We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in Merlin January 2008”
Review of Hotel Merlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Merlin
Ranked #519 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Hi, we stayed in Merlin in january 2008 for 4 days and than 1/2 year ago for 3 days and we have to say that thinks are much better there now, its really accommodation in the very centre worth the money you pay for it. They opened a new restaurant in the cellar , breakfasts served there are very nice, stuff ok and they have a new elavator, so you dont have to climb the stairs. Merlin also plans wifi and tvs + cable programms in a future of 1 months. So for 24E per night, worth it definatelly ! Stay there next time again. Cheers Michaela

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank krupzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 170 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2007

We were a party of seven, rooms were ok, nothing much to say about the stay in itself.
The only problem we experienced was at check out time: we asked the receptionist if we could leave the luggage in their custody for a few hours. Bad bad bad idea: they left the luggage unattended only a few meters near the main entrance. Upon our return one bag was missing. Best scenario: someone entered and help himself. Worst scenario: some staff member from the guest house did it.
What is for sure is that at the guest house they literally didn't care. I must admit the receptionist was sorry. For what precise reason I am not sure. Was she sorry because of our luggage was “lost”, or because this “loss” implied some additional work for her? I let you choose. She just didn’t care. It was simply not her business. She didn’t seem to take any responsibility for leaving our luggage unattended.
Unfortunately as we had a plane to take we didn’t have much time for struggling further more; no time left to go to the police, ….
And once again guest house staff were everything but helpful.
The morale to the story: sometimes you realize why some things are so cheap. In fact, one way or another, life makes you pay the whole price. That’s something one has to admit, some kind of hidden rule in life I guess…
Another morale? Sometimes trusting people also has a price…

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank fredoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2006

Hotel Merlin is an excellent value. It's location is convenent and the neighborhood quiet. Rooms are older but large and comfortable. Breakfast is verygood with a variety of juices, cereal, yoghurt, etc.
I plan to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Well-travelled3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2006

This is basically a very basic room. It does not offer any food so not a guest house in the UK sense.

The rooms were updated with new but very cheap beds etc. My wardrobe only had a curtain and not a door. The bookshelf almost fell apart. The photos make the rooms look a lot better than they are. The walls are paper thin. Showers were good. I had 4 electric sockets. No kitchens so they cannot be called apartments.

Only stay here if you are looking for a crashpad.

The front door band shuts very loudly and with guest returning anything from midnight to 6am you may be woken by the noise a great deal. There is also a very large bench along the side of the stairs and as there is no light that is always on in the hallway is it easy to crash into it. Very dangerous in my book. The lack of lighting i felt was very poor yes there are on off switches but the light went off too quickly leaving you in the dark.

There really is very little to do on the doorstep you will always be going back into the centre of town. There were also prostitutes hanging around on the corners which did surprise me as you are quite a way out of town.

The rooms are on 1st floor to 6th floor. Check before you book. If you are out on the beer you do not want to climb 6 flights of stairs late at night.

The location is OK. Walkable to old town in 20 mins. The staff can helf with the trams taxis etc.

I always walked, but it got to be a drag late at night, as I did not know the trams and used taxis instead when a little worse for drink.

To conclude, yes the rooms are cheap, but next time I will pay the extra and get a real appartment.

This place is nothing more than a upmarket hostel.

5  Thank Greenoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank sadko222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ritfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones son espaciosas, limpias y muy completas. El hotel está justo al lado de la casa da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maricarmenarjona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#402 of 649 in Prague
53 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Atlante Residence - Ai Quattro Angeli
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Center Hostel
Prague Center Hostel
#488 of 649 in Prague
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#365 of 649 in Prague
196 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#217 of 649 in Prague
609 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Stary Pivovar
Hotel Stary Pivovar
#554 of 649 in Prague
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merlin

Address: Gorazdova 331/22 | New Town, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $51 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merlin 3*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Merlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Merlin Hotel Prague
Merlin Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing