We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ranked #151 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2009

3,000 airmiles for four nights- what a bargain.
location 5*. Nam Republiky 25 yds. metro station and Billa supermarket. Most sights, except Castle Hill, are walkable. Municipal Hall, a feast of Art Noveau, with 2 restaurants and cafe 50 yds.
Shopping mal next door to hotel includes m&s and Albert supermarket.
Rooms basic but bed comfortable.Flat screen T.V and special reading lights(5*) as well as normal bedside lights. No mini-bar or tea and coffee making facilities.
Bathroom minute.No bath but good shower.. Only yuuky liqiud soap provided.Get toiletries and shower cap from shopping mal next door. Room very quiet even with window open.
Breakfast room canteen-like but a reasonable choice of food including hot sausage, scrambled egg and baked beans.Srambled egg better than some hotels.
Would we stay there again? Yes. Why pay more spend what you save on good meals etc. We recommend U Modre Kachnicky or a visit to the opera. Don Giovanni at the Estates Theatre was very good and the inetrior of the theatre has almost as much bling as Buck House.
Grand Cafe Orient above the Cubist Museum a good place for coffee or chocolate,cakes and icecream.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 3,071 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2008

Great Hotel, situated very close to the city centre very possible to walk about 5 mins walking. Metros and trams there if its too cold, or at night.
Rooms lovely, really nice spacious showers

One thing, breakfast is slack but that seems to be the czech culture

Through 1800hotels.ie i only paid 150 euro for two people for three nights midweek, excellent bargain

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelIreland87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 3 day weekend break in Prague. We stayed at the two star ibis in the old town. Hotel was great value and I have to say that having travelled and stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world I was very impressed with this two star. The hotel was fab. Room was not huge but very clean and very new. Bed was a big double with pristene sheets etc. Very comfy. Bathroom was clean and fresh with a huge shower big enough for two. There was space under the bed to put each case and clothes could be hung nicely. I was very pleased with this hotel. The breakfast was great too. Lots to chose from and even had beans and scrambled egg for those who need more than cereal. The bar was lovely too but Prague is very very expensive for food and drink. That was my only negative on this city. But as for this hotel I would definitely recommend it. the location was perfect. We walked the whole of prague in about 4 hours and spent our three days seeing all the sights on foot from this hotel.

As i said the food is pricey. There are some irish and english pubs but stay away because they were charging approx £16 sterling per person for a full english breakfast!!!!!! Drinks are about the same price as in UK. Wine can be expensive but if you go to some nice local bars it is cheaper. Accross the road from the hotel is a little cafe bar which has dj at night and it is really nice.

Prague itself is lovely and has lots and lots of shops but again very expensive, however you dont come to Prague to go shopping. The sites are lovely but beware the cobble streets girls. No high heeled shoes in Prague unless you want very painful feet. Make sure you have very comfy shoes - that would be the most important advice i could give. So if you are going to Prague stay at the ibis it is well worth the money and save save save before you go so you can really relax and enjoy!

For any of you worried about the rumours of women etc I would like to say that my husband and I were not approached by anyone nor did we see anything. There were a few limos going round at night time for a caberet club and there is one street with lots of caberet shows (as they call them) but it is really out of the way and not in your face at all. There were also a few men on streets by Wenc square at night but they were looking for groups of men and not couples.

So i hope this helps and to finish we had a lovely time in Prague but as I said bring lots of money and wear comfy shoes and wrap up very very warm.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank CMH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We spent three wonderful days sightseeing Prague for the first time and we did it on our own from this Ibis.
The location of this Ibis is perfect for us: (1) at the edge of both the Old Town and New Town (at Namesti Republicky) so that we can easily walk to the Old Town Square and the Charles Bridge or walk to Wenceslas Square, (2) next door to a new (Oct 2007) 4-level, 200-store shopping mall with a grocery store on the bottom level to buy breakfast (we did not sign up for the expensive breakfast at the Ibis), ATMs to get money, and many reasonable restaurants on the top level for dinner (and sometimes free entertainment) after a long day of sightseeing <http://www.palladiumpraha.cz/index.php>, (3) next to a tram stop (we rode to the Castle in the morning and walked back) and the subway stop at Namesti Republicky (to get to the Holesovice train station or the airport).
The facilities were clean and functional. We asked for a quiet room away from the street and the elevators, and it was quiet. The only drawback arose when large tour groups came through and overloaded the capacity of the elevators with their huge suitcases etc. Then we had to wait for the elevators to get to our room. All in all, we will certainly come back here.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We spent two nights here as part of a Trafalgar Tour. We have also stayed at an Ibis in Paris. It was what we expected; sparse, clean, comfortable and safe. I appreciated the free internet in the lobby. They had two computers. The dinner and breakfast were not good only because there were more people than food and it took forever to replenish. The food was mediocre. The elevators were very slow as well. But the location is excellent and just a short walk to everything. It's a good choice if you're going to be spending most of your time sightseeing. We would stay again. Beds were comfortable and shower was great.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannieluvstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

I made a stop over in Prague on my way back home from Russia, and I stayed two nice in Ibis Old Town Hotel, conveniently located in the historic district of Prague, within easy walking distance of the main sights. Wenceslas Square and the Old Town Square are 5 minutes from the hotel on foot, the airport is 30 minutes away and the central railway station is only a 2-minute walk. Right next to the hotel is the huge shopping mall. So the location is just perfect. It’s a warmly decorated, comfortable and contemporary hotel. Rooms are small but very clean with a cozy atmosphere. The only meal that was included in my package was breakfast, which was absolutely sufficient. Just across the street form the hotel was a very nice bar and a restaurant with the life Latino music. The hotel’s staff, beginning at the check-in was extremely friendly and helpful. Ibis was recommended to me by Isram World of Travel, the company I booked my entire voyage with, and I was very pleased with their choice and really enjoyed that short but very memorable stay. I would defiantly recommend this hotel. It’s a good value for the price

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank itrvutrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

This is a super hotel. Although it is busy the staff are welcoming and friendly. The hotel is centrally located - within less than 5 minutes walking distance from Republic Square (Nameski Republicky) where you can access the metro, or just walk on through the Powder Tower - a main tourist attraction beside the Municipal House - (a splendid Art Deco building) and you will be in the main tourist area very quickly.

The breakfast facilities are well worth while paying the extra money for - you can fill up with a wide selection of foods including fruit, ham, cheeses, breads, cereals, sausage, egg etc in a clean restaurant area.

The price is reasonable to be so near the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamnamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#192 of 646 in Prague
1,636 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#111 of 646 in Prague
1,546 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#88 of 646 in Prague
3,315 reviews
Praha 11
Ibis Praha Wenceslas Square
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#138 of 646 in Prague
5,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Praha Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Praha Old Town

Address: Na Porici 1076/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Prague
#125 Business Hotel in Prague
#133 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $68 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Praha Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Praha Old Town is located in the historical district of Prague and has 271 air-conditioned rooms, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours, private undercover paid parking, one meeting room with a day light and the own limousine service with fixed prices. Free Wi-Fi internet access in all hotel areas. Tickets for cultural events also available at the reception. Fitness centre accessible in the vicinity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Praha Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Praha Old Town Hotel Prague
Ibis Hotel Prague
Accor Praha Old Town
Ibis Old Town Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing