We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel with the friendliest staff”
Review of Aurus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aurus
Ranked #129 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel with the friendliest staff”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We are two couples visiting Prague for the first time. I think we found the best hotel in the city with the best staff. The hotel has charm, location, clean and comfortable rooms, with staff that understand how to provide the best customer service. Thank you for showing us your hospitality. We would definitely recommend and book your hotel again.

Room Tip: Just contact the staff, they are very reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    73
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
121
147
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

While this small hotel is very charming and in an ideal location, we were disappointed. The bathroom was modern and spacious but the shower was a real challenge. The rubber on the shower head was coming apart so water would squirt out in all directions, squirting in my eyes, squirting up over the glass door getting the ceiling and entire bathroom wet! I told the receptionist about it the first day and she said she "would look into it". Nothing was done. The twin bed turned out to be a wall pull-down that had a large wood frame above it so every morning when my son woke up, he hit his head on the wood piece that protruded over the bed. The double bed was very comfy, though, except for the little foam pillows which gave me a neck ache. I folded a blanket and used that for a pillow instead. For the price, we expected more. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room F. It faces Karlova and is very noisy all day and night. If you do stay there, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzeJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We visited Prague very often. We really like the city. In the past also enjoy wonderful apartments and hotels better or less good. This time is the short visit and we had a family attached to such special events were during the visit. We searched something special to sleep, and I think we found. Hotel itself is in a very special and very beautiful building, constructed in the 17th century, I think. Structure converted into a hotel while preserving the internal and external beauty of the building. This created a special atmosphere of the rooms. Atmosphere also adds to the hotel's location is right on the way Charls, just a short walk from the main attractions of Prague.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tolch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I just returned home from Prague where we spent 3 nights at Hotel Aurus and all we can say is Outstanding. This small charming hotel is in a great location, close to just about everything. The whole staff was exceptional. Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Prague.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We just returned from this wonderful hotel. The staff was exceptional, very helpful and recommended wonderful restaurants. We stayed 3 nights, we had 6 people so had a variety of rooms, all very beautiful and comfortable. The hotel is located in a perfect location, just a few blocks from the bridge or the clock. Walking anywhere was easy from this hotel. I would definately stay here again. It was great.

Room Tip: Room A on the top has the best view and the most windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiraprewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This small, historic hotel was the perfect place to stay for our all too short stay in Prague. We had only two days to "do" this magical city, and the Aurus location made our task much easier. It is a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Square in one direction and to the Charles Bridge in the other. The Jewish Quarter is less than a 15 minute walk along a beautiful tree lined street. Restaurants, cafés, shopping, sights - all nearby!
The hotel has practically no lobby, but the ladies at the reception desk go the extra mile, and are always smiling and helpful. There was some noise from the cafés in the evening, but the closed windows cut most of the noise. Our room was large....our bathroom, modern but tiny.. Breakfast was available in a beautiful little dining room. Breakfast was varied, and a hot option was available.
Someday I'd like to spend more time in Prague , and I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Aurus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The location of this stunning hotel is in the Old Town of Prague. It is located right in the center of town. The house It is very close to the to the Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle (about a 20 min walk). The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Our room was large and the bathroom was large with the best tub….Breakfast was great!! From the brochure in the lobby of the hotel it states that this house belonged to the most beautiful historical monuments protected by the patronage of UNESCO.
We would definitely stay again..Thank you from us to the best staff..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#102 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#82 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#104 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
Hotel U Zlateho Stromu
#182 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#126 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#98 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurus

Property: Aurus
Address: Karlova 175/3 | Main entrance from Seminarska 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly U Zlate Studny)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Prague
#84 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#112 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel "Aurus" (former U Zlate studny), which is one of the most magnificent and protected monuments whose origins date back to the 16th century, is situated in the very heart of Prague in the Old Town district. The hotel is situated on the Kings Road connecting three historic jewels - the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle. This four-star hotel offers guests four double-bed rooms and four spacious apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Aurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlate Studny (At The Golden Well) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing