We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Retreat great location - not bad hotel”
Review of Hotel Modra Ruze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Modra Ruze
Ranked #230 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Weekend Retreat great location - not bad hotel”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The room was rather large - the bathroom had a large bath and plenty of room to move. the room had 2 big bay windows and plenty of storage space for bags and there was a sofa and TV area in the room, overall if I was to return to Prague I would book this again however breakfast was cold meat style only no hot food which was disappointing - no real choice. staff were friendly enough but could not speak hardly any English so very difficult to communicate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChichesterTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    161
    51
    8
    9
See reviews for
60
120
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My 12-year old son and I stayed here between Christmas and New Year. I had written ahead to ask for a room on an upper level with views, and when we arrived, we were offered 601, the deluxe room in the tower, at no extra cost. Once I talked myself out of worrying about what would happen if a fire swept into the tower, I loved the room. It was super spacious, with fantastic views in four directions, and the jacuzzi in the lovely, bright bathroom was a treat. the lobby isn't much, but it was nice being able to order drinks in the bar and take them up to the room. Breakfasts were great, with something for everyone-- different kinds of bread, cold cuts, eggs, sausages, baked beans, cheeses, yogurts, fruit, vegetables, and even cookies. the hotel was very clean, and the location was perfect -- a really short walk to Old Town and the Charles Bridge, as well as Wensales Square, Ocebnu dum (sp?), the Jewish Quarter, etc. We walked everywhere, including all around the Mala Strana and castle. The folks at the desk were super helpful too, and the few issues I had were resolved quickly and nicely. I recommend using their transportation service for long rides, like to the train station. I had modest expectations based on some reviews I'd read, but was pleasantly surprised by everything. Would definitely stay there again, asking for the tower room.

Room Tip: 601 for the tower, if you're fearless and have no problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC/Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I spent 5 nights at the Hotel Modra Ruze. It is a well located property and seemed to be a skip hop and a jump from everyplace a tourist wants to be. As mentioned in other reviews the hotel lobby was small but it served its' purpose--it is a lobby!

My room was small but since it was only used for sleeping I really didn't care. The bathroom was immaculate. The shower stall had clear glass and housekeeping cleaned it daily. I did see rooms of others and there are some very large and beautiful rooms. I guess these would be more costly.

The hotel provides breakfast but, as I was traveling with a group that provided us with our own food to meet our dietary requirements. I did stick my head into the general breakfast room and could see both hot food and salad.

The front desk was helpful. I accidentally reserved concert tickets for the wrong day, Tatiana was able to contact the venue and arrange for me to receive a refund less a small service charge. It should be noted I had made these reservations myself using the computer. Other desk personnel quickly and accurately marked up a map to help me find the tram. Some in my group used the desk to make reservations. No one had problems.

Near the front desk is a computer for guest use. The first time I used the computer the keyboard was Czech. The front desk helped me locate the keys that were not in standard position and get signed on. Subsequent use showed the keyboard had been switched to standard English ( the keyboard stayed the same but what happened when you pressed a given key was different) The entire hotel has free wi-fi so those with smart phones were happy,

Generally speaking the hotel was an excellent choice.

But, there was one problem that kept me from giving a 5 star rating. It is one that seems to waif through the reviews. Prague is a city of smokers. The hotel advertises itself as non-smoking. One morning as I headed to my friend's room I smelled heavy cigarette smoke on her floor. I was horrified to realize it was 3 members of the house-keeping staff smoking outside their storage area around 10 feet ( 3 meters) from her room. This smoke ended up with her having an asthma attack. Staff smoking in halls in unconscionable. The manager ( who I accidentally met later in the day) was duly apologetic and said it should not have happened. There is also a smoking allowed bar off the lobby. The connecting door needs to be kept closed to make this a truly comfortable place for someone with allergies or asthma.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spend 3 days in there and it was fantastic: great location, big room, big bathroom, good breakfast and good price.
CON: The pillows are not the regular ones and I found difficult to get confortable, but it's only my personal opinion.
The transportation from the airport turned out a little messy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

-Location: center location to to most attractions: shopping, restaurants, Old City and the Underground station.

-Reception and staff: Good and cooperative reception but they need to be more welcoming. The staff working in the breakfast room were helpful too. Reception area and the lobby needs to be re-design because it doesn't give a good impression to the hotel.
-Bedroom: Wide, clean and comfort. You need to insert your room card in the elevator to go to your floor/room for safety purposes.
-Breakfast: good with helpful staff.
-Internet: free WiFi with good signal.

All in all, Great price and I do really like the central location of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourdream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Modra Ruze in late July. We arrived on an overnight train from Krakow at 8am in the morning and were very tired. There was absolutely no issue checking us in at this early hour, we were even offered breakfast.

Our twin room was spotlessly clean, modern and sufficiently spacious. On the first night our air con broke. We reported it to reception, the porter came during the night but was unable to fix it. The next day reception gave us another room straight away, an even bigger twin that we were very pleased with. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was very good – plenty of fruit, salads, bread and the traditional hot breakfast. The dining room was modern and very clean, like the rest of the hotel.

The Modra Ruze is in an excellent location. It’s based in the Old Town close to Old Town Square, Wenceslas Square & Bethlehem Square. You’re central to everything here. There is WIFI in the rooms and a PC and printer at reception that you can use free of charge. Staff were helpful to us throughout our stay, always on hand to book taxis, give directions and provide information.

This was my first time in Prague. I hope to go back again in the not too distant future and if I do I’ll definitely be booking the Modra Ruze.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliocarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed at Modra Ruze 3 nights medio June 2012.
The room was upgraded from standard de luxe to suite, and this was spacius.
For this reason I do not know the quality of standard rooms.
Breakfast allright - but not the very best.
Very quiet in this street, but only 50 meters to a very busy pedestrian area leading to the main sights in the historic centre.
Reasonable prices in the hotel bar

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 649 in Prague
708 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#193 of 649 in Prague
521 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#289 of 649 in Prague
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#125 of 649 in Prague
1,128 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#124 of 649 in Prague
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modra Ruze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modra Ruze

Property: Hotel Modra Ruze
Address: Rytirska 403/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Prague
#177 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#184 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modra Ruze 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Modra Ruze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modra Ruze Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing