We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COLD......NO HEATING IN THIS HOTEL”
Review of hotel Colloseum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
hotel Colloseum
Ranked #397 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Take plenty of warm clothes ,it was warmer outside in the rain and wind .Hotel reception always blamed the Manager for no heating.Breakfast was very poor,all hot food was cold and bread stale.On the up side the Restaurant next door served great meals at good prices.Hotel in good location .Room was large but beds very hard and uncomfortable and not enough covers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 193 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my partner for a 3 day break. It was our 3rd trip to Prague as we love the city so much. The Hotel isnt a 3 star it is at most a 2 star. It is a 10 min walk to the centre. The rooms are basic, dated furniture,curtains hanging off window, the shower head was broken, and there were plug sockets hanging off the wall. The bedside table lamps were a laugh. The room was so dark even during the day that you couldnt read the city maps to enable you to plan your days out. But the main thing that was wrong with the hotel was the heating - THE ROOMS WERE FREEZING - after coming back in from walking around in the damp weather you want to be able to warm up - at this hotel the only thing you can do to get warm is get into bed. Clothes didnt air or dry out so we had to go out and buy extra. I pointed this out at reception to the girl (who was wearing a thick jumper and a artic conditioned body warmer) but all she could offer us was an extra duvet!!!!. ( though she did look really apologetic )

Breakfast was on par with what we have previously had - typical continental - and was adequate.

The Royal Cafe bar next door was welcoming and WARM and the Chinese restaurant over the road served fab food for thoese who are too exhausted to go to far to eat.

If anyone is going to Prague and would like to contact me then i can send them names of hotels that i noted down that are in ideal locations. I would not go back to this Hotel again - I can put up with basic and clean but i cant put up with freezing conditions

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank bevie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

GOOD LOCATION BUT NOT GOOD HOTEL.
The staff was friendly and tried to solve every problems. We spent 4 nights at the hotel, and some stuff happend: we spent 2 days without hot water, there was no room cleaning (they only made the bed in the 2nd day, and did't vacuum nor changed the towels), the room was not warmth enough and there was not enough blankets. We had to ask for bath towels 'cause the room only had flannels. The breakfast was ok if you woke up at 8 a.m 'cause there was not enough food for everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjorgyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

first of all, i'll say that we have chosen this hotel based on the good location, things offered and low cost. we weren't disappointed.
the location was great, within walking distance of the main areas, and many street rails pass near by. the room was big enough, with a TV (the only english speaking channel was CNN), a closet, and the regular stuff, no mini-bar and no WI-FI (it did not work when we were there), still, there is WI-FI downstairs and a computer. hot water all the time.
the service was kind and the breakfast offered everything we needed.
there are 2 nice pubs located a few doors from the hotel.
also the hotel has a restaurant which is inexpensive and we enjoyed the food very much.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beer4lior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Good central location close to the Old Square.
Basic but clean.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmer808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

The location of the hotel was excellent being within easy walking distance of Charles Bridge, Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square and many other central sights. The rooms are very good for the price and location. Though basic, they are clean, tidy and comfortable. The same applies to the whole of the hotel. The service from the front desk was also excellent with no question too difficult and offers for assistance always forthcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

This was a great little Hotel. Staff at front desk was very helpful, and very beautiful. Only short walk to Charles Bridge, train station, local restaurants, bars, even a little ceasars. Beds are a little small, but close to average for europe, but was still comfortable enough to get a good night sleep in. Bathroom was decent, except the towels where a little scratchy. Past reviews said bring your own and should have listen. Breakfast is really good and simple. Poached eggs, toast, jelly, cheese, orange drink, just the right amount of a hearty breakfast before walking around the city. Which food is pretty expensive, more than rest of europe. Deff will stay here again, esp at such a great deal.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiestoFan242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Theatre Residence Apartments
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#186 of 646 in Prague
1,373 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#121 of 646 in Prague
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#73 of 646 in Prague
2,489 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#102 of 646 in Prague
979 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#218 of 646 in Prague
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotel Colloseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel Colloseum

Address: Myslikova 282/26, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $35 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — hotel Colloseum 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your hotel Colloseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colloseum-Cerny Konicek Hotel Prague
Colloseum Cerny Konicek Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing