We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and most friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurus
Ranked #134 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel and most friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Small hotel very clean and very nicely appointed updated rooms. Staff couldn't do enough for us very friendly and helpful with restaurants points of interest and events. Our personal thanks to the hotel manager Martina and her most capable staff as they made our stay a memorable one...thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joevette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    72
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
119
145
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

In May we went on a 7 week holiday through Europe and our first stop was Prague. After reading reviews we chose Hotel Aurus and we are so glad we did. The hotel is in a fantastic location, it's only a short walk one way to the old town and a short walk the other way to the Charles Bridge. The room was a great size and spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a big bath,vanity and toilet. Staff were very helpful with any enquirys we had and we would have no hesitation in staying at Hotel Aurus again should we visit Prague again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This family owned hotel is right in the "thick of things" in the old city of Prague. Quaint old style large rooms of varying size are available with excellent facilities in all. The staff are excellent and happy to assist in every way. We would certainly return to hotel Aurus.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve_of_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We are two couples visiting Prague for the first time. I think we found the best hotel in the city with the best staff. The hotel has charm, location, clean and comfortable rooms, with staff that understand how to provide the best customer service. Thank you for showing us your hospitality. We would definitely recommend and book your hotel again.

Room Tip: Just contact the staff, they are very reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

While this small hotel is very charming and in an ideal location, we were disappointed. The bathroom was modern and spacious but the shower was a real challenge. The rubber on the shower head was coming apart so water would squirt out in all directions, squirting in my eyes, squirting up over the glass door getting the ceiling and entire bathroom wet! I told the receptionist about it the first day and she said she "would look into it". Nothing was done. The twin bed turned out to be a wall pull-down that had a large wood frame above it so every morning when my son woke up, he hit his head on the wood piece that protruded over the bed. The double bed was very comfy, though, except for the little foam pillows which gave me a neck ache. I folded a blanket and used that for a pillow instead. For the price, we expected more. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room F. It faces Karlova and is very noisy all day and night. If you do stay there, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzeJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We visited Prague very often. We really like the city. In the past also enjoy wonderful apartments and hotels better or less good. This time is the short visit and we had a family attached to such special events were during the visit. We searched something special to sleep, and I think we found. Hotel itself is in a very special and very beautiful building, constructed in the 17th century, I think. Structure converted into a hotel while preserving the internal and external beauty of the building. This created a special atmosphere of the rooms. Atmosphere also adds to the hotel's location is right on the way Charls, just a short walk from the main attractions of Prague.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tolch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I just returned home from Prague where we spent 3 nights at Hotel Aurus and all we can say is Outstanding. This small charming hotel is in a great location, close to just about everything. The whole staff was exceptional. Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Prague.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#102 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#87 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#99 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#176 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#129 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#82 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurus

Property: Aurus
Address: Karlova 175/3 | Main entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
#84 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#115 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing