We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location in Prague”
Review of Prague Tyn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prague Tyn
Ranked #90 of 674 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hostel is located right behind the Tyn Church in the Old Town of Prague. The instruction on how to get to the hostel was dead on. Please follow it closely.

Don't forget to bring enough cash in local currency (Czech koruna Kč) to pay for your entire stay on the day you check in. We were short and they were good enough to allow us pay for 1 night. We did manage to locate the nearby ATM machine as explained by the knowledgeable front desk staff and paid the balance the same day.

There's a vegetarian restaurant sharing the same courtyard as the hostel. But you can always ask the staff for brewery and restaurant suggestions. We ate at a brewery suggested by them for dinner twice.

We paid for a room for quad bunk beds even though we were 3 to make it private. It came with a small handy bathroom with a sink and a shower but you have to use the female or male toilets outside the room. There are 4 lockers for your stuff.

Wifi access in the room but not so strong.

There are also individual showers outside the room.

As the various doors in the hostel are extra heavy, they tend to make some noise when you try to close them to use the toilets, close your room, close the corridor door, etc. You get the picture. Also if there are many young people in a group setting coming in & going out, then you'll hear them. Of course, as we were walking so much touring the lovely Prague, we tend to be tired and fall asleep very quickly to be bothered much by it.

The hostel is serious about security as you have to enter security code to gain access to the hostel and also to the corridor where your room is located. The basement consists of a kitchen (cooking elements, microwave, kettle, cups, bowl, plates, utensils, pots etc.), lounge with tv, chairs, sofas, another room with 2 computers and a washroom. On the first floor as the reception, there is a luggage storage area.

I loved the daily weather and activity posting on the bulletin illustrated by the very helpful & friendly front desk staff, Adolfo, Alonso, Marika (unsure of spelling, she's the red head beauty).

Why stay anywhere else? Choose Hostel Prague Tyn!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lugubres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Prague Tyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

It is hidden in the Old Town of Prague, which is perfect! Great rooms, amazing people, and especially, it was clean! The hangout spots downstairs added great character, and extra bonuses. We heard the Pub Crawl through the hostel was a blast, however we didn't do this. (call us old ! haha)
I would definitely recommend this Hostel, it is honestly a couple minutes walk from the centre of Old Town. What more could you want!?

Room Tip: My sister and I stayed in a room upstairs, that held 6 people. Plenty of room for your things, and s...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mleginus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Make sure you have enough cash with you when you arrive to cover your stay, no cards accepted (not much fun arriving late on a rainy Saturday night). Not a lot of elbow or knee room in the shared toilet (room 207) & constantly waving your arm around to keep the light on is annoying after a while. BUT, all in all, very well located, friendly staff, 'Free' breakfast/tea/coffee & pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

About 1 minute walk from the central square, superb location. Set back in a courtyard so relatively quiet. Very helpful and friendly staff, nice but simple breakfast included - sandwiches to take away. Decent sized common room although limited atmosphere. Nice rooms, clean and neat. Shower situation a bit odd but manageable. Free tour definitely recommended. Diana the tour guide was very good, engaging and informative.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the courtyard at the front of the building can be quieter
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

pro: good location, clean
con: bad common area and kitchen, bad atmosphere (or should I say, no atmosphere at all) the included breakfast is totally disgusting.

all in all: high price for an low to average value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Hostel Tyn has the best location one might want to visit Prague, right in the central square. The room was spacious, very clean and good beds. The bathroom was also very clean. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank João A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

It was a very quiet hostel since I was there in low season. the bathroom and showers were VERY clean, always hot water. The location was great, directly in the Old square.
But if you are travelling solo, its not the best place to meet people, the common room and kitchen is small.
Side note, the breakfast is fine; all you can eat cereals tea and coffee but I wonder why they serve this ham sandwich in the morning instead of bread & jam. It would be much less of a hassle for the staff and i'm sure every guest would be happy with bread & jam...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#81 of 674 in Prague
179 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hostel Santini Prague
Hostel Santini Prague
#40 of 674 in Prague
241 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#22 of 674 in Prague
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hostel Elf
Hostel Elf
#23 of 674 in Prague
322 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#25 of 674 in Prague
340 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#29 of 674 in Prague
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague Tyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Tyn

Address: Tynska 1053/19 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 674 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $22 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best located hostels in Prague, located in quiet alley 200 m from the Old Town SQuare. Free breakfast, internet/wifi, linen, towels and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Tyn Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing