We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, service and value of money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of hotel Colloseum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
hotel Colloseum
Ranked #482 of 670 Hotels in Prague
scoobs11
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, service and value of money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

The location of the hotel was excellent being within easy walking distance of Charles Bridge, Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square and many other central sights. The rooms are very good for the price and location. Though basic, they are clean, tidy and comfortable. The same applies to the whole of the hotel. The service from the front desk was also excellent with no question too difficult and offers for assistance always forthcoming.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    50
    31
    36
See reviews for
8
78
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

This was a great little Hotel. Staff at front desk was very helpful, and very beautiful. Only short walk to Charles Bridge, train station, local restaurants, bars, even a little ceasars. Beds are a little small, but close to average for europe, but was still comfortable enough to get a good night sleep in. Bathroom was decent, except the towels where a little scratchy. Past reviews said bring your own and should have listen. Breakfast is really good and simple. Poached eggs, toast, jelly, cheese, orange drink, just the right amount of a hearty breakfast before walking around the city. Which food is pretty expensive, more than rest of europe. Deff will stay here again, esp at such a great deal.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiestoFan242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

Great little budget hotel. Wonderful location as the sights are in walking distance. Really helpful staff, breakfast was o.k (apart from the horrible orange drink they have) room was decent size, although noise travelled from walls and beds were not comfy at all, but overall I got what I paid for and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daymo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
158 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

The things I liked about this hotel were quite numerous: the service was very accomodating, the breakfast was good, the location was convenient, the price was very competitive, the room spacious (for the price bracket). Unfortunately all these positives were let down by the most uncomfortabley hard beds I have ever encountered. We noticed all the furnishings still had Ikea tags on them, which isn't necessarily a negative (many of our home furnishings have the same tags...) but we definitely got the impression they got the cheapest they could find and as a result we didn't have a good night's sleep in any of the nights we spent at the hotel. It was like sleeping on a plank of wood. If you don't mind that, I'd heartily recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dlanods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2008

We have just return from Prague. We stayed in U Cerneho Konicka for 3 nights.
Pros:
1.Good location: We didn't need to use the public transportation. But if you want to use it, it is easy to reach tram/metro stations.
2.Clean rooms.
3.Friendly stuff. They are helpful and make you feel safe.

Cons:
1.Uncomfortable beds and pillows.
2.The breakfast was not ok for me but it depends on a person of course.
3. We had a problem about hot water. After you use it for a shower, you have to wait for it to be heated for more than 1 hour.
Overall, If I go to Prague again, I would stay in the same hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — uncomfortable beds and pillows
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

Just returned from u cerneo Konicka Hotel we stayed for 3 days. Overall it is a very basic hotel but it is clean. The location of this hotel is ideal we never had to use public transport or taxis. My only negative comment i will say is the noise which comes from the street and i am a deep sleeper and the noise still woke me up at least twice a night. If you can i would suggest you ask for a room at the back not the front. Another tip is take your own towel they are quite small and a bit rough.

I did get up for breakfast which is a buffet service the coffee was lovely and i just had toast so overall it was nice. U Cerneo Konicka Hotel is ideal and very reasonably priced for the location walking distance to Charles Bridge which is really nice but extremely busy. I would recomend this Hotel if you plan on staying out most of the day but like everything you get what you pay for. Only thing i hated was the noise but i cant blame the Hotel for that.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank coletteMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2008

With the exchange rate making our normal hotel £111 (double) per night ! it was time to look for an alternate place to stay.

After reading the reviews here, decided to give this hotel a go at £63 (double) per night.

The reviews below have already captured the hotel accurately and we therefore had exactly what we expected. Clean, basic, good location which was easy to get to.

This is a budget hotel so go expecting that and you will be fine. Our room was large, light and airy. The furniture flat pack, but, enough of it to store your clothes.

True, noise from outside does come into your room and I did get woken maybe twice a night, but, still had enough sleep. No danger of sleeping in and missing breakfast also.

Shower was fine, lots of hot water and reasonable water pressure. basic Towels, soap and shampoo also supplied.

TV but no kettle or hair dryer in the room.

Safe at reception to store your passport etc if you want to. We did without any problems. You can also leave your luggage in reception after the 1030 checkout so you can go out before you have to return to the airport.

Breakfast was typical Czech, apart from the fact this hotel does not have a choice of hot sausages and it's orange drink really is fowl ! It is basically the same to our previous £111 a night hotel. Bonus for me here is that there is a help yourself coffee machine with a choice of 5 different coffee drinks. Even if you skip the breakfast the money you save is more than enough to eat out and have beer !

Getting here from the airport is just so easy by Czech's very impressive public transport. Sure puts ours to shame. Just before you leave the arrivals hall, to the right of exit door E, 4th stall in is "Transport Information, Metro - Tram - Bus" ask for a transfer ticket per person (26CZK each), then out through exit E straight across the road to bus stop for 100 route which is easy to spot. Within minutes the 100 turns up, as you get on, stick your ticket into a yellow machine to stamp it, stay on to the end of the route ( announced in English also), off the bus to the left and follow the people straight for 20 yards, then on the right is the Metro station on line B. Your ticket is valid for the Metro also, so straight down onto the platform. The line terminates here at Zlicin so easy to spot the end of the line train where people empty from the train (on the left platform) and the platform on the right towards the centre where people wait/board.

Map on the train walls and the digital sign in the carriage announcing the next stop makes it easy to see where you are and when to get off at Karlovo Namesti.

Get off the train and go for the exit towards the front of the train and not the one towards the back of the train. Exit "Resslova" out onto Vysehradska street, turn left, straight on past Obboru, turn left into Myslikova and the hotel is 200 yards on the left.

From getting onto the bus to hotel was 45 minutes.

The hotel reception can sell you another transfer ticket when you have to return to the airport.

  • Liked — Value for money in a reasonable standard of accommodation
  • Disliked — Bedroom walls do not appear to keep much noise out
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Atlante Residence - Ai Quattro Angeli
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Koruna
Koruna
#577 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Center Hostel
Prague Center Hostel
#403 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel PurPur
Hotel PurPur
#332 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Andante Hotel
Andante Hotel
#285 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Praha 2
Legie
Legie
#400 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotel Colloseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel Colloseum

Property: hotel Colloseum
Address: Myslikova 282/26, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — hotel Colloseum 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your hotel Colloseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colloseum-Cerny Konicek Hotel Prague
Colloseum Cerny Konicek Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing