We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Galileo Prague
Ranked #110 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value weekend break”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Arrived Friday evening and were immediately impressed by the reception staff who while allocating our room, furnished us with a map, trip information, pointed out the cash point machine in reception and recommended and directed us to a selection of places to eat. Then up to our room in the new part of the building, this was a triple room and was huge, very warm, clean and well equipped (tea bags but no coffee provided in the room). Breakfast was much better than expected, based on previous experience in Rome and Budapest. Plenty of choice, good coffee in unlimited quantity, cereal fruit yoghurt, hot selection, cold meats, particularly fresh and delicious bread which set us up for a long days exploring. Slept well, there was some street noise from trams, and a bit of late night shouting but we had the windows open because it was warm. The third bed was a sofa bed but my friend didn't complain of discomfort.

Room Tip: 207 in the new part suited us, didn't see any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRomaPrague, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive review and sharing your valuable experiences with the other travelers.
I am very pleased to read you have been impressed by our staff. We are trying to do our best to satisfy our guests and all reviews like yours push us forwads.
We thank you for visiting hotel Galileo and hope to welcome you here again.

Best regards
Petra Novotná
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    371
    86
    20
    15
See reviews for
124
533
34
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in late March. Sue had carried out a great deal of prior research on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed! The hotel has a style of architecture which is typical of historical Prague - grand and colorful. We were greeted by the duty manager and our room was in the 'old part' of the hotel as opposed to the new 'wing' which I think would be far more prone to higher noise levels.

The room was really nice which high ceilings and solid walls/ doors. The bed proved to be very comfortable and we really liked the design of the two windows which we left ajar throughout the night - as the room was warm (not uncomfortably so).

The wardrobe area was in a separate area which made access really easy. The bathroom was very clean, large and comfortable. The standard of room service was good.

This was a good location to explore Prague. it takes 1 hour to travel by bus (number 119)/ metro and finally tram to get to the hotel from the airport but the transportation systems are excellent and so cheap (total cost £1.50p each!). Buy a 90 minute ticket at the airport but remember to register it on the bus on entering (effectively gives you 90 mins travelling time from that point).

We found a couple of lovely restaurants to eat at - and people were very service orientated - with most speaking some english.

We saw no sign of any 'stag parties' on our travels - we had a great time!

I think the hotel would benefit from a greater choice of hot food at breakfast given the season - but it was satisfactory.

Would stay again and ask for a room in the same part of the hotel.


Pete & Sue

Room Tip: Stay in the original part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying at the Galileo hotel during your recent visit of Czech Republic.
It was a pleasure for me to read, that you had a pleasant time in Prague and that overall you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you felt comfortable.
I am already looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel during your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and i have just spent a few days at Hotel Galileo. The hotel is very clean with a nice mixture of modern and classic styles.

The hotel staff are excellent and very friendly, they made sure we knew where we were, how to get places and ordered us taxi's when we needed them.

Our room was a nice size, very clean but above reception, and at times it was a little noisy. The bed was hard but comfortable, but the pillows weren't very good and not very comfortable.

The food wasn't too great, breakfast was a mixture of cold meats, fruit and cereals with an odd cooked breakfast of hot dog sausages, fried potatoes, dry baked beans and scambled egg.

The hotel is about 10-15 minute walk from St Wenceslas Square, there are some nice pubs around the hotel if you are looking for something a bit cheaper than in the main town. The Merlin Irish bar around the corner serves great food and cheap beer.

Overall i had a fairly pleasant stay at Hotel Galileo and for price and location i would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor and not above reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiskeyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your review. It makes us happy that you had a great stay with us. We hope to have the oportunity to welcome you back in the future in one of our hotels - on quiet room on higher floor !
Kindest regards from Prague
Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Excellent hotel the staff were helpful very friendly - the beds were changed everyday and the room was cleaned daily with fresh towels, the location was perfect with easy access to all attractions and the airport.



  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Traveler
Allow me to thank you for staying at the hotel Galileo Prague and for sharing thoughts about your stay. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We sincerely hope to see you again at hotel Galileo Prague.
With best regards
Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay in Prague at this lovely hotel. We were upgraded to the superior room in the newer part of the hotel and the room was really nice. It was a huge room, spotlessly clean and had a luxurious bathroom with a very welcome bath tub (just what the Doctor ordered after a long day pounding the pavement walking around the city). The Breakfast was served up on the 5th floor with gorgeous views. There was a good selection of hot and cold choices for breakfast. The hotel is right by the number 11 tram stop, 2 stops away from Wenceslas Square and you could walk it in 15-20 minutes if you wanted to. The hotel staff were all very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and I would definitely recommend this Hotel to others. The nearest metro station is Pavlova which is a 5-10 minute walk or one tram stop away. The room was well sound proofed, although we could still hear the rumble of the Tram, it was not too intrusive. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

Room Tip: Book a superior room, the upgrade is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for staying at the Galileo Hotel Prague and for posting your positive review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to learn that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed our breakfast .
I hope we will have a chance to see you in Prague again!
Greetings from Galileo Hotel Prague staff
Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampere
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spend 4 nights in this hotels ans I don't regret it. Room was one of the biggest hotel room where I have ever stayed with similar price. Bed was big and comfortable. Bathroom was also spacious and clean. Breakfast was basic with a basic selection of sausages and eggs, but it was enough for us =)

Room also contained minibar with reasonable prices, but there was only drinks(couple beers,water,juice and some spirits). Nearest Metro station is few min walk away from the hotel and there is also many bars and restaurants near the hotel.

The wireless network in the room was poor. Very weak signal and it didn't worked well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iideetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Galileo and for taking the time to shared your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our large room and your stay with us.We are sorry for your problems with internet connection, your comments has been passed to our AT department.
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.
With Best Regards from Prague,

Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in march 2014 ,and left very satisfied. The rooms are large and clean, and bathrooms are sparkles. Breakfast was excellent !!! I had only one thing which disappointed me and that was wireless in my room. The connection was very low and breaking all the time ,but everything else was GREAT.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goran09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSPman, Front Office Manager at Hotel Galileo Prague, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Traveler,
thank you very much for staying at the Galileo Hotel Prague and posting such a nice comment on Tripadvisor.
Moreover I was delighted to learn that you were highly satisfied with the facilities, food and the service provided by our team members.
We are sorry for your problems with internet connection, your comments has been passed to our AT department.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Galileo Hotel Prague again.
Kind Regards from Prague
Zuzana Hlaváčová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#69 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#149 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#135 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Hotel Ametyst Prague
#168 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#175 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Praga 1
Hotel Praga 1
#231 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galileo Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galileo Prague

Property: Hotel Galileo Prague
Address: Bruselska 239/3, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#105 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#146 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galileo Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GALILEO hotel is situated in the Vinohrady historic residential area of the centre of Prague. It has been renovated with care recently, so that our guests can enjoy a stay in the magical atmosphere of the golden city in elegant, comfortable surroundings. The hotel is served by public transport stops close by (underground and tram) and the famous Wenceslas Square is only 10 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Galileo Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galileo Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing