We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick stay”
Review of Archibald City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Archibald City
Ranked #106 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for a quick stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The location was very ideal in terms of walking distance from key places including Old Town, Charles Bridge.. also shopping and good eating options just a few blocks over on Wenceslas Square. Breakfast was also good, beds are decent and rooms are well, basic. Good if you are on a budget and plan on being away most of day!!

Room Tip: Some of the side streets may be a bit sketchy at night, stick to main roads if on foot, well known h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    412
    97
    16
    13
See reviews for
103
462
61
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanko, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a very neat hotel located at a ten minute's walk from the Old town. Ideal location if you don't want to constantly be in the middle of the hustling and bustling of a million tourists. The staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast will keep you going well to lunch time and we really slept well, with no disturbing noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

this hotel, well located, very good room for a couple and a child, the breakfast is fine, almost all the people are nice. Clean room, the make up of the room is excellent. The staff at night and late afternoon not so nice. In the morning there is a lady very kind with customers.

Room Tip: we went to this hotel by internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Decent sized room with plenty of cupboard space and good sized bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Air-con available and allows for personal adjustment. Friendly and helpful staff. 15 mins walk from the train station and 20-30 mins walk from the Old City. Location is close to some seedy streets and sex shops but these can be avoided (if you wish) by walking in a different direction.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Caught the overnight train to Praha from Craow (totally comfortable but not luxurious) Caught cab from train station. Got ripped off by the cab driver, upon reflection he drove around twice before dropping us off cost us $AU25 (Not that bad but still a rip). When returning to Cracow it was a 15 min walk.
Due to our own online booking error we found ourselves here Archibald CITY Hotel. Best mistake!! (thought we booked Charles Bridge) although this hotel is in the newer part of town and further away from the castle and old town it is a GREAT budget option. A visit to the information center will hook u up with a ticket and plan of the light rail (quick,cheep way to get about town). Male receptionist was not uber friendly but change of staff showed us a more hospitable side of staff. Room was nice but had no soap, slippers and little extras but we found that when we asked the staff were really nice and friendly.
We stayed on level 7, room 707 and 708..would recommend as it had good rooms with distant views of the city. 707 was better 708 (slightly abstracted views)
Breakfast was a typical European buffet and yes bacon was odd (European)
Have to recommend the Hajnovka pub/restaurant (only a couple streets away but great rustic and affordable food!)

Room Tip: 707 good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisiamawgosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our 4 night stay at this hotel was pleasant - it had all the facilities we were after and our room was a decent size for two people. Despite being opposite a busy road you can't actually hear traffic noise (we were on the 4th floor) but you can hear toilets flushing from other rooms though.

Free breakfasts and free wifi were most appreciated and we found all the hotel staff to be warm and friendly, especially the guy who helped us with finding a train to Kutna Hora and printing us some timetables

Within 10 minutes walk you can reach Wenceslas square where there are plenty of shops and places to eat and drink as well as a metro stop but even just a few minutes away from the hotel there are side streets with some good places to eat too as we found out on our first night (again a staff member gave us a few good recommendations). There are better places to stay in Prague I'm sure but for the price we paid and location this hotel was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent stay in our hotel and your kind feedback as well.
I am glad to read that you were satisfied with our room, breakfasts, staff and services...it´s more than nice for me to read that stay here was a pleasant surprise for our guests and I am happy that you spent nice time in Prague. Thanks a lot also for your recommendation for other guests.

Best Regards,
Jan Kalenda
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2014, paying €158 for bed and breakfast.

We arranged our own airport transfers with a company called Suntransfers - a return journey (up to four passengers, costing around €40, booked in advance). Our flight to Prague was delayed by around 25 minutes (EasyJet) and on arrival we couldn't locate the driver (It's a private taxi). However, we called the helpline and within 10 minutes we were in the car. Our return journey was fine, the driver actually arrived earlier - We'd use them again.

We arrived at the hotel around 13:00 (check in is 14:00), but this wasn't a problem and we were allowed to check in early. The hotel is located a short stroll from Wenceslas Square, with a nearby Metro. You can buy a 24 ticket for 110 Krones and explore. The side street was a little seedy, but we had no issue's walking it. Breakfast was nice enough, with a reasonable choice. The staff were always very friendly and the hotel was clean.

The room was adequate for our needs, with Tea and Coffee making facilities (FOC) and a mini bar. One of the bedside lights was not working and we reported this on the way out for dinner - it was fixed by the time we got back.

The reception staff were always friendly, smiling and greeting us whenever we came or left, always willing to try and help with our queries. Our room was on the top floor. The view wasn't great, but better than some we've stayed in - you could see some of the nearby church spires.

The only downsides are:

Bar - this was not one!
Location - Not knowing Prague, we assumed Wenceslas Square was the centre (it is not). In hindsight, we would've probably stayed nearer Charles Bridge.

Overall, a clean, well presented hotel with friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyM_and_IanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dar Sirs,

thank you for your nice review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback. We will definitely look into it.
The hotel is located just next to Venceslas Square (centre of New Town), about 10mins by a slow walk from the centre of Old Town.

With sincere regards from sunny Prague,
Jan Kalenda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#109 of 649 in Prague
589 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amarilis
Amarilis
#126 of 649 in Prague
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#99 of 649 in Prague
717 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#152 of 649 in Prague
689 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#86 of 649 in Prague
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald City

Property: Archibald City
Address: Zhitna 1319/33, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#113 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#125 Business Hotel in Prague
#159 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald City 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Archibald City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Archibald City
Archibald City Hotel Prague
Archibald Hotel Prague
Archibald City Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing