We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't confuse this hotel with the luxury hotel of a very similar name”
Review of Aurus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurus
Ranked #150 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“don't confuse this hotel with the luxury hotel of a very similar name”
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We booked this hotel thinking it was the luxury hotel of the same name (in the same city- confusing!) that received rave reviews. When we arrived we realised it was the wrong hotel but tried to make the most of it. Do not come here if you have a car. There is no parking and you are unable to park on the streets as it is in the centre of the city. The only option is to park in a car park complex a few kilometres away. Reception staff told us that previous guests cars had been towed for parking in incorrect areas. When we finally sorted out the car, we were told that although we had booked for two nights, the type of room we had booked was unavailable. We could have a smaller room with only 10 euros taken off the price, or swap rooms each night. We weren't impressed. The worst thing about this hotel is the noise!! Despite management saying that they have made an effort to reduce noise, we had to use ear plugs that we had from the plane to keep out the noise- and we still couldn't sleep! We heard drunken yelling all night long on both nights. This runied out stay in Prague. Having said all of that, the restaurant is good and the staff quite friendly but not very accomodating.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlinkyBillQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uzlatestudny, Manager at Aurus, responded to this review, January 23, 2010
Dear Madam,

we are very sorry that you were not happy in our hotel, but from what you have written - “When we arrived we realised it was the wrong hotel “ you clearly intended to book a completely different hotel (a much larger 5 star deluxe hotel with superior facilities and in a completely different location!). It seems that you only arrived at our hotel because of your own unfortunate booking error! Our hotel is a small 4 star family run hotel – so totally different in every way from what you had probably expected.

Unfortunately (but perhaps understandably) you were angry and disappointed from the beginning of your unplanned stay with us. (In your review you did not mention you had a car accident and you were not exactly happy about this either!) Perhaps we didn’t really stand a chance! Also, you stayed with us Dec 29 – 31 – without a doubt the noisiest 2 nights of the year in Prague, and indeed all over the world. Tourists were celebrating the New Year in typical fashion, and the noise levels were significantly higher than usual.

Concerning the other issues, we do not claim anywhere we have our own parking facilities but the garage we recommended to you is located 0.8 km from our hotel (not a few kilometers away as you wrote) and it takes just a few minutes to get there. The problem with your double room deluxe was also explained to you during your stay – you made your booking at the last minute (just a few hours before your arrival) and that is why we were not able to accommodate you in the same room for both nights, for which we apologized and offered you the best possible alternatives – a standard Double room for two nights or switching from one Double room de Luxe to another one after one night. You chose the second option. Please, accept our apologies for this again.

I would like to say that under the circumstances (you did arrive at a hotel you had not planned to stay at!), I know we did our best to help make your stay as pleasant and special as possible.

Petra Masindova
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    77
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
126
148
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This hotel is a blast from the past. Old worldly, friendly atmosphere and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. The restaurant is very good and staff were very accodomating. Would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2009

From the start of our visit to the hotel to the finish, we were definately not disappointed in any detail whatsoever. The rooms are stylish, very comfortable, warm, spacious - and full of the charming character you would associate with old Prague. Being centrally situated in the 'old town', all amenities and places of interest to us were within walking distance and the windows of our apartment gave an interesting vantage point over the busy street below. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and informative; nothing was too much trouble. Our arrangement was for breakfasts at the hotel which were excellent and with service to match. We would highly recommend this hotel and in fact hope to return at some stage with our families.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobeangood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Loved this hotel. All the family enjoyed it, really nice experience to stay there. Very comfortable, clean & warm. Breakfast room very nice & food likewise. Nothing too much trouble for staff. Cant` wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2009

The hotel is small and has an air of exclusivity being located in the heart of the old town a couple of minutes walk from Charles bridge. The old town square is another short walk and there is everything you need within a very short distance. The staff are welcoming and we were made to feel very much at home during our 4 day visit.We stayed in a double de luxe that was extremely spacious and felt more like a suite than a room..
Will definately stay at this hotel again !

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieboywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2009

This is place is a must stay if you are a romantic looking for a great location. The prices are very reasonable and the place is gorgeous!! We have travelled extensively all over the world and this is hands down one of the top 5 hotels we ever stayed at. Breakfast is also included and is fantastic!!! AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank numnumchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

As a result of the excellent service and cleanliness when we stayed here in May 2007 we decided to take our friends back. We were delighted to read on Trip Advisor that the windows had been double glazed and an air conditioner had been installed as our first stay we found noisy through the night. We were not disturbed by the noise at all. We had a car and found the security parking in a local carpark easily accessible and not expensive. We were treated very well by the staff with them bending over backwards to help us in all ways. Room large and spotlessly clean, bathroom modern. Breakfast was the best we had in our six weeks trip through Europe. Great selection and everything fresh, hot and cold foods. Location fantastic - felt great value for money

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#114 of 649 in Prague
351 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#104 of 649 in Prague
611 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#77 of 649 in Prague
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#207 of 649 in Prague
511 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liliova Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#130 of 649 in Prague
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurus

Property: Aurus
Address: Karlova 175/3 | Main entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
#84 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#129 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing