We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late review, but positive one.”
Review of Hotel Merlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Merlin
Ranked #494 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late review, but positive one.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here for a few days last spring on a tour of Europe. I booked this after seeing the You Tube of the young couple touring as I was. They were sorta backpacking vs me and the trains. I was pleased with the staff and facilities. The breakfast was a disappointment, but being from the US my tastebuds differed. The rooms were very clean. The furniture and bed were very basic. The young lady at the desk was very helpful. She clued me onto the free Tours which were outstanding. Thoroughly enjoyed the Castle Tour and the Terezin tour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divrdwn41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    73
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
19
46
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Good value for money, but nothing unusual. Location could be lot better, especially if you consider that there are NO parking possibilities in front of the hotel (if you park your car will get towed). You have to go and search for a parking place, and they are scarce and costly, except during the weekends. Staff was also OK but not very nice. Basically, I was expecting more, but not bad for a 2 day trip to Prague (tourist attractions can be reached by a 20 minute walk).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finanzkoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Booked few days in advance a smal double bed room with a shared bathroom, because other rooms were already full. Communication was swift and without problems. Funny thing you can't pay with a credit/debit card. Cash only. So kind of curious, how the money could be withdrawn as described in the last review. The small attic double bed room wasn't anything special and you can hear the neighbors walking by as if they were walking right next to you, but overall it was very quiet and we had a decent sleep. The breakfast was great, no complaints about that at all. Would come by again if needed.

Room Tip: If you're scared of the lifts, you'll probably die in case you'll have use it up the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Habus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed from 22 to 26 agust 2013.
Plus:
great position: near to Moldava, Gehry House, Karlovo Namesti, Tram 6, 10, 17, 22 and Metro B;
big room with a beautifull view on Praga Castle;
polite staff;

Minus,
electric Kettle and cups but not the and sugar.. very strange...
You have to put the label at the door if you wantto have the room maked up

Room Tip: We stayd in room 303, very big and clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here. We felt very secure with three locked doors to get to our room though some hallmates forgot to lock the hall door. It was very clean and the receptionist was always very kind and helpful. The price was good too. No one bothered our food in the shared fridge but we had the wing to ourselves for the most part. The best part was that we had a wonderful view of the castle and the river. I'd come back here in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
1 Thank deharlander
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We planned late for our 3 day, 2 night trip to Prague, so this pension was the best we could find. We wanted to be close to the Old Town, we needed it to be affordable, they needed to accept pets, and we needed four rooms. It delivered on all these counts. Amazing value for the location. The rooms are stark however, no phones, and not exactly spotless. One of our rooms had to go out into the hall to access their bathroom. While wifi was free, I was never able to access it from my room. The breakfast was extensive and available for only a small fee. If you are interested in being in the middle of the action and aren't picky about amenities, this is not a bad option.

Room Tip: Limited elevator access, and all rooms require some stairs. If you don't mind climbing stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youvegottaread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was our first time in Prague and a colleague of mine recommended the hotel. The location was good - strategic and walking distance to a nice view of the river. More walking leads you already to the Charles Bridge. The room was good for me and my wife, and our daughter. There was an extra bed for our daughter, but we decided to stay in one bed. And it still was comfortable. Breakfast was the regular Europe selection - but is good enough to start your day. In front was an Asian restaurant (I forgot whether it was a Viet or Thai), and food was okay (as we were longing for some Asian noodles, rice and fish). Worth recommending and motivating to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#402 of 649 in Prague
51 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Atlante Residence - Ai Quattro Angeli
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#257 of 649 in Prague
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#128 of 649 in Prague
349 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Center Hostel
Prague Center Hostel
#471 of 649 in Prague
80 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#216 of 649 in Prague
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merlin

Property: Hotel Merlin
Address: Gorazdova 331/22 | New Town, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #494 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merlin 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Merlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Merlin Hotel Prague
Merlin Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing