We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of Rosemary Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosemary Hostel
Ranked #80 of 646 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hostel is central, clean and the staff are very helpful. Laundry service is available for a reasonable price. Rooms are a little crowded but this creates a good atmosphere and a great way to meet fellow travellers!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra19, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Rosemary Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    76
    34
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
30
62
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I stayed 3 days with 5 of my friends. This hostel is ok if you're travelling with friends. I do not advise to go there if you're in couple. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. Actually, it's an old flat converted into hostel. You will find a kitchen and shared fridge. We used the fridge for breakfast, you can not secure your food. You need key and codes to go inside the building and to go to your room. It's a well-placed hostel. There are 2 computers.

Room Tip: Room in front of the TV could be noisy if people don't respect rules.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChassiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra19, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Rosemary Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Worst hostel have ever stayed in... we got bed bugs and have been itching like crazy. DO NOT STAY HERE! We stayed in a private room... no curtains and there was only 1 bathroom on the foor for everyone staying. Had to wait an hour to use the bathroom. Also no soap to wash hands with.,... But the bed bugs were the worst. We complained and they just ignored us. Seriously... fork out $10 more and stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Unless you want red bites all over you ... do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zoejmcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra19, Owner at Rosemary Hostel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Hello,
Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry that you did not like it in our hostel. After your departure we immediately invited expert on bedbugs, who works in this field for over 20 years and is a professional. He comes to us every six months and makes regular inspections and preventive measures. Unfortunately, this time he really found in your room a few bugs. The room was closed for 24 hours and was done a complete disinfestation of the room and places around, three beds we have destroyed just to be sure and buy new ones. Unfortunately it was explained to us that this problem is facing a lot of hostels and even luxury hotels and important is that it came right on time and that the immediate disinfestation was done properly. The problem is if some of the hostels or hotels dont care about this issue, then the guests carry bedbugs from place to place...

As it was in our case, unfortunately, it was found that some of the tourists brought the bedbugs in from another place. But the point is that we didnt underestimate the situation as the other hostels and hotels and that the professional disinfestation was done on time and properly.

And so now we can in good conscience say that it is already our hostel completely free from these pests.

We apologize for this unpleasant experience and we are sorry.

It is a pity that you did not come at the reception before. We could move you to another room or give you a discount.

With sincere apologies Hostel Rosemary - Petra H. / the owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We were at Rosemary hostel for 3 days.
As it was our first times in a hostel we didn't know what to expect. The reception wasn't open at night something that for us wasn't a problem and plus they were waiting us or our late arrival. The guy at the reception was really calm and nice and he spoke really good English. The room was good felt like a house with kitchen with full equipment and a small dinning room and the main room bathroom etc. It was clean and quite. Very cheap for us free wireless internet and linen and towels provided without cost.
Near to central metro station it was very convinient.
It was ok after all!! If i ever visit Prague again i will go they even give us a card with 20% discout for our next visit the day of our check out!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hercinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra19, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Rosemary Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Smoky, grungy, stinky atmosphere. Dishes in kitchen were dirty, sponge to wash them was old and smelly. Heard hostel gate door slam shut all night long. Beds were horrible, like sleeping right on mattress springs!
Hot water and warm room, a plus. Overall, not worth price we paid!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandywolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra19, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Rosemary Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Mr. Peter is always nice to backpackers even we knock his reception room night & day. I appreciate Mr. Peter. It's in great location in Prague, and you can walk from Mustek or Muzeum Metro Station. I had great time with other 5 roommates.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryNoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra19, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Rosemary Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is a brilliant hostel to stay in for a reasonable price as hostels go. In easy walking distance from the train station which is great with heavy bags. Also in a great location relative to the old town and attractions if you can navigate yourself through the streets. When we arrived, the lady on the desk was very helpful and even lent us her own map of Prague as the one supplied wasnt great so Id go equipped with one already. Furthermore, paying on arrival was optional which is great if your a bit strapped for cash or tired when you get there.
The room was great. There were three of us staying and there were four beds which meant a little extra room. The best thing about the room was the kitchen, which made the room more like an appartment. Really well kitted out and it had an oven, which was lacking in the other hostels we stayed in. A small table and two chairs to eat at but not much room for anyone else. The bathroom was shared with another room but was really clean (as was the room) and large.
Lastly the room had a secure lock and the common room had a secure key pad where the code change every day so people couldnt walk in off the street. In there was free internet access on two computers which was great and also another kitchen and lots of tables and chairs with a TV in the corner.
I would defo stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Try and stay in the room at the top up the stairs from the common room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xavierwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra19, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Rosemary Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2017
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Ananas
Hostel Ananas
#24 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel Mango
Hostel Mango
#39 of 646 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Praha 3
I'M Hostels and Apartments
I'M Hostels and Apartments
#85 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#5 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
CitySpot
CitySpot
#57 of 646 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemary Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemary Hostel

Property: Rosemary Hostel
Address: Ruzova 5/971, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 646 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rosemary Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Rosemary is located in the center of Prague - Old Town, just few steps from Wenceslas square and Old Town square.You dont need to use the public transport when you stay here. All the famous sights are in walking distance. If you will come by train, we are just 2 minutes walk from Main Train station - Praha hl.n. We run this place with our best already over 6 years. We are a Prague family and we live here since our birth.We live in the hostel together with you. Everybody are welcome - individuals backpackers, students, groups, couples or family... We are open to help you with all your questions. You will get Prague map for free and some good tips for restaurants or events around.Free Prague walking tours (2,5 hours), which we recommend are going on every day 1045am and 2pm just 5 minutes walk from us. Pub crawl meeting bar is aprox. 10 minutes walk from the hostel. Reception is open only from 8am to 7pm, but in case you need to come different time, dont worry, just let us know in advance or ring the bell night reception outside the building. There is always somebody staying here. All the rooms are spacious and clean with bedding and towel for free. To all private rooms is the ability to add extra bed. Common kitchen :- fully equipped, oven, dishwasher, microwave...- tv with international channels, 2x pc with printer, wifi for free in whole building.- free coffee and tea ready for you all the time, sometimes also a homemade cakes :) Groups :- For groups over 20 people we offer breakfast for extra 100 CZK inside the hostel- or breakfast, dinner or half board in nearby restaurant- transport for extra fee, Prague guide, tickets... Laundry: - we offer over night full service. So you dont have to waste your time in public laundry, we do your laundry for you.Its for extra charge, ask at the reception. Payment :We accept EUR, CZK or all credit - debit cards. It should be done on arrival or next day. Parking :- available on request in nearby garages. It cost only 400 CZK/day and you can buy it at the reception for this special price. Its better to reserve it in advance.- or you can park your car for free from 6pm untill 8am in street nearby, but ask at the reception where ! We are looking forward to meet you here and make you feel like home. In case we dont have free rooms, check our other property located just few steps from Charles Bridge - Little Town - hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Rosemary Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemary Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing