We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”
Review of Hotel Modra Ruze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Modra Ruze
Ranked #252 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is located very close to the Old town square. The room is very big and comfortable. The night shift receptionist was really kind, he explained us a lot of the city and also pointed out some good places to eat, exchange money, do shopping, etc..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MateusBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 348 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found the hotel very well located, just a few min walk to the historical center and the metro station but still peaceful and quiet during the night. The room was simple but spacious and clean with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was also good. We arrived by car and booked a parking space in advance, their parking area is right inside their inner yard. I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piroska W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here with my grown daughter. We were accompanying a youth choir group from the U.S. to Czech Rep. I stayed here because this was the place chosen by the tour organizers. They chose well. This place is located just blocks away from the center of old town. There are cars allowed on the street but we didn't see very many . The pedestrian only area is very close. There is also a subway entrance within a block.
The reception area is small and there is also a small bar area that faces the street. There are 4 tables with umbrellas and 16 chairs in front for the bar and hotel patrons. It is wonderful to sit and watch the pedestrian traffic.
It was extreemly hot when we were there so we used the air conditioning and kept the windows closed until the end of our stay. We heard no street noise when we kept the windows closed. One night we tried sleeping with the windows open and there was a lot of noise....all night. It finally got quiet on the street at about 5 AM. We were with a group of people and none of them had any major complaints about the hotel. The air conditioning was not working in one room so the technician went up to check it out. It was determined that all it was needing was a new battery in the remote to make the AC work. Be sure to let them know and hopefully it will be something this simple.
The breakfast was a hit with the group of kids we were with. In one hour's time they fed 60 of us. No one went away hungry, from the largest boys to the vegetarians to the smallest of our children. They had eggs, toast, bacon, sausage, sauted vegetables and cold, crisp vegetables, juices, cheeses and sliced meat and a hot beverage server for coffee, tea and hot cocoa.Around the corner (to the left of the front door) was a fantastic pizza joint that served takeout pizza by the slice. That was an afternoon hit with the boys. And a few storefronts to the right (going out the front door) was a gelato place and deli that was a hit with the moms.
Old town center was only a few blocks away. There were a lot of restaurants on the streets along the way. On one of the streets was a farmers craft market every day where we found fresh fruit already cut up and ready to eat. Fantastic. I also was interested in some jewelry and pictures that I found there.
On a street in the opposite direction was a pedestrian mall and a New Yorker dept. store. I had never heard of this store by where I live in the states, but we found some nice clothes here for the girls.
The staff at this hotel were terrific. They went out of their way to be kind. They knew enough English to communicate very well. I would go back there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymich55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

You get everything you need in the room when you are travelled, but not that luxury for any one who prefer luxury. Breakfast is included in the room rate, not many but full of all you need to start your Prague exploring day. I do not like the way they serve eggs (fried eggs, scramble eggs, omelette) in the chafing dish, which dry-out very fast, better cooked and served individually. Thumb up for location, cleanliness and very very helpful staff. Thank you, will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with more space, some rooms are quite small like no. 312, but for room no. 504 or 208...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duangruedee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have no qualms about rating this hotel very highly indeed. The location could not be bettered, the more so when one takes into account the secure on site parking facility. The hotel is in the old city. Close to the Market Square, Bus Tours and the best shops. First impressions are not exceptional and belie the excellence of the hotel. The front Bar is small and busy and there is a TV Room and further Bar to the rear of the small reception. The Reception Staff were extremely helpful as were all other staff. Our room, on the 4th Floor was exceptional and quite literally as large as a Squash Court. Well furnished with desk. table and comfortable chairs it was a pleasure to retire to in the evening. Air conditioning was standard. The bathroom too was quite excellent with Jacuzzi Bath and excellent fittings. The view over the City from windows on three sides was possibly the best from any city centre hotel. Breakfast, Continental variety was more than satisfactory and rounded off a memorable brief yet very pleasurable stay. I recommend it to fellow readers without reservation.

Room Tip: Fourth Floor has better and larger rooms. Room 400 very good indeed. Noise was not a problem at an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zorro990_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Prague, in the Old Town area and is diagonally across the road from the Black Light Theatre, which is a very popular theatre with the local population - more on this shortly. The street outside the hotel is very busy indeed at all times of the day and night with the result that the cleanliness of the actual street, which in true old European style, could be better. Also, the street is a cobbled street.

The reception staff speak good English and are very helpful and friendly. The carpet at the entrance and along many of the passages is in good condition but with the amount of traffic moving along these carpets, keeping them very clean is a bit of a challenge. Talking carpets a nice touch is the carpet in the lift which carries the printed name of that day, despite being fairly dirty.

The hotel restaurant only provides breakfast, which is a fair spread, and there are several restaurants located in the vicinity of the hotel.

The rooms vary in size from very small to very generous so do make sure you direct your room allocation and not leave it to chance. The bedding is clean and comfortable and the central heating works well.

Now, back to the Black Light Theatre; the location of your room is quite critical as the almost nightly theatre shows break at about 23h00 to midnight and the show goers pour out onto the street in a riotous assembly, singing, shouting, screaming and making one heck of a raucous. If this doesn't bother you then worry not, if it potentially could disturb your sleep then insist on a room that faces away from the Main Street which locates the theatre. Additionally, there are many rooms that face out towards the rear courtyard-like-atrium of the hotel which is used for parking some vehicles and this could be a source of some noise during certain parts of the day, including early mornings; the noise levels from this source isn't too much of an issue - the place to watch is the front street and Black Light Theatre!

If you are looking for the comfort of a well known, guaranteed experience then go for one of the brand hotels which are generally located in the new part of the city. If you want to do walking and sightseeing of historical areas and be immersed in the local life then this hotel and its location should serve you well.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the Main Street which houses the Black Light Theatre if you want peace and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc-Dee-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a lovely city centre hotel, 2 minutes walk one way to Wenceslas Square and the other way to Old Town Square (& Astronomical Clock). Breakfasts were continental, i.e. breads/rolls, cheeses, cold meats, cereal, fruit, sausages (various continental styles), eggs (scrambled, fried, omelette) and bacon! As much as you could eat.

Only downside was the room although very generous in size and very comfortable, had an adjoining door to another room and the soundproofing wasn't great - but that didn't take away from a very comfortable and convenient stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groveroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#199 of 648 in Prague
550 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 648 in Prague
732 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#135 of 648 in Prague
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#208 of 648 in Prague
695 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#143 of 648 in Prague
1,185 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#211 of 648 in Prague
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modra Ruze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modra Ruze

Address: Rytirska 403/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#157 Business Hotel in Prague
#177 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#198 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $49 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modra Ruze 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Modra Ruze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modra Ruze Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing