We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Ranked #68 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Very close to the centre of the city, nestled right in the old town. A great choice of hotel. Friendly, helpful staff especially Thomas, Eva and the barman whose name I don't know. Historic hotel with everything you need for a prefect stay in Prague.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    367
    104
    33
    13
See reviews for
205
583
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Lovely little hotel in the heart of Old Town. I could easily walk to attractions on either side of the river. Rooms are small, but comfortable. Air conditioning is available upon request. I love the great big key fobs they give you at check in. Daily breakfast is nice. I would stay here again. Good place for solo travelers. Hair dryers. Great big golem outside of the front door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Hotel Hastal is a 24 room family run hotel located in a small square in Old Town. Its rennovation fits in with the area's 1900 era architecture, with period decor rooms just as pictured on its website. Rooms and public areas were decorated with Mucha prints and photos from its past. There is a small elevator. It had two Golems, one in the courtyard, and another outside the front entrance. A Golem is a clay creature created by magic, dating from 16th century Jewish folklore.

My reservation was based on trust, with cash payment on departure. The price included a large breakfast buffet of fruit, sausage, cheese, yogurt, eggs, cereal, hot dishes, breads to slice, juices, coffee, milk, and even sparkling wine and cake. Coffee and tea were always available in the lobby, and every night I poured myself a glass of complimentary red wine.

Our twin bed room overlooked the square. The bathroom was tiled. We had plenty of space. The Wifi was good. The only criticism was the refrigerator wasn't working. We found out towards the end of our stay when we used it to store leftover food from a restaurant.

Location was good, within walking distance to everywhere, including the Charles Bridge, Castle Hill, Petrin Tower, Wenceslas Square, Main Train Depot, and the Municipal Building, that is, if you like to walk! We discovered several nearby restaurants down the side streets that offered good food for less cost than the ones in the Old Town Square. In short, it was in a wonderful little neighborhood.

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They printed us a train schedule for Kutna Hora, and our airline boarding passes. I even arranged transportation to and from the airport with the hotel driver. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indrablanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Hotel Hastal is located within walking distance to the Old Town Square. It is an excellent location and quaint hotel. While a little dated and our double bed was up against the wall, all can be overlooked by lovely attention at the front desk. Free tea and coffee from the café bar in the foyer and free glass of wine, if you choose. There is an outside area where you can sit. The breakfast was ample and generous. Marketa at reception was full of helpful information. Very hospitable people taking a pride in what they are doing. Two doors away is the excellent Lokal, beer hall. Wonderful atmosphere, food and beer. An absolute must when in Prague. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 455Naomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

A great family owned Hotel centrally located just around the block from The Old City Square. This is stated to be the only "family owned" hotel in the old city. Front desk staff were great and very pleasant at all times. The hotel beams history from every picture hanging in the foyer. Breakfast was very satisfying and of an excellent selection. Quiet setting for smokers at the rear gardens. Lift to every floor. Rooms were air conditioned from the Foyer as the weather was hot at the time of our visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the room 43 facing the old Church.(away from the lifts)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazzaw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Marketa did a wonderful job coordinating our stay. Had fun. Within walking distance to all major sites in Prague. We would stay here again. Thanks for the great hospitality. Good breakfasts. Nice staff. Clean rooms. Loved Golem.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Close distance to the centre of old town but just far put enough to have some peace and quiet. The rooms are a bit dated but do the job. Ours had a lovely balcony overlooking the street.
The breakfast was a good selection but unfortunately the bread was always stale. The wifi was great, one of the fastest of our trip.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tarran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#74 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#30 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#133 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#82 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Property: Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing