We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Ranked #68 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location for the price”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Location is great, just a few blocks from the astrological clock... is a small hotel, the room was clean and the bathroom was ok. We booked the "romantic view", but we only had some roof view...breakfast was fine... and they served good coffee if you pay extra (very cheap in any case)...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shomoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    367
    104
    33
    13
See reviews for
205
583
68
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has the perfect location you can walk everywhere within minutes. Our room was rather spacious and very clean. The tv in our room did not work and we told them night 1 they said the person at the front was alone and could not do anything until the following day... The following day it still did not work the girl from the front desk came and tried to fix it without any luck and hotel made it seem like it didn't matter. They have a large breakfast but I went down both days to get breakfast well before breakfast time was over and there was no food left and I waited around 20 minutes and no more ever came. I asked the women working in the dining room and she didn't understand English so we could never eat breakfast either day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRieger, Owner at Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
First and foremost I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Hastal along with sharing with us your nice feedback. I do appreciate your overall positive review especially regarding cleanliness and quality of accommodation. These kinds of feedbacks are very valuable for all of us as they give us the best available message and areas for further activities and actions – thank you very much. I am very sorry to read about the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I will definitely share your concerns regarding breakfast service and non-functioning TV to relative departments to improve overall guest satisfaction which is actually the most important focus at our family hotel. I am very happy to read about your recommendations and will be looking forward welcoming you back at our property in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for anything I can do for you during your next time in Prague.
Kristian Hanslik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is the worst place you could stay at. Clearly they have being buying good reviews in TripAdvisor, otherwise it could not be explained why it has so many good and above reviews.
We arrived late from Amsterdam only to find that the hotel was overbooked (they consistenly do this although they allege any other cause like remodeling, broken pipes, etc). We had booked a double room and were given a filthy and minimal (1,8mts by 4mts) room with a duvet on the floor. The woman in the reception was extremely unhelpfull and clearly had anxiety problems. When we asked her to give us the room we had payed for she said that the were no other hotels in Prague to move us to and that if we wanted we could sleep on the street. I insisted I wanted to speak with the manager but was constantly refused so. Apart from that, the rooms are filthy the cleaning service is inexistent and most of the staff are either unhelpfull or unconsiderate.
Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian79Ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRieger, Owner at Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest and candid feedback. I am very disappointed to read about your experiences during your stay in our family hotel and especially with our staff. You can be assured that this is not acceptable for us. I am actually pretty surprised about your negative impression of the cleanliness in the hotel. Especially cleanliness is mentioned on this webpage several times as a big plus of our hotel. But I can assure you that we still take your feedback serious and we will work hard with our room maids that situations like you experienced will not happen again. I still hope we will get another chance from you to show you that we can do much better. Please contact me directly, if there is anything I can do for you.
Kristian Hanslik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Hastal and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is well situated within easy walking distance from all the beautiful sites the city has to offer. There are also restaurants, cafés and convenience stores close by. The hotel staff are welcoming and helpful: I had signalled that we would be celebrating my friend's birthday during our stay and on the "B" day, flowers and a bottle of wine were waiting for us at the hotel. We highly recommend the hotel and would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you arrive by train particularly, I recommend that you reserve a taxi with the hotel. We used th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuceHenriette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We loved this hotel very much, mainly because of it's incredible staff, especially Patrick, the hotel manager, and one very friendly front desk receptionist, Eva. Upon telling Patrick we were in need of handicapped accommodation, he and his staff did everything possible to make sure we were comfortable. They even went out and bought a handicap showering bench the very same day we mentioned we might need one.

Patrick and Eva were constantly researching things for us, including helping us track down family history as one of the main reasons we were there was to discover family ancestors from that region.

The location of the hotel is within walking distance to everything, except the castle of course. 5 minutes to Old Town Sq, Old Jewish Quarter, Wenceslas Sq, and Charles Bridge. The staff helped us book a river tour, arranged for a handicapped accessible van for transportation, and were always willing to recommend delicious restaurants for us to try!

This hotel was wonderful for our needs all around. We were three generations together on a family trip and the service provided far exceeded our expectations. They really made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammerten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel requires you leave your keys at the front desk when you leave the hotel. Not good because they know your gone. While I was gone, one of their employees rifled through my stuff and stole my Bose noise cancelling headset which also had my ufly mic in the case along with my ipod. This was in my carryon bag at the bottom. I emailed the hotel when I got home as it was my first flight when I discovered it was missing and the only place my bag was not attended by me was at Hotel Hastal. I sent the hotel an email about what was stolen and they did not bother to email me back. As an airline captain for almost 30 years I have never had my headset stolen much less anything else. But, I must say I do not stay in hotels where you leave the key with the front desk basically telling employees when you are gone. Just a warning I would look else where for a hotel, this one has an employee with sticky fingers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickRieger, Owner at Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your stay at Hotel Hastal. I´d like to thank you for your honest and serious feedback sharing with us your very detailed personal experiences. It is disturbing to hear about your concrete disappointments and I am truly sorry for the fact that you were not feeling valued and appreciated. I am sorry that it took us longer than you expected to react to your complaint but we started investigating the issue of your lost personal items immediately. Unfortunately I cannot turn back the time and correct the past however I would like to assure you that this kind of experience does not reflect on our usual service and there has never been anything stolen from the hotel room in our history. There no door cards in our hotel but I´d like to point out that door keys system is quite common in European hotels and keys are kept at reception for safety reasons. There are also safes in all hotel rooms plus one safe at the reception for our guests to use for their valuable things for free. I am deeply sorry that we were not able to find you lost personal items and that we were not able to reach agreement as to where these were stolen because there is no clear evidence that our staff had stolen any of the items since you found out about the loss only after you had returned home. Nevertheless we do hope having a chance welcoming you back to our family hotel in the future to show to you our commitment. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly during your next time in Prague and we will do our best to make your stay much more enjoyable.
Please accept my apology once again
Kristian Hanslik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were looking for a small hotel close to the center of town with "old world character". this hotel was a find on the internet and we were concerned as to sight unseen because we have been unhapply with some internet hotels upon arrival. But to our joy this hotel is a charmer as my wife said. lovely room with a very good breakfast and a sort walk to the center of town. It is quite and the bed was very good. I have hip problems so hard beds are not good. This bed was perfect for a good nights sleep. The staff was extremely helpful and arranged for us to get transportation back to the train station. The staff provided excelllent directions for all our activites including perfect directions for getting to the hotel for our arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#74 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#133 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#82 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Property: Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing