We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit expensive but great cocktails ”

Bar and Books Tynska
Ranked #18 of 648 Nightlife in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 2004 Tynska Bar and Books was the first overseas Bar and Books enterprise. The Czech Republic had just become a member of the European Union and its capital Prague is well known as one of the most beautiful European cities, rivaling Paris, London and Rome. Located in the heart of Prague, just steps away from the Old Town Square, perfectly hidden in a small cobblestone street with a spectacular view of the Tyn Church. Tynska Bar and Books is proof of how sophisticated Prague has become.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A bit expensive but great cocktails ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice atmosphere in this small cocktail bar. The prices are a bit expensive but the service is great. The cocktails are well made. I had one with 20 years old rum that was awesome.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannes R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    48
    8
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want a drink with something extra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is THE place to go for drinks and coctails.
Ste bartender really gives you that extra every time.
Drinks with Chanell NO 5 perfume or just the best Gin and Tonic.
Dont miss this jewel

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank spiffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quite nice place, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place is quite expensive, so it’s kind of natural expecting excellent service. My last visit was horrible. I came with group of people-5. At the end of the night we wanted to pay separately (ooooo, what a sin paying separately in a "posh" place). The made a big fuss about that, but at the end they allowed us to pay separately. Thanks!! My friend wanted to pay with the credit cars, as she didn’t have cash. But they didn’t allowed her to pay, because they accept credit cards only if you spend more than 300 PKC (on the credit card). Very welcoming approach I have to admit! And the best surprised came at the end! The charged us some special SERVICE CHARGE. Interesting. I never played service charge in this place...wondering how they decided to charge it this time. Do one Mojito 165 Kc plus 40 Kc service charge! For what service? Bringing one drink? After we went to another cocktail bar. The atmosphere was better, drinks the same and bigger for reasonable praces and no "service charge". So, I dont think I will go to this bar again....thanks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumbaluba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Back again, love this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Every year i pass though Prague, every year i pass by here, places feels like home.

Great place for a posh drink and good conversation, thumbs up

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Great place to spend xmas day night into boxing day morning with some new friends. Loved the golden eye cocktails even if they were rather expensive.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AFS916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar and Books Tynska also viewed

 

Been to Bar and Books Tynska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing