We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Praha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Praha
Ranked #121 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is situated opposite one of the main attractions in Prague, The Astronomical clock. The breakfast room overlooks the Old Town Square, and the you can watch the clock chime on the hour as you enjoy a sumptuous breakfast. Rooms are spacious, and very comfortable. All the hotel staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. Best place to stay in Prague

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillowbridgeHussar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    236
    67
    25
    23
See reviews for
155
429
34
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I booked(and paid for) a double room for one person. When I arrived at the hotel I was informed that I could not have a double room because I was the only person to occupy the room. The single room was tiny and its furniture dusty and in poor condition. Solo travelers be warned!!

The shower was definitely not set up for anyone over five feet tall.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else! There are plenty of hotels in the Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kitrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your respond to our accommodation.
I am awfully sorry to read, that you were not satisfied with our accommodation.
On our defence, I would just like to sugguest, that room, that you were accommodated at, is suited for one person, it is a single room, with sigle bed, so this was the best suited room for you as a single person staing with us. Also, the very next day, you were offerd by your travel agent Booking.com, to swap your room, to Double room Superior with king size bed.and We have also offered to you an upgrade to higher category room.

Ones again I am very sorry about your dissatiffaction!
Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Grand Hotel Praha is located directly on the main square across from the famous Prague astronomical clock. During breakfast (which was a good breakfast buffet) you can look out directly on the clock. The rooms at the Grand Hotel are probably the largest standard hotel room I have ever had in Europe. They are even big compared to American rooms. Our room had older furnishings keeping in line with the history of the hotel. Very comfortable bed, big bathroom, Beautiful painted wood ceiling with ceiling height at least 12 feet.

Hotel has courteous staff. Only surprise was they did not have any concierge service and we had to secure our own train tickets back to Vienna. We usually use a concierge for that; although the desk staff did secure hop-on-hop tour bus off tickets for us.

This is a historic hotel and with that distinction comes some peculiarities. Our rooms were in the back of the hotel (quieter and away from the square) and there is a labyrinth of hallways and stairwells (no elevator) to navigate to get to the room. It was fine for us (our knees are still in good working order), but some people may want to make specific room requests that limit the steps and walking.

If we return to Praha, I would still likely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear David,

thank you for your respond to our accomodation.
I am glad, that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I would just like to explain, that our hotel is to small to have concierge service, however, our reception stuff in in hand 24/7 to assist you with anything.

Your sincerely,
Lenka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is one of the best stays in a hotel that I have had.
Friendly staff, magnificent view from the room (room 213)
The room looked out on the Astronomical clock and the Old town square
Great breakfast with a similar view to our room

Room Tip: book deluxe room with a view of the square we looked out at the astronomical clock. but had a seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ControlledMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your lovely respond to our accommodation and I am very glad to read, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we all hope, that you will visit us again in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Lenka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Delighted we chose the Grand Hotel Praha, right opposite the famous Astronomical Clock. Open the curtains (and windows, weather permitting), and you're right in the center of all the action. Close the curtains (and windows) and you have privacy and quiet.
The room was very comfortable (Rm #213). The staff extremely polite, friendly and helpful.
I found the mattress a bit on the hard side, i.e. harder than I'm used to. But the bed is wide, the bedclothes good quality, so I slept well.
There's a good size wardrobe in the hall, and the bathroom was clean and nice. Plenty of hot water, good pressure. Complimentary toiletries aesthetic, quality not top-notch but satisfactory (with a fresh scent). Only problem was, the towel rack is for very tall people :-)
Breakfast at the Mozart Cafe/Restaurant was fine, with something for everyone. Sorry I didn't get a chance to taste all the cakes :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina_RD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your review and i am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and next time you can taste the rest of our cakes :)

Your sincerely,
Lenka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

even if the rooms were shabby (and they are in no way shabby), and personnel rough and unmannered (and they are quite friendly and efficient) the position alone of the hotel would deserve consideration. The hotel is old style, full of charm, but services are quite up-to-date, and anything works as has to. But I want to be very fair, so a bad note : the coffee at breakfast in really poor. But the breakfast itself is absolutely reasonable, no problems at all. As I said, with this hotel you are in the middle of the scene, near everything. Having walked all the old town and so seen all other hotels there, if I were to come again in Prague, I would reserve Grand Hotel without looking for any other.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mario p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Mario,

thank you for your review and i am glad that you have over all enjoyed your stay with.
I will talk to the coffee maker at our cafe to improve!:)


And we will all look forward to have you stay with us again, hopefully in the near future!
Your sincerely,
Lenka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We chose the Grand Hotel Praha because of its location and you won't be disappointed. It is opposite the astromical clock right in the Old Town Square. The rooms are clean and reasonably large but ours (215) had no space around the bed. More than made up for by the stunning view of the square.

Breakfast is included and alright but not memorable. The staff are excellent and extremely helpful, booking jazz clubs and directing us to good value money changing.

I would throughly recommend this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KahuPrague, Manager at Grand Hotel Praha, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

thak you for your rspond to our accommodation and I am very happy to read, that over all you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to have you stay with us again in the near future!

Your sincerely,
Lenka Kotalikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#90 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#81 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#131 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Kings Court
Hotel Kings Court
#53 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Praha

Property: Grand Hotel Praha
Address: Staromestske Namesti 481/22 | Prague 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#105 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#135 Family Hotel in Prague
#161 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand hotel Praha has a unique location in the centre of the Old Town of Prague. The hotel is right in the Old Town Square and within walking distance from the main historical sites, theaters, art galleries and the city centre shopping zone.Guests of the Grand hotel Praha can enjoy its magical views of the Old Town Astronomical Clock in the Old Town Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing