We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for more”
Review of Hotel U Divadla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel U Divadla
Ranked #132 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for more”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

While planning this trip we read a lot of reviews, but two convinced me this was worth a try and we were so glad we stayed here (February 2012). There are a lot of whining reviews about the distance from center city and how far the tram stop is from the hotel, PLEASE do not listen to these pompous individuals. The hotel sits in zone 4, Branik approximately five miles from the center of Old Town. The tram (#17) will take you straight to the Charles Bridge in 15 minutes and the tram stop is two blocks from the hotel entrance. The neighborhood is blue collar working class, the hotel is a local dinner spot on Friday nights so they get pretty busy. The rooms were large by European standards, comfortable beds, limited TV (8 stations; 2 Czech, 1 EuroSport in English and/or German, the rest German), clean, new bathrooms, clean towels daily, enough closet space for our clothes and storage for our suitcases. There is a restaurant downstairs that has excellent food as we ate here 6 out of the seven nights we stayed - good size portions, Pilsner on tap, Kozel dark beer in bottles, serves two good Czech white wines and you should try the Godet Pear Cognac (they sold us a full bottle for $30 US, it's 62 EU on Godet website). Most of our dinners were about $24 - $29 for both my wife and myself including a wine and a Kozel. Jon at the bar is about 23, speaks very good English, passable German and is very friendly and helpful, the woman, Jane she said her name was, has limited English but communicates well through sign language (pointing and miming, not real signing). We felt very comfortable in this environment, more so than in any hotel we have ever stayed in, regardless of the city or country. Staying at the Hotel U Divadla can enrich your stay in Prague and give you a warm fond memory, riding the tram to and from center city exposes you to the life of the Czech citizen. There is a shopping mall about two miles on bus #198 that has outstanding prices on chocolate (at Tesco), clothing, shoes - sorry, no glass or crystal here. There is a pizza place around the corner from the hotel and an Italian restaurant near the bus station. Penny Market is convenient for water, tissues, any personal items you may need, and there is a bakery across from the hotel. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DanyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    180
    94
    18
    15
See reviews for
106
264
23
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hotel was ok but in a very undesirable area, the rooms are kept clean but I found 1 of the hotel receptionists very unhelpful following an incident.

We had Irish travellers staying in the next room and on our third night they got very drunk and around midnight there was a man knocking very loudly on their door, shouting abuse and to be let in, a lady was hysterical telling him to go away, she eventually let him in and then for the next 3 hrs all hell let loose, you could hear him abusing her and so much noise banging against the wall doors slamming and lots of shouting and screaming, it was so frightening, and I ended up crying. It finished around 3.15am but I just couldn't sleep as I was expecting it to start again. It really did upset me so much.

In the morning when i went to the reception I asked why wasn't it dealt with, where was the security or management? ...all they could say was sorry and they have gone now!!!...There was only 1 young lady on the reception that night and she did ring the police but they didn't come out. I said about the manager and they just shrugged their shoulders and said again, well they have gone now. We was leaving that morning (thank goodness) on our departure the receptionist said you had 1 bottle of water to pay for, I looked at her and said after all that we went through last night I think you should wipe that off, she was very cross ans said you drunk that water! I had left a small tip for the cleaning lady in the bedroom, I said take that, she was still wanting a few more CK...I just couldn't believe we put up with a very stressful night and she was quibbling about ..probably 10p! ...she said she would have to get the manager....what!!...I just had to leave as i would have lost it. She said she didn't want to get in trouble with the management. I told her to get him to write to us, you have our address! anyway our taxi arrived and I cannot be more pleased to be home. Never again!

After saying all that, this was our 3rd trip to Prague and the other 2 holidays were splendid, it's such a beautiful city, I would never stay the in suburbs again, it looked a bit like Beirut!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesHemelHempstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, South Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I booked this place via expedia. I had to choose from this one and another one in the centre but 3 stars. I was fooled by the the nice photos and the 4 star rating.The hotel is far away from the centre (it is zone 4 -Branik area - check a transport map of Prague). You have to walk to the tram stop (5-7 minutes); the name of the station is Pristaviste -it takes you around 15 min to get to the centre. The hotel is in an not very nice area - grey blocks of flats, graffiti and to be honest it doesn't look very safe. The rooms are small, I booked a double room but actually there are 2 beds push one into another to make a big bed (we requested another room but they said all of them are the same) the TV has only 7 or 8 channels (2 in german and the rest in Czech), in the bathroom there are only 4 sachets of shampoo and 2 small bars of soap (no shower gel - so bring your own). There is a bottle of mineral water, over priced of course - 78 crowns ( in the shops is 15 crowns). No kettle, teas and coffee. The quality of the food from breakfast is poor (it looks like cheap food bought from the Penny market - just outside the hotel), but is plenty and various. The interior of the restaurant and reception supposed to be art nouveau but it looks just old and not very modern. When I got there i realized why it was so cheap. Pros: the staff is friendly and helpful, there is wi-fi, there is a leaflet with info about travelling, local attractions, bus prices in the room, the area is quiet (not on a main road with loads of traffic) with local shops (a Czech bakery, coffee shops, bars and restaurants, flower shops etc), a few parking spaces outside the hotel, bathrooms nice and clean every, safety box in the cupboard. Not a 4 stars hotel! 3 stars?!? Maybe!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandutzu b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed during off-peak season in Hotel Divadla in Prague. The service and standard of the hotel (room) and staff was very good. Staff helped in advance to reserve a taxi-shuttle to the hotel. Rooms were cleaned daily, towels changed frequently. The size of the room was good - four people could actually fit quite well.
The breakfast buffet was good (included good selection of warm and cold food.) The Restaurant within the hotel is a good alternative to typical Prague food and decently priced. The Hotel is located 15min tram-ride/ or Bus-Metro trip from the city centre, which was acceptable for us. Think of some coins to get your first bus-tickets from the driver (especially when arriving at the weekend. The only minus was a very unstable thermostat in the shower, which almost cooked our kids...) We would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noale21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you are visiting this hotel make sure you know which tram stop to get off at and it's about a10 minute walk. From the minute we arrived until the time we left we were always greeted with a smile. A lot of information was given at the time of check-in and any questions answered. All staff were so friendly and helpfull and the evening meal was exceptional. It may be a little further away from the centre of Prague but the transport is spot on and the rooms were far superior to some you would receive in the centre for less cost. I would definitely return to this hotel on the next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms would be alright. Our double room had a modern bathroom with bath and shower head, where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaraMacFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Hotel deserve max 3 stars. Stuff is friendly, location is good if you are with your vehicle, rooms are spacious and bathroom clean and modern. Breakfast was great, dinner not.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjasa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is pretty far from the city center, we used public transportation just once and we traveled without tickets because we couldn't find where to buy them. Afterwards we gave up and used our own car. The rooms are small, you can see that the bathrooms were added (the hotel is from 19th century and I think it was projected, at first, without bathrooms) and are taking the room's space. The bathroom was ok, clean, and they chanced the towels every day. We stayed 4 nights and they never changed the sheets!! On the stairs and hallways it smells like food from the kitchen. The TV set is useless, just a few programs to watch, all czech. The internet was ok. The breakfast was continental and they served all kinds of strange salads with even stranger sauces. Still, you could choose boiled eggs, toast, cereals, sausages, milk, fresh fruits (oranges & apples), yogurt.
As I said, it's not a 4* hotel, I would give it 2 * or 3*. But the price was more than ok, it was a fair price for a hotel of this category.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 8
Hotel Charles Central
Hotel Charles Central
#175 of 649 in Prague
1,091 reviews
Iris Hotel Eden
#134 of 649 in Prague
714 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#141 of 649 in Prague
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#138 of 649 in Prague
723 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#99 of 649 in Prague
830 reviews
Praha 4
Inos
Inos
#209 of 649 in Prague
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Divadla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Divadla

Property: Hotel U Divadla
Address: U stare poshty 247/6, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#98 Family Hotel in Prague
#113 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#150 Business Hotel in Prague
#194 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Divadla 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious hotel with family atmosphere located in a calm area close to the Prague city centre (cca 15 min by tram) - all that and much more is provided by hotel U Divadla. Our prices will pleasantly surprise you. Art nouveau style gives this Prague's hotel charming and romantic atmosphere. It is an ideal place to arrange private celebrations as well as business meetings. Advantage of this four star hotel is family atmosphere and personal approach to our clients. Many satisfied guests from the Czech Republic as well as abroad come back thanks to high quality of accommodation, restaurant and cafe services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel U Divadla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Divadla Hotel
u Divadla Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing