We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“closed twice this year for maintenance”
Review of Funicular Railway

Funicular Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.86*
and up
Prague Welcome Card
Ranked #117 of 960 things to do in Prague
Attraction details
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“closed twice this year for maintenance”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the Roma hotel which is opposite the railway but is closed for repairs on the following times Spring: from 11 March until 27 March 2013, Autumn: from 14 October until 1 November 2013.

Well worth using to save your legs going up, and a nice walk down through the park

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank briansintouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    167
    102
    16
    40
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An enjoyable ride- but make sure you validate your ticket!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Having read previous reviews about the railway we where unsure whether or not it was something that we wanted to do. But my partners interest in trains confirmed that we would be taking a trip on the railway.the transport system in Prague is easy to use but ensure that you don't get caught out there is a machine at the top and bottom to buy tickets but make sure that you validate them as you walk through the gate!

Helpful?
3 Thank Dreamofexploration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

For the price of a Prague metro ticket you can ride to the top of the hill. In most cities they would make this a tourist attraction at a much higher price. The view and walk at the top is good and our children enjoyed it. Don't forget to stamp/frank your ticket before you enter.

Helpful?
3 Thank EasternTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Temporarily closed 03/11/13 to 03/27/13”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Sign at entrance showed closed 03/11/13 to 03/26 or 03/28/13 or maybe earlier (writing this several hours after seeing sign, so can't remember). I don't read Czech, but assume it's closed for repairs. Entrance is fairly close to road/Hunger wall so a short walk up following green signs should be able to confirm which date it re opens.

Helpful?
1 Thank juliebakesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Corrupt Petty Officials”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went on a snow covered day and the views were spectacular. However, we spent most of our time there being bullied by a couple of corrupt officials. We had paid for our tickets but failed to frank them. They wanted us to pay cash for a fine. Theywanted no cards andno receipts involved in the transaction. They took our passports off us and threatened to call up the police. We said "yes, please call the police" . After half an hour and intervention from local travelers we got our passports back. Please beware.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Donellh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funicular Railway also viewed

 

Been to Funicular Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing