We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst 4* hotel I have ever stayed in” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Residence Green Lobster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Ranked #201 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst 4* hotel I have ever stayed in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were staying in the second floor of the main building and very dissatisfied with the hotel.

We booked a double room and our 'double bed' were in fact two single beds put together which kept sliding apart throughout the night, creating a space in the middle, hardly making up for a good night's sleep.

The walls of our room were paper thin so we got guests from neighbouring room banging on our wall when we were talking in normal voice in the room at night and could not sleep well in the morning because this time it was them talking and we could hear them clearly.

We complained about both cases in the morning during check out and the management promised to contact us back to resolve the issue. We never heard back from them and after contacting them again, they only offered us a discount on a next stay - not in a thousand years!

All in all, if you are looking for a relaxing break in Prague, I think there are many more hotels in the same historical location better than this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Green Lobster, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your contribution on Tripadvisor.
I am very sorry you found our Hotel Green Lobstyer not at the standards expected.
Both me and the Hotel Manager would like to apologize if your expectations were not met and we renew the invitation once more and we will be more than happy to prove you our professionality and dedication.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    202
    40
    17
    11
See reviews for
67
328
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Busto Garolfo, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I understand the hotel is made out from an historical building but then you don't really perceive this history in your room.
The bathroom was really poor for a 4 stars hotel.

Moreover we could not see on TV any Italian Channel, although present on ASTRA sat, we made a complaint on this to the hotel but even after the coming of an hotel employee nothing changed.

I general the overall rating is poor. The lacking of Euro in the country makes tourists life more convenient compared to other Euro/countries.

This review is on room at 2nd floor but don't rembember exactly the room number

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaetano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Green Lobster, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your feedback about your stay.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and our Hotel Green Lobster was not meeting your expectations.
The building belongs to the XIV century and it was refurbished carefully trying to keep its original atmosphere. Some of the rooms have still original hand painted decoration on ceilings. The design and style of each rooms were studied to express its old and historical charme and giving in addition the maximum comfort to our guests and we are sorry if you had a different or "cold" feeling.
I would like also to apologize for the satellite tv issue and we will try to solve it soon in order to improve the service for future guests.
We thank yoiu for your important and sincere contribution and we hope you could reconsider our Hotel in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having been to Prague on 3 occasions now, we knew we liked the castle area more than the bustling centre. The hotel is just what we were looking for and certainly lived up to our expectations, apart from its a little noisy on the street outside; which is no fault of the hotel. There were also roadworks taking place during our stay which meant we were being woken at 7am!!! Breakfast was great; don't know why people have been complaining. Lots of lovely restaurants close by and only a 5 min walk to the castle. What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Green Lobster, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for staying at the Hotel Green Lobster (by Garzotto Hotels & Resorts) and for taking your time to write this review.
It was a great joy to read your valuable feedback and nice comments about the hotel.
We do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back very soon and for any future inquiry do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Wonderful hotel, we stayed at the Green Lobster for 3 nights and felt great - the room was spotlessly clean, spacious, with large and very comfortable bed, beautiful baroque furniture, all the stuff - very kind and helpful, the breakfast was rich and tasty. The location is great - 5 mins to the Castle and 10 to Charles Bridge (although the steep street - well, when you are very tired it is a little bit difficult to climb up, but this is nothing considering all the positive emotions that we collected in Prague). We would definitely stay there again without hesitation and would recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desislava R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Green Lobster, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for posting such a nice feedback from your stay in our Hotel Green Lobster!
We were absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We pride ourselves on the service and facilities we provide our guests and this is only made possible by the great team we have at Garzotto Hotels & Resorts.
We are happy you enjoyed the location, we understand that walking up the Nerudova Street after all day sightseeing might be tiring, this is way during the day we suggest our guests to take tram no. 22 to the stop Prazsky Hrad and walk through the Castle area, which is by the way stunning at sunset and give you the chance to enjoy wonderful views of the city.
We hope to welcome you back soon and for future inquiries do not hesitate to contact us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

The location is just at the castle area, 5min walk to the old castle, only problem is you have to carry your luggage up 500m from the tram station and the macadam road is a nightmare for your trolley suitcase.
Another problem is that there is no kettle in the room nor the public area, I would like to drink some hot water after a whole day's tourist and it was just impossible!
Everything else is just fine. Nice breakfast.

Room Tip: wifi is too weak to use on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yunie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Green Lobster, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
we are glad that you chose to stay with us.
The Hotel is located on the hill very close to the Castle, which means that it can tiring to walk up the street with luggage, this is the reason why we suggest our guest also an alternative in order to avoid it: get off at the stop Prazsky Hrad with the tram no. 22 and cross all the Castle area. In this way it is much easier most of all with luggages. For this information, please do not hesitate to contact us in advance and next time we will suggest you the easiest and most comfortable way according to your needs and specifications.
We do not have electric kettle in the Hotel Green Lobster, but if you would like to have it at your next visit, we suggest you the executive rooms which are located in the building in front of the Green Lobster - these rooms are in fact provided with the kettle and tea/coffee making facilities. Contact us for details, we will be happy to assist you in making the perfect choice for your stay.
We hope that you will come back and visit us and this beautiful city in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and we enjoyed the hotel very much. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location is great. From the hotel it is a short walk to the Prague Palace, Petrin Tower, and the Old Town. And the value was great, especially compared to many of the hotels in the Old Town.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg_DeCelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Green Lobster, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are truly glad that you chose to stay with us in our Hotel Green Lobster.
It feels like you enjoyed Prague to the fullest and had a positive experience.
We hope that you will come back and visit us and this wonderful city in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel located near Prague Castle. Great value for price. Great service and very well appointed. Located on steep hill, but Hop On, Hop Off bus just steps away from hotel, so that is very convenient. No parking in area, so beware of extra parking costs if travelling by car.
Well worth effort to stay there...great shops and cafes, and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasAnnie7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Residence Green Lobster, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Traveler,
thank you for your review. There is nothing more rewarding for us than the positive feedback from our guest. We hope that you will return to Hotel Green Lobster back one day and give us the opportunity to provide you with the best service again.
Thank you for suggesting the hop on - hop off bus, it is for sure another good option. For guests coming by car, please address your need to the recpetion and they will help you finding out the most convenient and available solution for parking safely your car.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the nearest future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Small Luxury Palace Residence
Hradcany & Letna
At the Golden Horseshoe - U Zlate Podkovy
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#124 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Residence Bijou de Prague
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#130 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#156 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Green Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Green Lobster

Property: Hotel Residence Green Lobster
Address: Nerudova 224/42, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Residence Green Lobster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Green Lobster is a luxury four-star residence created through the extensive renovation of the historical building in Nerudova Street, belonging to the 14th century and few steps from Prague Castle.Its unique architecture and complete renewal of the interior give to the hotel a very elegant atmosphere. It has 14 rooms - 9 Standard and 5 Deluxe - uniquely furnished and completly in harmony with the architeture of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Residence Green Lobster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing