We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Ranked #62 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I booked this hotel for it's location only and was not disappointed. It's in the Old Town district and a 10 minute walk from the main square. Amenities included nice sized rooms, hot breakfast, wifi, elevator, complimentary tea, coffee and wine at the front desk. The staff were somewhat helpful arranging an early morning taxi to the airport, directions to an nice restaurant, etc... but at times were a bit stand offish. There is a 24 hour mini mart 100 metres down the road and although the hotel is on a side street we never felt unsafe coming back from a night on the town. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Like most reviews they are dependent on what you paid versus what you expected to get in return. My partner and I are low maintenance travelers so everything about the Hastal was a pleasant surprise. It has a upscale feel without being pretentious.

From what I gather they have gone through some renovations in the last few years and the results seem more than antiquate. Our room was a "comfort" room and was about the size of a standard U.S. sized hotel room.

The room was warm (it was November and the outside temperature was in 30's-40's F), bathroom was full sized, plenty of storage space (if you don't travel with steamer trunks full of clothing) and the room was clean.

Access to places in old town were within walking distance. Five minutes to the Jewish Quarter, 10 minutes to Old Town Square, 15 minutes to Wenceslaus Square (really a 10-12 block rectangle) and 10 minutes to Metro line B (yellow) which gives you access to the rest of the city and airport.

Street facing rooms will be noisy. Even though the Hastal is off the main streets, you will still find enough pedestrians enjoying the late night. For us that's part of the charm. If we wanted to sleep in an isolated box, we would stay home.

Breakfast was a wonderful of variety going from continental breakfast styled delights to menu items that would suffice as a hearty lunch. The buffet included cold meats, sliced cheeses, beans, sausages, 3-4 different kinds of bread, eggs, fruits, coffee, tea, juices, cereals and all the trimmings.

The WiFi was excellent in our room. It appears that they have a wireless access point for each floor and I don't remember a time when there was a dropped signal.

The staff was there when you needed them (at least one person overnight) and not bothering you when you didn't need them. The front door was open 24 hours a day so there was no hassle in coming or going at any time of the day.

If you want an American styled hotel with all the representative pampering this is not the place for you. If you want to experience something of what it would be like in Old Town Prague 75 years ago with all the charm at a good price then the Hastal comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheConiferPlaywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were unhappy to find our room had been double booked on arrival especially as we were tired after a long train journey.Other accommodation had to be arranged for one night.
We were however generously compensated for the inconvenience and once back at Hotel Hastal we enjoyed our stay and were more than happy with our room, the service and the nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 652Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

For my 30th birthday my husband and I traveled to Prague for the first time. We booked Hastel as a bit of a lucky dip really, through a 'top secret' saver site - first time we had ever booked this way, and were pleasantly surprised!
I had some e-mail communication with the hotel before we arrived to confirm the room and arrange airport transfers, these were reasonably priced and included in our final bill.
All of the staff were incredibly (and genuinely) friendly and helpful, our room was large, clean, bright with a nice view of a church across the road and leading back to the river. The buildings are lit-up at night, but with 'lights out' at midnight you are not kept awake by this. There was free WiFi, which was a very good speed, it meant I could Skype with my nieces for my birthday with little interruption. Mini bar was well stocked and yet again at reasonable prices, although in the lobby there are always teas, coffee and white wine that you can help yourself to 24 hours. Breakfast is free and is varied, the breakfast ladies always greeted us with a friendly smile, and were quick to clear places when it was busy.
On check out the manager came out to see us off and ask how we enjoyed our stay.
I would (and do) recommend Hotel Hastel to everyone I come across travelling to Prague, it's ideal location makes it the perfect base for anyone wanting to see the sites and the friendly helpful staff are just the cherry on top of an already fantastic, clean and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have just come back from 3 days in Prague and this was my second stay here; the first was 3 years ago.

The hotel still looked the same, with a slightly dated feel, although it was clean and well maintained. The 3 people I dealt with, on reception were all polite and check in was very quick, as I had stayed there, previously.

My room - no. 55 was big enough, with a double bed, small bedside table, desk, 2 chairs and a TV. There was plenty of storage space, in the wardrobe, which also contained a safe, which is always a plus. The bathroom was very clean, with towels provided but if I did have any criticism, it would be that the shower could have been a little more powerful.

Breakfast was as per usual, for eastern European hotels, with hot sausages, grilled and boiled, scrambled eggs, beans and mixed vegetables. The was muesli, cornflakes, cold meats and cheeses and rolls, with jam and honey. 2 types of juice was also available, along with tea and coffee. If you enjoy listening to Elton John, while you are having breakfast, then you would have been very happy!

The location is what really counts with this place, being just 5 minutes walk from Old Town Square, and a number of bars and restaurants, in the vicinity. It is only a 5 minute walk to the nearest tram station and Staromestska metro station is 7 minutes walk away, making it very easy to get to and from the airport, and around the city.

The hotel was great value, at only 45 euros per night and it met my expectations, and did not disappoint. I am coming back to Prague, next March but will be staying in Zizkov, as there will be about 15 of us but when I next come back, on my own, I will probably book in here, again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaleDamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Perfect position close to the old town, river, restaurants and bars. Adjoining rooms at the front on the first floor were spacious and spotlessly clean. Decor in rooms seemed a little dated but was in keeping with style of hotel. Tea and coffee machine at bottom of stairs was a bonus.
Reception staff pleasant and helpful, particularly Eva for whom nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfasts ample and kept well stocked but staff in this area came across as taciturn.
Would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to enjoy the sights and experiences of this beautiful city.

Room Tip: See review
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshireflannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We picked this hotel because of the reviews, the location, and the reasonable cost. It is a well kept up older hotel. The rooms are reasonably sized and comfortable. The bathroom is large with a tub-shower combination. One problem with the bathroom was that the water pressure in the shower was very low. The other issue was that it was a high step into and out of the tub with a slippery bottom in the tub.

The location is about a five minute walk to the town center. There are a lot of restaurants within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. The staff was great-very friendly and helpful. We had an early morning flight on our last day. The hotel provided a box breakfast that we ate at the airport.

Overall, this was a good hotel that we would go to again when we go back to Prague.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a bigger room for a minimal extra cost. It was well worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryTraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#26 of 648 in Prague
2,380 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#75 of 648 in Prague
540 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#74 of 648 in Prague
1,529 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,305 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#70 of 648 in Prague
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $50 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing