We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in the centre of Prague, New Town”
Review of Archibald City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Archibald City
Ranked #103 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in Archibald City Hotel for 7 days for X-mas holidays and the main advantage of this hotel is its perfect location! It’s only 5 minutes to Wenceslas Square and 10 minutes to Stare Mesto and overall not far from other sights and metro station. It will take about 10 minutes from the airport, we paid 40 euro for a taxi and arrived at the hotel at 6 in the morning, they will give you a room before check-in time if any available. You also can take a metro from the airport till National Museum station and walk about 3 minutes to the hotel, it’ll be much cheaper. Windows in some rooms do not open so you should ask about before check in. Breakfast is included but be ready for unvaried food everyday morning. Overall hotel is good and quiet without any entertainment and bar; it’s a real deal for a budget stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saltanatserikovna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Madam, We are glad, that You enjoyed Your stay in our hotel. Thank You for Your comments about the breakfest. We are currently working on jazzing up the breakfest as well as our lobby bar. In the near future, You can expect more local pastry, better-tasting coffee and a more welcoming lobby bar. Thank You again. Our team wishes You a great Year 2013. E. Aljanabi, FOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 930 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Archibald City hotel during a New Year's excursion with friends. This hotel was perfect for us, from the prime location to the spacious clean rooms to great customer service and delicious full breakfast...we couldn't have been more pleased! The only small hiccup we encountered was regulating the room temperature as it was quite warm in the room, but we opened the window for fresh air and problem solved, no big deal. Our room was very clean and the breakfast included was complete with eggs, bacon, pastries, cereals, salads, cold cuts, fruit, coffee, tea, juices, etc. There was something for everyone....perfect! We easily walked to the many beautiful sites and the tram station was a 5 minute walk for when we were too exhausted to walk anymore. Overall, a great hotel and I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travels4jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Director of Sales at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guests,
first of all I would like to wish you good luck and all the best in 2013... I am happy that you enjoyed together with your friends celebration in Prague! Thank you so much for your lovely feedback you posted regarding your stay at Archibald City hotel, it will be pleasure for me to share your compliments with my colleagues as well. Your recommendation is always the best advertisement for all of us, thanks a lot.
Best regards to North Carolina!
Petra Sudlikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights here while exploring Prague. The hotel is a block from the top part of Wenceslas Square and we walked there every day and then down to the holiday market on the Old Town Square, and even to the Charles Bridge. Be aware of the sexually-orientated shops/enterprises in the vicinity - although these never posed a problem to us. It is probably the way things are.

Unfortunately there were two small snags right at the start. The arranged transport from the station did not arrive - apparently he was waiting there but we never found him - and the room we were allocated smelled of smoke. The first problem was not really that of the Hotel and if my phone was on would probably have been dealt with quickly. The room issue was excellently and immediately dealt with. It is a smoke-free hotel after all. Another room was awarded without delay.

I found the staff helpful on all fronts - were to exchange money, what transfers should cost, good local restaurants, calling our arranged excursions to to have us picked up. Jiri was a star.

The room was quite spacious which was good as we spent almost a week. Clean, tidy and no hassles. I just find it impossible in most hotel rooms to get the temperature control to respond properly to my required settings. This room was no different but we could open the windows (in winter) so no harm done after I gave up on the control working fast enough.

Although the bathroom is spacious, I wonder at the high side-wall of the bath. Older people will probably have a little difficulty getting in/out. Also, there is no second rack or shelf for 2x toiletry bags. We moved the loose chair in there and still had enough space.

There is a laundry around the corner which we decided was a little too expensive, but it is convenient.

The buffet breakfast was local and extensive enough to enable one to find something to his or her taste. Just never saw boiled eggs, though. I could probably have asked for it.

Internet is indeed free and works. After the Mac found it there were no further problems.

What I liked best was the sufficient space to move around, with the closet in a separate area. Least liked is probably the limited shelving in the bathroom, and the modern idea of closet hanging space 90 degrees to the wall, instead of the more traditional hanging parallel to the back wall. If you don't understand now you will quickly understand when you see it. These are minor issues thought and overshadowed by the positives.

All-in-all good value for money and a nice place to stay. Will do it again.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor faced the street and sirens were often heard. The view over the rooftops...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AskiesDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Director of Sales at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your winter city break. I am glad to read that you were satisfied with our services and amenities and I am sorry for few issues that caused you troubles - although our hotel is really non smoking, unfortunately some guests don´t respect this restriction but my colleagues from reception are always here to solve these kind of problems, thanks for your understanding!
We´ll be happy to welcome you back, on our web you can use promo code LOYALTY to get a discount for your next stay...Happy New Year to Cape Town!
Petra Sudlikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 7 friends for 4 nights in September, and had a very positive experience. The price was great (less than $100 per room), and the value was excellent. The hotel is very modern, clean, and rooms are well appointed. The breakfast buffet, included in the price of the rooms, was superb, with a full array of choices to fit many cultural tastes. It was constantly replenished by the excellent restaurant personnel. As all budget-minded travellers know, hotel breakfasts in Europe are a great way to fill up before a day of sightseeing.

We booked 4 double rooms. Mine faced the inside courtyard, and was very quiet. The rooms facing the street are a bit more noisy from traffic. The hotel is just a few blocks from Wenceslas Square, and is ideally located in that it is not right on the busy and noisy square, yet very close to all the fun action of Prague. We walked everywhere, even across the river to the castle.

The multi-lingual day-time front desk staff were always friendly and accommodating. However, one of the evening front desk staff (a middle-aged gentleman) was surly with us the evening before departure, when we were attempting to pay our bill and split the cost of the rooms. He gave the impression that this job was a bit below his dignity. When I inquired as to his name upon getting the cold treatment, his attitude improved a bit.

I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaFraubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Director of Sales at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your autumn stay at Archibald City hotel. It´s really kind that you decided to share your positive impressions with others travellers on Tripadvisor, all comments are truly appreciated....I am happy that you and your friends had a pleasant few days in Prague and that you were satisfied with our hotel, location and services. I hope that we´ll get a chance to welcome you back in future.
Kind regards and Happy New Year from Prague!
Petra Sudlikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over Christmas and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is well situated, close to Wenceslas Square and just one stop on the metro to the Old Town Square. The rooms are extremely clean and has all the things required such as safe, fridge, AC, free wifi. It wasn't a problem for me, but some may find the rooms on the smaller side.

Breakfast was included, and it had both cooked breakfast and cold food options. It wasn't amazing but definitely did the job.

The service was mix and matched, depending on who was on that day. There was a young guy and also a young woman who were both very nice and helpful. However there were 2 men who were slightly older and were more wishing that I had not approached the front desk...

I would definitely stay here again though, it is very good value and a good location.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guests,
firstly I would like to Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your Christmas vacation in Prague and your kind feedback you posted here, on Tripadvisor. It´s always nice to read that our guests were satisfied with their stay with us. I really appreciate that you mentioned the cleanliness and breakfast as well. We´ll be glad to welcome you back and for future booking through our website you can use our new promo code LOYALTY to get a nice discount...
We wish you Happy New Year and all the best!
Petra Sudlikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Booked a 4 days break with easyjet including hotel. Excellent value for money .
Centrally positioned in New Town , 5 minutes walk from main square , 12 mins from old town
Central heating highly effective throughout the hotel , very welcome in December .
Rooms compact but well furnished with modern bathrooms . Excellent buffet breakfast to suit wide range of European tastes, constantly topped up by watchful staff. The only minus no toasting facilities.
No dining facilities but with 1400 listed restaurants in Prague ,its no real problem.
Would stay there again without a second thought .

Room Tip: 5th floor at the front 501. barely hear the traffic below. Nice view to ones right
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coursemarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guests,
I would like to Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. It´s a pleasure for me to read that you were satisfied with our services and location and that you enjoyed "frozen" Prague! Of course, that we´ll be glad to welcome you in future-we have a brand new promo code LOYALTY which you can use for next booking through our website and get a nice discount...
Thanks a lot and we wish you a Merry Christmas!
Petra Sudlikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

we have just returned from staying at the Archibald city hotel in Prague, we booked our 3 night stay through the easyjet holiday website. First impression was of a little soulless hotel, the room was vey clean and the room serviced every day.
We were on the 6th floor looking over the beakfast area, so no veiw to speak of.
Breakfast was the normal continental version of bacon & eggs etc. but was perfectly OK, there were plenty of cereals and bread etc and unlimited tea & coffee etc. The reception desk gentlemen were very helpful & efficient & patient, we had to have a lock tecnician called at 11.30pm on our first night because ours & the receptionists master swipe card couldn't unlock our door, but this was all done with the minimum of fuss and we didn't have to wait too long.
The hotel lobby lacked a bar only having drinks through a vending machine but there were bars & restaurants close by.
Our transfer to & from the airport was through Prague airport transfers and was very good, on our depature they even rang the hotel who passed on the message that they were running late because of heavy traffic.
As you will of read on other reviews the hotel is only 5 minutes from Wenceslas Square, after dark we found duboius types on the street corners on the square.
The old town area was much nicer although pricier, our weather was poor with overcast drizzle for our duration, the Xmas market was still being set up which was a pity to miss it. One thing that hit me was the number of tourists for late November, When the old clock in the square went through its motions there were thousands about.
We found Prague very friendly although crowded, we never felt threatened at all even late at night walking back through Wenceslas Square. We used the metro once which was very easy and a blessing because those cobbled streets certainly take their toll on your feet (Proper walking shoes/ boots reccommended) The prices were very reasonable in the bars & restaurants we tried, all the sights were easily walked / trammed or metroed from the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendanandangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petra050, Manager at Archibald City, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guests,
firstly I would like to Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review regarding your recent stay with us and I do apologize for technical problem you had...I have to agree with you that this year late November in Prague was more busy than usually and it could be an unpleasant surprise, if you are travelling in low season but I am happy, that after all aspects you were writing about, you were satisfied with your stay and you enjoyed your vacation...If you decide to visit Prague again, maybe see it in summer time:)we´ll be glad to welcome you here! Thank you.
We wish you Merry Christmas!
Petra Sudlikova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
1.Republic
1.Republic
#116 of 648 in Prague
609 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#102 of 648 in Prague
700 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#112 of 648 in Prague
753 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Sonata
EA Hotel Sonata
#304 of 648 in Prague
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald City

Address: Zhitna 1319/33, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#112 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Business Hotel in Prague
#159 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $63 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald City 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archibald City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Archibald City
Archibald City Hotel Prague
Archibald Hotel Prague
Archibald City Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing