We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean - but not (what I'd call) 4*” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antik City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antik City
Ranked #312 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Lampeter
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean - but not (what I'd call) 4*”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel between Christmas and New Year (Dec 2012) for four nights. The hotel is located in the New Town area of Prague, around 5 minutes walk from Charles Square, 10 minutes walk from Wenceslas Square and around 15/20 minutes walk from the Old Town Square. It was clean, the reception was decorative and the hotel was was close to some really good Italian restaurants. However... these are the reasons why I have scored it a 3 out of 5: (i) our room was the only one on the ground floor, around 10 paces from the Reception (bonus, no stairs) - next to the gents, opposite the breakfast room - only heavy sleepers will sleep through the noise in the reception, gents and the chatter of early-morning breakfasters who slam the door every few minutes; (ii) there was no air conditioning - which you might think is fine in December... not so, it was like a furnace - we opened the windows all night long and turned the radiator to a minimum; (iii) there was a mini bar, but tea and coffee making facilities are fairly standard these days and would have been a great way to start and end the day as there were no other catering facilities in the hotel other than breakfast; (iv) breakfast... stale, hard bread, cold hard-boiled eggs, chopped fruit that had gone brown (every morning); frankfurter sausages, fried eggs that had gone brown around the edges as they are made around 7 a.m. and sit until 10.00 a.m. the young woman who was clearing up each morning - in shorts and t-shirt looked like she'd rather be anywhere else; (v) the finish between the bedroom and the bathroom was very rough and not sealed and a tile in the bathroom had come loose and slipped behind another; (vi) the shower head holder was broken - if you turned the taps on the water shot out full blast (another bonus) but the shower head was like a writhing cobra; finally... there is complimentary wifi (yay!) but it's intermittent and apparently inexplicably goes off sometimes on a Friday or Sunday evening, So... in conclusion it was o.k. for a base but, based on experiences of having stayed in a number of 4* hotels in a number of European countries in 2012, this did not compare.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor - room 100...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devondumpling2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    82
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
108
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbes, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were very satisfied with this Hotel. About 15min walking distance from the city center, it has well maintained rooms. The personel is helpful, although we didn't ask much as we were pleased with our stay.
It offers a breakfast buffet whose variety is good.
We spent less than a week in this Hotel (24-11 to 30-11). Near (15min walking) from the train/bus station, I would choose it again in a next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed with a room oriented to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y-Pyrenees65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Lovely hotel in a fantastic location, in the heart of Prague. The room and hotel were spotless. The staff couldn't do enough to help you. Comfortable beds, adequate breakfast, really couldn't fault it. Would highly recommend and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Apfrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have stayed there for 3 nights. We loved this hotel. Great breakfast, good looking rooms and the position few steps from city centre makes it very good value for money. The staff was very helpful as we want to know where to go and see something interesting in the beautiful city of Prague. I would recommend this to everyone who wants calm and romantic stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I enjoyed my 2 night stay (late May, 2012). Room was very nice and clean, staff very friendly, breakfast was delicious (and included in the price). I was a short, safe walk from the action and I did not need a fitness centre, since I was walking 5 hours/day.... It was typical, european bedding with 2 twin beds on wheels, pushed together for a queen... But whatever... 70 euros a night, which is still inexpensive, Canadian standards... Great job Hotel Antik!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caltp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night, and the information we received said a 4 star hotel, free internet and breakfast. Our disappointments so far: No air conditioning in a 4 star hotel, no fitness center, room feels like a dungeon, ugly decoration, not that good location, poor bedding, unfriendly and intrusive staff...
We would not recommend this hotel to anybody who is planning to have a 4/5 star pleasant, romantic, and memorable experience...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludwig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is located near the city centre, on a quiet street. The room was big. The hotel is a bit dated: the rugs and furniture have seen their best days. The bed was big and good though.
In the toilet there was an air conditioning that was on whenever the light was on. It made a terrible noise! Breakfast was ok.
Overall a nice experience but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#78 of 668 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Crystal Palace
EA Hotel Crystal Palace
#333 of 668 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Atlante Residence - Ai Quattro Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#107 of 668 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amarilis
Amarilis
#132 of 668 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Praha 2
Ankora
Ankora
#266 of 668 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antik City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antik City

Property: Antik City
Address: Mala Shtepanska 556/13, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antik City 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Antik City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing