We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seedy.. but friendly staff”
Review of hotel Colloseum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
hotel Colloseum
Ranked #430 of 649 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seedy.. but friendly staff”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel some time ago as a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday - he was staying in Prague for a few months and I thought I'd pop over and treat him. Unfortunately I think we would have been more comfortable in the apartment he was situated in - the room didn't seem ready for us; it was dirty, there were sheets missing and it generally all felt rather grotty. However, the staff were nice and the breakfast was alright. Seemed a lot more like a slightly dodgy yet nice ish B&B overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    45
    52
    31
    36
See reviews for
9
83
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Location is great! Staff - not quite friendly, and very bad English speaking! Breakfast was - mmm, there was nothing more than something that looked like ham and cheese. Room was clean, however, and was not facing the main street, so it was quiet!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms, not facing the main street! Also, if you are travelling with car, don`t park it at pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desislava G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel werent too bad but the bar/restaurant underneath really spoilt it for us. We went into the bar and 6 of us ordered a pint.we were gonna pay at the end. 2 mates entered and paid straight away. Then another 2 mates entered and called for us to leave to go somewhere a bit more lively.so we went to pay for the 6 pints and the barman said thats x amount. I thought thats a lot. And he said 10 pints . I said no 8 pints and 2 have already paid. So an arguement broke out over the bill and so he pulled a knife out on us. Hes lucky we paid and left and a lot of us are either in the police or the army. Avoid.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddog090613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel was all, stagnant and run down. Toilets smelt something awful. The rooms were poorly ventilated and in 35+ degress opening the window was a must. Unfortunately I was in a room facing the road and as a result no sleep!

This was all acceptable given the price however the rip off taxi service is what really got me! The one provided by the hotel was exorbitant and the driver was nuts. It wasn't even a taxi, just some guy with a mini van. Call AAA radiotaxi. As a English speaking tourist they were very helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magicbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Colloseum is such a deal! About ten dollars a night cheaper than a comparable place and much more fun. Ask Zak at the front desk to give you Room 26 (on second floor, up 2 flights, but quieter there. Very quiet, opens into a courtyard, with a private porch with 2 chairs where you can get wifi and stay cool in summer. Street side rooms can be really noisy. Breakfasts are v. fine (can't believe those who complain breakfast in Prague is just too too Czech for them; why didn't they stay in Pittsburgh? And guy says TV screen is too small? Come on, we never turned it on; too much to do. Walk to Vysehrad Castle, the riverside farmer's market on Saturday, etc. It's far from the expensive Old Town area. Take cheap streetcars there, eat, drink and flee from the crowds of screaming college students.

Room Tip: Stay away from street rooms. Take a street car, easy walk here. Across street and down the block is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElnorteTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Breakfast – very poor (e.g. something what looks like ham and salami, but I am not sure...)

Bathroom – mildew in shower and disgusting shower curtains

And the „BEST“ – when we come there, water was not working, we had to ask desk clerk. The worst was when we came back to the hotel from the concert in Lucerna where we got absolutely perspiring (at about 23,30) and water was not working again! We couldnt only wash our hands and faces!!! We cleaned teeth with our mineral water! And the desk clerk just told me that the first and second floor had water, but the third no!!!! So, finally we had shower another morning at 8AM when I of course once again, again, and again...., asked why we still dont have a water!!! I have forgotten to mention that these days was in Prague about 37 °C.

NEVER EVER!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinusska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The washroom is badly designed and built: insufficient lighting for shaving; no hot-water (warm only); slow shower; not even a plunge for the sink.
The TV set is a 16/17 inches LCD, barely larger than my notebook computer. And only local channel is available.
One of the sockets was broken, with cable exposed. It was still not fixed for 3 days before I left.
Wifi is accessable in the room, but signal is weak.

Helpful?
Thank ngwkd2008
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merlin
Hotel Merlin
#487 of 649 in Prague
155 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Atlante Residence - Ai Quattro Angeli
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#126 of 649 in Prague
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Downtown
EA Hotel Downtown
#302 of 649 in Prague
296 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague Center Hostel
Prague Center Hostel
#425 of 649 in Prague
78 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Andante Hotel
Andante Hotel
#298 of 649 in Prague
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotel Colloseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel Colloseum

Property: hotel Colloseum
Address: Myslikova 282/26, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — hotel Colloseum 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your hotel Colloseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colloseum-Cerny Konicek Hotel Prague
Colloseum Cerny Konicek Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing