We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, strange breakfast room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Brixen Prague
Ranked #139 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location, strange breakfast room”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Spent 3 nights here for New Year. The hotel was clean and OK if you want to go explore the city. The room was large and decent. The inner parking was really calling on every bit of driving skill we had and still managed to scratch the car. The breakfast was nothing special in terms of food but rather strange in the way that it was served exactly in the lobby/concierge of the hotel. It felt like a rail station buffet, but if you understand that this should be only a base to explore this fantastic city, with quality restaurants, you can get over the little annoyances.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neophyte79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    248
    97
    28
    20
See reviews for
163
204
52
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

If you're in Prague on a city break it's fine. Fairly central, metro round the corner and a few decent restaurants nearby. It is basic, about 5 channels on the tv - only the tedious CNN in English, no tea or coffee making facilities and an empty fridge with a broken shelf that is the advertised mini-bar. Having said that if you only intend it as a place to sleep it's adequate although the walls seem a bit thin and room 31 has an ajoining door that lets you hear next doors' conversations. The staff are friendly and helpful and, contrary to the other reviews I thought the breakfasts were fine (if you like the German cold meats, cheese and bolied egg thing). It was clean enough (although some carpets have seen better days) there is free Wi-Fi access and bathhroom stuff did it's job. We spent 3 nights there and thought it was good value, just don't expect to be pampered! Photos not representitive of our room. More like a 2 star.

Room Tip: Smoking on 2nd floor, if you don't smoke book higher up. Back rooms quieter. 31 ajoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The hotel location is very convenient for visiting Prague. The first night we were given a room at the front which was on a very busy street, (Sokolska). Either you kept the windows shut and were too hot or opened the windows and had a bad night's sleep because of the noise of the traffic. We asked to be moved and for the second night we had a room overlooking the courtyard at the back and had a good night's sleep. The hotel was basic, but was clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UptonHPennyworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

The hotel was ok. The staff were ok also. The hotel room was very very basic. The breakfast was not so good. Not a great deal of choice on offer and breakfast was at the reception desk. The hotel is advertised as 3 star however in comparison to other hotels the Brixen is 1 or 2 star. An ok hotel in a good location but not worth price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank la_casa_blu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2007

The hotels service was great the hotel was central and very comfortable.
I like this city and we spend a beautifule time in Prague.
The transport from airport to hotel was excellent, the driver was very kindly and explained us some popular place in Prague.
I would like to sey thank you for service to PragueDiscountHotels.com

Paul Dobrowolski

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank Dobrowolski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#253 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#315 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#111 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Anyday Apartments
Anyday Apartments
#62 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Louis Leger
Hotel Louis Leger
#191 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#114 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brixen Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brixen Prague

Property: Hotel Brixen Prague
Address: Sokolska 1796/44, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brixen Prague 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brixen is situated in the centre of Prague, only 10 minutes walking from Wenceslaw Square. The nearest metro station, I.P.Pavlova is only 2 minutes away. Ideal for those looking for comfort at exceptional value in a strategic downtown location. We offer cozy and clean, new equipped rooms with TV/SAT, minibar, phone and sanitary facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brixen Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing