We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Angelis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Angelis
Ranked #98 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was a very nice hotel. The room was spacious and a good value for what I paid. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered had a great variety of items and I left satisfied and full. When we return to Prague for a longer visit, we will stay here again. Consider using the airport pick up service offered by the hotel if you are not familiar with Prague. It was nice after a long day of traveling to not have to worry about getting a cab. It may be a little pricey, but when we arrived at 9pm, it was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gr8tadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    194
    34
    4
    6
See reviews for
69
189
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I visited Prague when the weather was at its worst and the river Vltava was flooding!! When we arrived the room was ready and we went straight up. It was clean, tea & coffee making facilities but no milk! Beds were comfy but only 1 pillow each and 2 singles pushed together to make a double! There was a mini bar and a safe, and the shower was really powerful.
For breakfast there was a choice of fruit, awful tasting cornflakes but lovely museli, cheese, ham, sausages and eggs, rolls and pastries and toast, apple and orange juice and tea and coffee.
Wifi was only available in reception and there was one computer for visitors to use, which we did frequently!
My only complaint was staff and other guests smoking on the balconies, not nice for us non smokers and meant we had to keep our windows closed in our room.
Smoking is permitted everywhere and i hated this. I really didn't enjoy being out for a meal and being told there weren't any no smoking areas!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Rather than repeating what other reviewers have already said (read the other reviews :-), here's some advice on getting here by train, since this can be a bit confusing for first-time travellers. If you're arriving at the central station (Praha hlavni nadrazi, usually written Praha hl.n.) you need to take either two or three metros to get to the Angelis. In short, you're aiming for Metro B, problem is that the station is serviced only by Metro C, which you need to use to get to B.
The first thing you'll notice is that the ticket machines only take Czech koruna (CZK) coins, but the ATMs only dispense CZK notes. An aside here, avoid any money-changers and go straight to an ATM, most if not all of the money-changers are going to rip you off in some way, e.g. by only advertising a rate for selling CZK's when in fact you're buying CZK's (they may list it as the buy rate to confuse you), or by advertising a good rate which turns out to have a minimum transaction amount of EUR 1000, or something similar, as you walk through the old city it's fun to play spot-the-scam, assume that any offer of exchange is a scam of some kind and then try and figure out which one it is). Anyway, to get around the problem of having only CZK notes, find a convenience store in the station that sells tickets and buy one from there, the CZK 24 30-minute ticket will be fine unless you're really slow, in which case play it safe with the CZK 32 90-minute ticket.
Now you need to get to Metro B. Head down to the Metro station (Metro C) and grab a train going in either direction, if it's south (destination Haje) then get off after one stop at Muzeum. From there switch to Metro A, destination Dejricka, and get off after one stop at Mustek. If the Metro C you get is going north (destination Letnany) then again get off after one stop at Florenc.
At this point you're at a station, either Florenc or Mustek, where you can transfer to Metro B. Get on the Metro B heading south (Zlicin) and go three stops (from Mustek) or 5 stops (from Florenc) to Andel. Andel is about two blocks from the hotel, so you're almost there.
For the final leg, print out a map page from Google maps, since this will help you if you exit the metro at the wrong location. In short, exit the Metro onto Nadrazni (big street, lots of traffic and shops) and head right down it, the first street on your left is Vltavska, the second is Pivovarska where the hotel is. There's a big brewery right next to the hotel between Vltavska and Pivovarska, you can use that for orientation.
In case this sounds complex, here's the telegram-style version: Get money via an ATM, buy a CZK 24 ticket at a convenience store at the station, Metro C destination Letnany one stop to Florenc, Metro B destination Zlicin five stops to Andel, exit, head right down Nadrazni, Pivorvarska is the second street on the left, but print a map from Google for the streets around the hotel in case you take a wrong turn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tuturiwhata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent a weekend in Prague and were very satisfied with our choice of the hotel. Our room faced the patio, so it was fully quiet. We parked the car in a guarded parking lot nearby, although it was possible to park just in the front of the hotel. The room as well as all premises were perfectly clean and cozy, the staff very friendly and helpful. The Prague centre can be reached in a few minutes by public transport means - tram or metro, the stops being just around the corner. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant or bar, but there are a number of pubs and restaurants in the proximity, among others a large one placed directly in the building of the huge Staropramen brewery in the neighborhood. The breakfast was fine and even the late comers had no reason to complain of lack of food. We shall gladly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the yard and with own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A perfectly decent hotel and I am almost inclined to give it a higher grade. The staff was very helpful and spoke great English. It was ok all in all, the rooms, especially the bathrooms, were clean.

The downside was the location, a 20-25 minute walk from the city centre. Also the breakfast was not of a very high standard and internet was only available in the main areas of the hotel or by cable, which you could borrow, in your room.

In conclusion, it was worth the price and the service was good, but the location and breakfast wasn't.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gurra_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anmaboo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

First impressions of the hotel were great. Very easy to find, left out if andel tube station and five minutes walk! The receptionist was polite and friendly on arrival and all were throughout our stay. The room was spacious and we both commented on how clean it was. Only small complaint was we booked a double room and were provided (not uncommonly) with two singles pushed together with seperate duvets! Breakfast was as expected and previously described, the earlier you get down the better the variety and freshness. The hotel is located
out of the main areas just as we wanted but with great transport acess to all he tourist spots, trams depart from the end if the road, no. 20 or 12 will take you straight down to the charles bridge and many restaurants ect along the way. Overall great value.

Helpful?
1 Thank anmaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

On my 8th visit to Prague I stayed at Angelis. Smichov (Praha 5) is in my opinion the Islington of the city. It's a town within a city - all your requirements are on your doorstep but you're only a couple of metro (Andel) stops to Wenceslas Square. There is also a bus station (5 minute walk) and tram lines (100m) away from the hotel.

Beautiful old building with very friendly & helpful staff in an excellent location. Clean, airy, free room safe and there's also a mini-bar. Shower was powerful and room cleaned every day.

As I said before, bars, places to eat, clubs and supermarkets etc are all nearby so a late night drink or a cheaper less bustling meal (away from the centre) is available to you.

I CAN'T comment on the food (breakfast) as I didn't get up in time.......... But other people in my party said it was good, with a wide choice. The only reason I am giving it a 4/5 is although there IS free wi-fi, it's only in reception. Though I understand they do supply DSL cables for the rooms which is a compromise if you have a lap-top.

Recommended - great location, top stay, nice people! And Prague - as always - wonderful. I'll be going back to Angelis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank r0ckst4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#149 of 649 in Prague
510 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#75 of 649 in Prague
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#70 of 649 in Prague
1,117 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
813 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#107 of 649 in Prague
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angelis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelis

Property: Angelis
Address: Pivovarska 597/5 | Smíchov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#195 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Angelis 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Angelis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angelis Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing