We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Archibald City
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Julian(Prague)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$124
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$197
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$675
$483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$195
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$257
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Unitas Hotel(Prague)
$182
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$269
$232
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,001)
Filter reviews
1,001 results
Traveler rating
400
461
108
17
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
461
108
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswenceslas squareold townrooftop barnice hotelrecommend this hotelcharles bridgebusy roadwithin walking distancesafe areamini bartea coffeeexcellent locationbuffet styletriple roommin walkstayed for nightsmetro station
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 1,001 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

great hotel /nice staff good breakfast
had a nice time in Prague until my disabled wife exchanged some money in the Sq My wife gave them £81 and they gave her Czech money to the value of £51 ,this company has bright yellow signage/They make their money by exploiting the unwary and inexperienced traveller as well as the disabled/So be warned do not deal with these people see picture below

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Sir, thank You for Your kind words about our hotel! We are glad that You enjoyed Your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry to hear about Your trouble with the exchange office. Sadly it still happens in Prague from time to time. Our hotel offers our guests 100% safe exchange office services for all major currencies. Wishing You a great day,E.Aljanabi,FOM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I liked it very much
everything was really good
clean room
quite room
warm water, good pressure
all equipped
nice staff
good breakfast
excellent location both to center and to public transport inside city and airport-hotel
I would go there again
They also has a good deal for price with Czech airlines
Recommended

Room Tip: ask for quite room "at the back" not to the road
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CityJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Sir, We would like to thank You for Your visit and a great review. Our goal is always to make the hotel as good as possible. If You ever wish to return, please be so kind to call our reservation department to get a nice discount for returning guests. Weth best wishes from snowy Prague, E. Aljanabi, FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in Archibald City Hotel for 7 days for X-mas holidays and the main advantage of this hotel is its perfect location! It’s only 5 minutes to Wenceslas Square and 10 minutes to Stare Mesto and overall not far from other sights and metro station. It will take about 10 minutes from the airport, we paid 40 euro for a taxi and arrived at the hotel at 6 in the morning, they will give you a room before check-in time if any available. You also can take a metro from the airport till National Museum station and walk about 3 minutes to the hotel, it’ll be much cheaper. Windows in some rooms do not open so you should ask about before check in. Breakfast is included but be ready for unvaried food everyday morning. Overall hotel is good and quiet without any entertainment and bar; it’s a real deal for a budget stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saltanatserikovna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Madam, We are glad, that You enjoyed Your stay in our hotel. Thank You for Your comments about the breakfest. We are currently working on jazzing up the breakfest as well as our lobby bar. In the near future, You can expect more local pastry, better-tasting coffee and a more welcoming lobby bar. Thank You again. Our team wishes You a great Year 2013. E. Aljanabi, FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Archibald City hotel during a New Year's excursion with friends. This hotel was perfect for us, from the prime location to the spacious clean rooms to great customer service and delicious full breakfast...we couldn't have been more pleased! The only small hiccup we encountered was regulating the room temperature as it was quite warm in the room, but we opened the window for fresh air and problem solved, no big deal. Our room was very clean and the breakfast included was complete with eggs, bacon, pastries, cereals, salads, cold cuts, fruit, coffee, tea, juices, etc. There was something for everyone....perfect! We easily walked to the many beautiful sites and the tram station was a 5 minute walk for when we were too exhausted to walk anymore. Overall, a great hotel and I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travels4jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Director of Sales at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guests,
first of all I would like to wish you good luck and all the best in 2013... I am happy that you enjoyed together with your friends celebration in Prague! Thank you so much for your lovely feedback you posted regarding your stay at Archibald City hotel, it will be pleasure for me to share your compliments with my colleagues as well. Your recommendation is always the best advertisement for all of us, thanks a lot.
Best regards to North Carolina!
Petra Sudlikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights here while exploring Prague. The hotel is a block from the top part of Wenceslas Square and we walked there every day and then down to the holiday market on the Old Town Square, and even to the Charles Bridge. Be aware of the sexually-orientated shops/enterprises in the vicinity - although these never posed a problem to us. It is probably the way things are.

Unfortunately there were two small snags right at the start. The arranged transport from the station did not arrive - apparently he was waiting there but we never found him - and the room we were allocated smelled of smoke. The first problem was not really that of the Hotel and if my phone was on would probably have been dealt with quickly. The room issue was excellently and immediately dealt with. It is a smoke-free hotel after all. Another room was awarded without delay.

I found the staff helpful on all fronts - were to exchange money, what transfers should cost, good local restaurants, calling our arranged excursions to to have us picked up. Jiri was a star.

The room was quite spacious which was good as we spent almost a week. Clean, tidy and no hassles. I just find it impossible in most hotel rooms to get the temperature control to respond properly to my required settings. This room was no different but we could open the windows (in winter) so no harm done after I gave up on the control working fast enough.

Although the bathroom is spacious, I wonder at the high side-wall of the bath. Older people will probably have a little difficulty getting in/out. Also, there is no second rack or shelf for 2x toiletry bags. We moved the loose chair in there and still had enough space.

There is a laundry around the corner which we decided was a little too expensive, but it is convenient.

The buffet breakfast was local and extensive enough to enable one to find something to his or her taste. Just never saw boiled eggs, though. I could probably have asked for it.

Internet is indeed free and works. After the Mac found it there were no further problems.

What I liked best was the sufficient space to move around, with the closet in a separate area. Least liked is probably the limited shelving in the bathroom, and the modern idea of closet hanging space 90 degrees to the wall, instead of the more traditional hanging parallel to the back wall. If you don't understand now you will quickly understand when you see it. These are minor issues thought and overshadowed by the positives.

All-in-all good value for money and a nice place to stay. Will do it again.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor faced the street and sirens were often heard. The view over the rooftops compensated, though.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AskiesDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Director of Sales at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your winter city break. I am glad to read that you were satisfied with our services and amenities and I am sorry for few issues that caused you troubles - although our hotel is really non smoking, unfortunately some guests don´t respect this restriction but my colleagues from reception are always here to solve these kind of problems, thanks for your understanding!
We´ll be happy to welcome you back, on our web you can use promo code LOYALTY to get a discount for your next stay...Happy New Year to Cape Town!
Petra Sudlikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews