We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Appia Hotel Residences
Ranked #11 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in Prague for a couple of days. Appia residence was recommended to us by friends.
Truly a most romantic place, the views during the day and night from our balcony were amazing.
It is in a very quiet neighborhood with plenty of restaurants just around the corner. The staff was amazing very helpful.The hotel is done in a very beautiful, stylish decor. Loved the breakfast room and the breakfast spread was fantastic.The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. Definitely have to go back in the summer to enjoy the outside terrace.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Appia Hotel Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Appia Residences. We are happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, we will soon chance to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 732 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Excelent stay . Great location. Very friendly stuff. Perfect for romantic weekend. I spend fabulous romantic weekend in Prague with my fiancee and we couldn't choose better place than Appia residences . Its very calm place located in the centre closed to all historic places . It was our pleasure to met director Marcela , she was very nice and she gave us a lot of advices where to go and what to see in Prague. Thank u again . We enjoy it a lot.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Eleanora30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Appia Hotel Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for review of our services. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Appia is located in a very quiet place. There is no crowder bars or beggars playing a guitar near by. It is in the area of American embassy which makes it secure. Rooms are very net located in an ancient building with an atmosphere of a 16 th century city. Restaurant is very comfortable with wooden roof. The maid is very polite woman of honor. Breakfast never repeats its warm dishes. The stuff was very helpful and solved any problem if any. A taxi transfer was organized from airport and backwards for a fair price with the most comfortable cars. Rooms were kept warm in winter and clean! I'd like to thank all the Appia employees for their perfect service that made our stay unforgettable!

P.S. Visit "U sedmi schwabu" restaurant nearby on the steps between Sporkova and Nerudova street. It is worth going there - perfect kitchen and first class drinks accompanied with a kind service makes you feel good. Medieval place with a lot of armor and skeletons in the lowest floor add some unforgettable emotions to your stay in Prague

Room Tip: Romantic weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Appia Hotel Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your commentary. It is a great pleasure to read that you had unforgettable stay in Appia Residences. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We chose Appia by narrowing our search progressively, and picked it even though its Tripadvisor rating at that time (May 2013) wasn’t spectacular. My final assessment is that we stumbled on to something very good. After looking at maps, reviews and locations of sights in Prague, we had decided it was going to have to be either Stare Mesto (Old Town) or Mala Strana (Lesser Town), and we zeroed in on the latter on the advice of a friend and Prague native who argued that Mala Strana was quieter and less touristy than Stare Mesto. We found that to be true, and even though the Old Town Square is a bit of a hike (this is relative; nothing in central Prague is unreachable on foot) the Castle is close, there are several nice places to eat close by, and the neighborhood is very charming (again relative; nothing in Prague is NOT charming!). After we had got to Mala Strana, Appia won out on the strength of pictures on its website, tariff (about CZK 11,500 for 5 nights with breakfast), and the psychologically comforting proximity to familiar landmarks (the German embassy is a neighbor, and the US embassy is 200 meters away).[Point about Czech crowns (koruna): The country is part of the Eurozone, and euros are the official currency, but prices at most restaurants/hotels/souvenir shops are quoted in CZK, cabbies and street vendors ask for crowns and give you change in crowns, and if you have only euros, they make an on-the-spot conversion at a rate that can be arbitrary. Best to change your euros/dollars at the airport/train station as you arrive, or at banks in the city as you need the cash, but (obviously) never on the street.]
We arrived at the Prague main train station (‘hlavni nadrazi’ in Czech; you’ll see it written as ‘Praha hl.n’) and took a cab to the hotel. [Small hiccup there, none of the big guys hanging out at the taxi stand spoke English or knew the hotel, and quoted random tariffs from 500 crowns to 800 crowns. We’d been advised to look for the yellow taxis that had ‘AAA’ written prominently on them (several cabs had ‘AAA’ written, but not very prominently, and they weren’t yellow and didn’t look like cabs, so I am not sure what they were) and there weren’t any AAAs at the stand when we walked up. It took 15 minutes for one to show up, and the driver kept shaking his head morosely as he read the hotel address (Sporkova) until I hesitatingly mentioned ‘Malostranske namesti’ tram station, which I had seen on a map earlier, and suggested the hotel was somewhere nearabout. He lit up like a bulb, and off we went, and it cost us 200 crowns for the trip. (Tip: Mention Malostranske namesti or St Nicholas Cathedral or the US embassy if you are lost trying to get to the hotel. The official address, ‘Sporkova’, doesn’t ring too many bells.)]
Our room, on a sort of raised ground level, was like a studio apartment, beginning with an ante-room that opened into a very large and airy bedroom, and a truly huge bathroom. The wi-fi Internet connection (part of the deal) was strong and fast, there were many sockets to plug in gadgets, and the bed and chairs were very comfortable. The hotel has lovely stone staircases, and hallway lights that sense footsteps, which is a good energy-saving idea.
Breakfast is served in a lovely romantic attic with wooden floors and ceiling, and the spread is elaborate and satisfying. There are breads, cold meats, cheeses, eggs, fruit, juices and hot beverages. We enjoyed it, and all the other guests seemed to be doing the same.
[A related point: Breakfast is the only meal Appia serves, and there’s nothing in the minibar other than candy, nuts and crisps. Which means that anyone who does not feel up to going out for dinner faces limited options. We saw a couple of places to eat very close, but they didn’t seem to be too popular with tourists, and all the bigger restaurants are a 7-10 minute (sometimes uphill) walk away. Be aware also that most eating places start winding up by about 10 pm, which we thought was probably a little too early for an international tourist hotspot in the north European summer.]
The Appia staff are friendly and helpful, but you can’t expect to have long conversations with them in English. The wonderful and very efficient lady at breakfast can’t speak or understand a word of English (I struggled to get across to her that I wanted a bowl for the cereal), which means you draw a blank even if you’re trying to thank her for all the effort that she so visibly makes. The reception staff are somewhat better, even though I failed to make myself understood while asking if they had a travel desk or agent who might help us get seat reservations for the train tickets we had for Vienna. [Appropriate here to slip in a good word about Cesky Drahy, the Czech national railways: We travelled three different railways on this trip through Europe, and the Czechs repeatedly showed themselves to be the cheapest and most helpful. Much appreciated.]
One final point about Appia’s location. It is in a lovely, quiet neighborhood of cobbled, narrow, up-and-down streets where the silence is broken only when a car rumbles past or tourists walk by, chatting loudly and dragging their strolleys, but all steets are paved with stones, the gaps between which can be 2 inches or more, so it’s a good idea to wear hardy walking or running shoes, and definitely avoid pointy heels -- you might break your shoes or worse. (We did see some women in heels tick-tock past, but perhaps that’s only a lot of luck and years of practice.) The closest sight is the Castle; the Appia is, as their site says, literally “in its shadow”. Do use the proximity to go there more than once if you can; the massive St Vitus Cathedra is gorgeous, the view of the city breathtaking, and the street band that plays outside the main gate very charming. Enjoy Prague and the Appia!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Onewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Appia Hotel Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for choosing Appia residences and writing such an impressive review. We are really glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Prague, and that we could contribute to this experience. We wish you good luck on your future journeys, and hope we will have chance to welcome back one day.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Finding this treasure was tricky but exciting ( car was checked as it is a restricted, historical area) Clean spacious rooms, comfortable beds and working wifi. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast delicious, lovely building and safe area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Saltyfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Appia Hotel Residences, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for your feedback. For your information the car security check was because of the US embassy located on the way to our hotel. We are glad that you were satisfied with our services, and hope you will visit us soon again.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Appia Residences are tucked into a strange little spot below the Prague Castle but it's nice that you're not in the middle of the hustle-and-bustle. The residences are located on the Lesser Town side of the bridge but they're not far from Charles Bridge. I'd say about a 20 minute walk from Old Town, but it doesn't feel that long, and there are shops and scenery the entire way.

The rooms are well kept with decent beds, big rooms, and more space than you'll need. All hardwood. Kitchen counter with stove-top, fridge, kettle, table, couch....very nice. Great wifi signal and strength--our room had its own router. The bathroom floors are heated and so is the towel rack--awesome. The showers are weird, with a glass partition/curtain that only covers about 1/3 of the shower, so keeping water off the floor takes a little effort.

Breakfast is fantastic. A nice selection of breads, meats, eggs, juice, coffee, cereal. And the breakfast area is adorable: the top floor with high ceilings, a well designed space.

There's a receptionist there 24/7, though, one night we were coming back and a sign was on the door "be back in 5min." We waited less than 5 minutes, but it was cold and we were tired, so it felt longer. Minor issue.

My biggest complaint was the people above us stomping around at odd hours. Some piece of loose metal or wiring was rattling in the chandelier every time the upstairs neighbors clomped across the floor. To be fair, I could have said something to the staff, but we were only staying one more night so I didn't bother.

All-in-all, a very nice hotel. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Appia Hotel Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear client,

Thank you choosing Appia Residences for your stay in Prague, and sharing such a comprehensive feedback, which we truly appreciate. We are really glad to read that you enjoyed services of Appia Residences. We will do our best to make your next stay even better.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel. Secure underground parking! Spacious and most comfortable rooms! Super clean. 24-hour front desk. Wonderful breakfast with wonderful ambiance? Five minute walk to Lesser Town and a 10 minute walk to Charles Bridge. My wife and I visited Prague for the weekend with our two children (age 11 & 9). We we able to walk everywhere worth walking from this hotel. Worth every cent! The staff was wonderful, and very helpful!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 305 A and it was absolutely perfect...and the price was absolutely right!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bliv711us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Appia Hotel Residences, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for your feedback. We are always happy to find out that our guests liked their stay at Appia Residence, and hope you will come back soon.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 647 in Prague
2,808 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 647 in Prague
1,749 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 647 in Prague
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 647 in Prague
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appia Hotel Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appia Hotel Residences

Address: Sporkova 322/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#12 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#70 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $97 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appia Hotel Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appia Hotel Residences situated in the historical part of Prague, in immediate vicinity of the Prague Castle, Charles Bridge and a whole range of other significant historical sites, offer 21 charming, stylishly furnished and above-standard equipped rooms and apartments, underground parking, the ancient breakfast restaurant with unique roof beams, free Wi-Fi Internet, sauna, meeting room and romantic garden with terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appia Hotel Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appia Residences Prague
Appia Residences Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing