We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again, love this place.”

Bar and Books Tynska
Ranked #24 of 665 Nightlife in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 2004 Tynska Bar and Books was the first overseas Bar and Books enterprise. The Czech Republic had just become a member of the European Union and its capital Prague is well known as one of the most beautiful European cities, rivaling Paris, London and Rome. Located in the heart of Prague, just steps away from the Old Town Square, perfectly hidden in a small cobblestone street with a spectacular view of the Tyn Church. Tynska Bar and Books is proof of how sophisticated Prague has become.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Back again, love this place.”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Every year i pass though Prague, every year i pass by here, places feels like home.

Great place for a posh drink and good conversation, thumbs up

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    51
    10
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Great place to spend xmas day night into boxing day morning with some new friends. Loved the golden eye cocktails even if they were rather expensive.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank AFS916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy and hospitable”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The atmosphere of this bar is unique. You feel like you're in New York or that you're one of Prague's intellectuals, talking about literature and philosophy. Maybe it's the books on the wall or the heavy furniture. They have special menu for whiskey, champagne and cocktails plus a cigar collection (we don't smoke, though). We tried 2 different rum cocktails but I can't say I was amazed by the taste.

Although the staff was efficient and pleasant I was surprised to hear the comment of the male bartender that there are woman and man drinks and that me and my husband should change our orders! I found this comment not only inappropriate for a person that is a professional mixologist but also, I have to say, sexist.

Nevertheless, the only thing that I actually didn't like was the music selection, a mix of unrelated styles and songs. A place with such character should be more concerned about the music. A more hip selection would contribute to the atmosphere.

Notice that the bar is some how dedicated to James Bond…

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Legendary!!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

There is something very special about this bar.

It has great selection of premium alcohol, very cosy interier and chilling atmosphere, but what really makes it stand out is service. They love what they do and they share this love with you.

Highly recommended.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ORIGINAL AMERICAN COCKTAIL BAR”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Bar and Books is much more expensive than other cocktail bars in prague but it is worth every crown. You get a cocktail for about 165 crowns but those are just special. And if you cannot find your favorite on the menu you can tell them what you want and they mix it for you.
This ist perfect for a great night after a dinner before going clubbing or just to fade out the day. You can also get and smoke cigars in here.
They have got every licquor and spirit you need for a great cocktail!

Helpful?
1 Thank FelixSenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar and Books Tynska also viewed

 

Been to Bar and Books Tynska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing