We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Praha
Ranked #120 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Balloch Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

You cannot find a better situated hotel in Prague. Right in the heart of the old town. We chose the historical rooms which were wonderful! We were a party of six and as I had booked the trip was upgraded to a room overlooking the astronomical clock which was lovely. The other historical rooms were large and our party were delighted with them. Just a point, there is no lift (which is clearly stated) and there are a lot of steps to some of the rooms. It wasn't an issue for us but could be for some people. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only negative comment is that the breakfast didn't match the quality of the hotel. It was fine but just a slight disappointment.
I would certainly recommend The Grand Hotel Praha and Prague. Both are a must see!!

Room Tip: Historical rooms a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HingeBallochScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am glad, that over all you have enjoyed your stay with us! However, I am sorry to read, that you have not enjoyed our breakfast offer, we will try to improve here as well.


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    237
    67
    25
    23
See reviews for
155
430
34
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Have just returned from a stay at the Grand Hotel Praha. The hotel's location cannot be beaten right opposite the astronomical clock ...the hotel staff are all friendly and very helpful. As we were arriving late at night I asked the hotel to organise our transfer from the airport .. it was worth the slightly extra money as the Porter meets you from the taxi and takes you to the hotel (the Old Town Square is pedestrian only) - they add the cost onto your bill so no worries if you haven't any Cz crowns. Breakfast was delicious (and even included some of their delicious cake shop pastries). The only downside was we has a Superior Room - there was a window but nothing you could see! This made the room dark and you could not see what the weather was like before venturing out. If you are staying here I would not recommend these rooms splash out on the others otherwise you may well be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

thank you for your respond to our accommodation!
I am glad, that over all you have enjoyed your stay with us and our services!
Yes, I agree, that it is definitely better to upgrade your room to higher option if possible!!! :)


We are already looking forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!!!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The setting of this hotel in the old Town Square could not be more convenient. The hotel itself is charming with friendly, inviting and helpful staff. The breakfast was good each morning and never too crowded. I will definitely stay here again when I am back in Prague.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the astronomical clock would be quiter but not offer the same views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The wife and I visited Prague after staying with family in Brno to celebrate our Wedding Anivesrsary. We chose the Grand because of its position right in the centre and for previous reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is situated opposite one of the main attractions in Prague, The Astronomical clock. Both our room and breakfast room overlooks the Old Town Square, and the you can watch the clock chime on the hour as you enjoy a sumptuous breakfast. Rooms are spacious, and very comfortable. All the hotel staff are very friendly, very helpful and efficient. We had a fantastic stay and will return again!!

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the hotel give a wonderful view of the Astronomical Clock :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WookiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed in the attic suite for three days this May and absolutely LOVED it! It was well worth the extra expense -- and it really didn't even cost that much more than a nice hotel room. The two-story apartment was amazing, and there was even room for evening social hours with all nine of those in our family. The view out the windows of the lower floor room of the apartment look directly on to the astronomical clock! Seriously, I don't think there's a more memorable hotel room in Prague!

The staff was also incredible -- helpful (oh, so helpful when five adult kids who had been booked into a nearby hostel decided hosteling was not for them... GHP came up with two fabulous room for them -- at quite a good price -- and saved our vacation!), friendly, and efficient.

If you're wondering if you should splurge on the attic suite and are waffling (as we were), I can only say DO IT! You will NOT regret it! There are plenty of expenses from our vacation that I regret (who really needs a Eurail pass and train reservations?), but going for the attic suite is SO NOT one of them!

Room Tip: Go for the attic suite! If you don't mind giving up the view, room 2015 is also nice. Our two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

The room is much smaller than expected. There is a small entry area that would be better used if they took the wall down and made the room bigger. As noted in another review, the shower is not for tall people. Or average sized people. Or even kind of short people. The hotel is clean, but my room smells a little like cat pee. The artwork is not very appealing, and the furniture and styling is not very well thought out. The courtyard view is not a selling point, but nice try in the attempt, I guess. I get the feeling that other rooms here are fabulous, but the one I'm in, not so much. I booked for 8 days, but it is highly likely I will leave for another hotel. It's not terrible, but *really* not worth the price I paid.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murph_fmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your respond to our accommodation.
I am awfully sorry to read, that you were not satisfied with our accommodation.
I would most deffinitely recommend to always try to upgrade to higher category roms, with views of the Old Town Square.

Ones again I am very sorry about your dissatiffaction!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is situated opposite one of the main attractions in Prague, The Astronomical clock. The breakfast room overlooks the Old Town Square, and the you can watch the clock chime on the hour as you enjoy a sumptuous breakfast. Rooms are spacious, and very comfortable. All the hotel staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. Best place to stay in Prague

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillowbridgeHussar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#90 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#83 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#127 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#51 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Praha

Property: Grand Hotel Praha
Address: Staromestske Namesti 481/22 | Prague 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#104 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#135 Family Hotel in Prague
#161 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone.Guests of the Grand hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing