We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bed we had in Europe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Ranked #69 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best bed we had in Europe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

What can I say except to endorse all the great reviews for this wonderful hotel. Probably add that we would never consider staying anywhere else in Prague! The room was spacious, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bed was amazingly comfortable and I just can't find anything about this special hotel we didn't like.The included breakfast was most generous and the staff friendly and efficient. The location was perfect, just a short walk to the Old Town Square and local tram.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    363
    103
    33
    13
See reviews for
201
577
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

From the moment you enter Hotel Hastal you feel as though you are taking a step back in time. It is a beautiful hotel with excellent and friendly staff. When we arrived at the hotel we were warmly greeted by a wonderful receptionist who informed us about the sites in Prague and gave us a map. The rooms in the hotel are nice the beds were comfortable and the shower was good we were also given dressing gowns and fresh towels daily. The hotels location is excellent as it is only a short walk to the old town square. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and allowed us to use the computer and print our boarding pass free of charge. The hotel staff also organised transport to and from the airport. Breakfast in the hotel was nice there was a good selection of food on offer. From reading reviews on tripadvisor I was worried that the hotel may be too cold and I even packed a hot water bottle however the hotel was always warm throughout our stay. Hotel Hastal is a cosy and inviting hotel filled with character.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in this charming quaint hotel. Welcomed personally by the manager (who is a 5th generation descendant of this family ) with a very welcome bottle of white wine our stay got off to a very good start. Tomas at reception speaks English very well and is always ready to give directions and other information when asked. There is free Wi-Fi as well. Why is it that this small hotel in Prague can provide free Wi-Fi whereas large expensive hotels with the prestigious Hilton name can only provide free Wi-Fi in the lobby?

The room was small but perfectly adequate and very cosy and warm , thank goodness, as temperature outside was about 1 degree. Breakfast was delicious with a few Hungarian dishes thrown in. And also welcome were the tea/coffee making facilities available 24 hours a day.

Location is excellent- short walk to Main Square, river, Wenceslas Square etc.
Lastly, we had to leave at 6am to catch a coach to Budapest and were provided with a snack box each which lasted us all the way to Budapest. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aftpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just back from another wonderful stay at the Hastal. This small family owned hotel continue with their quest to return it to the great days when it was frequented by 'Mucka' & 'Kafta' re-creating the 'Old World Charm' but also introducing High Teck like free Wi-Fi throughout (Great 'Facetime Conection' in the room) Shower heads that give you a light show when you turn it on, Ipod dock/radio-alarm. Flat screen sat tv. CD player but combined with a Retro radio and telephone. We opted for room 22 on this visit and it was well worth the extra with giant bed, lots of room and small balcony looking out over the square to the church where you could sit and people watch. Just beside reception mounted on a very retro serving table is a new high teck coffee machine which has programs to suite all tastes as well as assorted teas which you can help yourself to 24hrs all for free. But that's not all, what is nicer than getting back after a hard days sightseeing or night out on the town than finding you can help yourself to a lovely glass of wine at reception and yes it's free as well. Breakfast is a nice selection of hot and cold dishes from the buffet along with breads & cheeses and cereals. Reception staff of Eva, Thomas & Richard were always on hand to help & give advice as well as ordering taxis and making bookings for you. The family have now put up their history and that of the hotel which they have owned for over 6 generations on the reception and it makes fascinating reading. Situated just 2 minutes walk from Old Town Square in a lovely quiet area facing the church this is the perfect place to stay for a visit to Prague. Looking forward to our next stay

Room Tip: Room 22 has the balcony on the second floor that looks out onto the square and is one for the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much at the family run Hastel, the location is excellent 5 minute walk from the old town square & all sights & shops near by. The breakfast was nice & we made good use of the free tea, coffee facilities throughout the day, another nice touch was white wine also available in the foyer.When we left the Hotel manager Patrick came to see us,gave us a friendship coin & asked us if we enjoyed our stay. All in all we had a great time & would strongly recommend Hastel to our familly & friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have been on many trip overseas, but being in Prague had top my list. Hotel Hastal is a family run hotel. We had a wonderful stay here. All the staff were excelent and attentive. Really cool! A lots of history at the hotel, Mucha and Kafka hung out at this hotel. Nice rooms. Five min. walk to old town square and most of the sights. Could not be better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Su-lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a friendly well run and clean hotel located near the old part of Prague. Stayed for 3 nights and can not really fault it, with helpful staff, clean and well maintained rooms and good selection of breakfast in the morning. The staff on reception were great and quick to provide directions and book needed tours and arrange transport as well and get you any requested item. We came down to breakfast in the mornings with a basic but good selection of different breakfast items. It makes a great hotel that is affordable, well located and can recommend for a short get-away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatjana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#31 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#132 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Property: Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing