We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location ”
Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Praha
Ranked #144 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location ”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and it is in a fantastic location. Walking distance from all the main sights.
The hotel itself is well presented inside with friendly staff and clean rooms.
The breakfast buffet is varied so most people will find something they like.
There are several restaurants close by too.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    239
    68
    27
    24
See reviews for
157
437
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

When me and my husband decided to go to Prague on a short getaway, we found Grand Hotel Praha through Trip Advisor and decided on it based on the historical feel of the pictures. We were not disappointed.

Our first surprise came at check-in. We had booked a budget room, since we thought they looked plenty o' nice enough, but they had put us in the historical part of the hotel, in a spacious room with antique-looking furniture and a splendid view of the astronomical clock. (As a costume-crazy re-enactor, I immediately regretted not bringing my 19th century costumes along.) The double bed was both comfortable and beautiful, but a little bit squeaky. We had wardrobes aplenty, a golden chandelier above us and the beautiful green bathroom had both a shower AND a bath.

I would say the only thing lacking in the room was electrical outlets. We found two in the entire room, and none of them were close to the (beautiful Victorian) desk, which meant that we couldn't use the laptop on the desk for more than an hour or two at the time. The room also didn't have a coffee/tea machine, which is standard in most 4-star hotels, but since we already knew through a Trip Advisor review that there wouldn't be any and why (fire hazard, old building) that didn't feel like a let-down. Old Town Square is noisy at night, though, so if you're a light sleeper or easily annoyed by sound, you should ask to get a room in the back of the hotel. We weren't disturbed by it, and a little noise is only to be expected when you live in a busy area.

As a smoker, I had hard time finding a place to feed my habit. The only place were smoking was allowed was inside the restaurants (which felt weird since smoking is strictly prohibited in restaurants in Sweden) which led to me standing sheepishly outside the main doors whenever I needed to light up. Since the hotel doesn't have a garden, I realize this might be a tough one to solve, but maybe it would be possible to put a chair or two outside for the hotel guests?

The breakfast buffet was ok, not the best I've had, but certainly not the worst. There was a good cold selection (with PASTRIES!), but the warm selection was small and fairly boring, some sad bacon, sausages and fried eggs. There were omelettes to order, though. The breakfast room was beautiful, inside the Café Mozart, and the staff really nice and friendly.

So, pros and cons.

Pros: Beautiful old building, luxurious rooms, nice and helpful staff, walk out the door and you're at Old Town Square.

Cons: Few electrical outlets, no on-site-smoking area, noise from the Old Town Square at night.

All in all, we were very happy with our stay at the Grand Hotel Praha, and would certainly come back if we return to Prague.

Room Tip: We lived in room 101, second floor in the historical building. If you have a problem with stairs, ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apollonie_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

thank oyu for your respond to our accommodation it was a really great one, and you already knew by Tripadvisor, about almost everything, so that was a big help to :) I am very glad to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your ideas on how to make our hotel even better!


Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, just returning home this week. The hotel is as good as advertised and the location can't be beat. What puts the Grand Praha in a class by itself is the outstanding service by the hotel staff. It was easily the best service of any hotel we stayed in in Europe. Our reservation came with breakfast which was a full buffet with a varied selection. It was exciting to see all the activity and energy that is generated at the clock and in the old town square. We would definitely go back to the Grand Praha.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new section are accessible by lift, but are not in the old section. The walk to the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotaX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation it was a really great one.
I am very glad to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and services!!!


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband reserved our room overlooking the astronomical clock here in Prague as a surprise to me for my birthday, which we were celebrating on this trip. From beginning to end, this hotel has been lovely. The location is ideal, our room (#210) is large and comfortable, and the stay has been nearly flawless. I don't know what they have in their bathroom filtration system, but it constantly smells of peaches -- very nice! The breakfast is quite good with a range of selections and the staff has been great. Probably the only slight complaint we have is that the shower is of the hand-held variety, and the hook to hold it didn't work properly, so showering was a bit of a pain because of that. Otherwise, would highly recommend this hotel and this room. Visitors do need to be aware that if they are in a room overlooking the clock tower, the crowds and the noise can get to be a nuisance. But I am a people watcher and loved seeing the congregation of visitors from all over the world to wait for the hourly striking. A beautiful experience!!

Room Tip: See my comments about room #210 and noise levels for the clock viewing. I loved it, but others may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am very glad to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our services provided by our reception staff and porter!!!


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in May if you want to be right where it all happens you must stay here it is the best location you could be in, we had a room overlooking the astonomical clock, room was a good size, bed hard, bathroom clean but out of the 11 countries on this trip it is without doubt the worst shower we have ever had the shower head is a hand held only and the holder is half way up the shower wall so if you want to put it on the wall to use your hands to wash yourself then you will have to bend your knees to be able to get under the hand held shower head, bizzare, never seen anything like it before. Breakfast was not good with very little choice but 4 star its probably expected. Room furniture is old but in good condition we would stay here again because of the location, the astronomical clock show stops at 10 pm each night and after that is chimes every so often, Im a very very very light sleeper and in 3 nights I only heard the clock twice at night.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerriejh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am very glad to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to apologize about the shower! We will try to make this better!!!


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We just returned from our trip to Europe which included a three-night stay at the Grand Hotel Praha. We had a superior second-floor room which gave us a perfect view of the Astronomical Clock. Because of the number of people who come to take photos of the clock, I was concerned about noise in our room; however, the room had double windows, so noise was not a problem. Our superior room had a bathroom with a sink and bathtub and the second bathroom had a shower and toilet. This was quite convenient as our daughter was traveling with us. Beds were extremely comfortable. Housekeeping was excellent and breakfast is served in an attractive dining area: cooked eggs, hams, cheeses, yoghurts, granolas of various types, juices, coffees, teas etc.
As mentioned in a previous review, since the hotel is set back in the main plaza, taxis cannot arrive at the front door of the hotel and it is necessary to roll baggage about 100 ft. However, the hotel offers an airport pick-up service for $30 Euros which would solve the problem. On the day of our check-out, the hotel took our luggage to the taxi area.
In all, we had a pleasant stay at the Grand Hotel Praha and I would recommend this hotel which is quaint and furnished with antique furniture.

Room Tip: The Grand Deluxe room was an excellent choice since we were travelilng with our adult daughter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dotti05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am glad, that over all you have enjoyed your stay with us! However, I would like to apologize about the shower, we are currently working on imrpoving that! I am aslo sorry to read, that you have not enjoyed our breakfast offer, we will try to improve here as well.


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

You cannot find a better situated hotel in Prague. Right in the heart of the old town. We chose the historical rooms which were wonderful! We were a party of six and as I had booked the trip was upgraded to a room overlooking the astronomical clock which was lovely. The other historical rooms were large and our party were delighted with them. Just a point, there is no lift (which is clearly stated) and there are a lot of steps to some of the rooms. It wasn't an issue for us but could be for some people. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only negative comment is that the breakfast didn't match the quality of the hotel. It was fine but just a slight disappointment.
I would certainly recommend The Grand Hotel Praha and Prague. Both are a must see!!

Room Tip: Historical rooms a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HingeBallochScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am glad, that over all you have enjoyed your stay with us! However, I am sorry to read, that you have not enjoyed our breakfast offer, we will try to improve here as well.


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#82 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#37 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#98 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#120 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#52 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Praha

Property: Grand Hotel Praha
Address: Staromestske Namesti 481/22 | Prague 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#135 Family Hotel in Prague
#161 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone.Guests of the Grand hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing