rich review. Your positive feedback is for us the best reward.

Evgenia Sakharova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Lovely hotel, clean, spacious, well decorated. Gorgeous spa bath in the bathroom which was very needed after longs days walking round Prague and seeing the sights! Breakfast was very nice with loads to choose from, although the breakfast room was very small and hard to get a table, and when you did it was loaded with dirty plates and cups! The hotel was close to the tram stop into town and close to the river which was a nice walk up to town. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was at the front of the hotel which was close to the tram and train lines so it was quite noisy through the night, but you can't expect it to be quiet as it is not a residential area like we have back here!
Very good value for money, definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarrybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, Front Office Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear user Clarrybell,

It is our pleasure to hear a good feedback from you, we happy you enjoyed staying
with us. Thank you for your comment about breakfast room, we will try to improve
our service so there would not be problem with free and clean tables. We hope you
will choose our hotel next time you will be in Prague.

Elina Kashapova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, upon arrival we were upgraded to a superior room which instead of the double bed as requested had 2 single beds which wasn't a problem.

The room we had faced onto the railway and tram lines, note that if you want to get some good quality sleep i recommend ear plugs. Trams run every 5mins and the trains every 20mins or so.

The room itself was comfortable with a nice marble finish bathroom complete with jacuzzi bath.

Breakfast we had a nice choice of hot European bacon, sausage, eggs etc and cereals and cold meats.

To walk from the hotel to Charles Bridge takes approx 30 mins, we did it one morning and was a nice walk along the river. Trams run every 5mins from just outside the hotel to the new town near Wencelas Sq and are cheap 100Kc for a 24hr pass.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan20rhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, Front Office Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Dan,

We happy that you liked staying in our hotel and highly appreciate your positive
comments about us. As for outside noise, at that moment we can not do anything
than agree with you about ear plugs. We hope that next time you visit Prague you
will be staying with us.

Elina Kashapova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

There aren't many hotels that I rave about but this would be one of them, brilliant, helpful staff gave us all the best information with excellent English and couldn't do enough. The rooms were well presented, TV, fridge, air-con, computer (took my own laptop so avoided any internet charges) and a great bathroom. The breakfast was expansive and delicious, noise levels were low enough and good access. It doesn't look like much from the outside - but then that could be said of many places in Prague, in the end we had four great days in a delightfully charming place. Its location was near the river and on three tram lines (three stops to the metro, two stops to the dancing building). Go to Prague, go to this hotel and can we recommend the zoo, it was brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulkdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, Front Office Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Paul,

We really appreciate your positive response, we glad you enjoyed staying in our
hotel. This improve us to do our best. We will be happy to see you and your friends
in our hotel next time you visit Prague.

Elina Kashapova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Very pretty rooms with antique/old-fashioned furniture. Staff very pleasant and friendly. Rooms are of medium size and clean.

Location right at the base of the Vysehrad Castle, which is a beautiful place to walk and sight-see.

Drawbacks: breakfast not very good, and the occasional train on the nearby tracks (though I quickly got used to that).

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David19262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, Front Office Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear David,

Thank you for your review. We do our best to meet our guests expectations. About
breakfast, we recently changed our menu that guests from different countries may
be satisfied with it. I wish you specified what exactly you did not like so we can
improve our service. Unfortunately because of location of our hotel, we can not do
anything about noise, just recommend keep the windows closed during the night, we
have air conditioning in all rooms. We hope we will see you again in Prague.

Elina Kashapova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I'm very glad that choosed and spend my Chech vacation in this hotel. I'm hope you will change boiler (need more hot water) and need wi-fi on all flors

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jivchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King_Charles_Prague, Front Office Manager at King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Dear Jivchik,

We are really glad that you liked staying in our hotel. We will try to solve these
problems in short time. We will be happy to see you next time you visit Prague.

Kind regards,
Elina Kashapova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#135 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#69 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#179 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#94 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#122 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Union Prague
Hotel Union Prague
#273 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence

Property: King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence
Address: Neklanova 148/34, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Prague
#52 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#53 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the center of Prague, in a historical building right under the walls of Vysehrad Prague Castle and its gardens, a few steps away from the Charles Square, the "King Charles" is the renaissance-style boutique hotel residence offering an unforgettable hospitality experience. Inspired by the romance of Rococo era, and reminiscent of a private chamber in a knight's castle, King Charles' 35 guest rooms feature antique replica mahogany furniture, crystal and brass light fixtures, and luxury bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Charles Boutique Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Charles Boutique Prague
King Charles Boutique Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing