We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Ranked #61 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Three of us stayed in the Hotel Hastal in late Sept. and then again in mid Oct. The staff spoke excellent English and communicated well with us by e-mail and text. Arrangements were made for a taxi to pick us up and deliver us back to the airport. Our room was spacious enough for three comfortable twin beds. It was a bit noisey one night with the window open. We closed the window and turned on the air conditioning...problem solved. We were located within walking distance of many attractions, restaurants, and transports. There is an ATM and a small store nearby from which we could get supplies. Breakfast was fresh and filling. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Killg0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

In mid September we spent two nights at this great family run hotel. They arranged to have a driver and taxi meet us at the train station to bring us to the hotel which made it very easy for us upon arrival as we were then able to go out and immediately start our sight seeing. Everything was very clean, the breakfast was great and, it is conveniently located in Old Town close enough to just walk a few blocks to the sights but far enough away to not have the crowds and noise. The staff is so pleasant and accomodating. I'd recommend this hotel to my friends and would like to stay here next time I visit beautiful Prague!!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor at the front and it offered a pretty view and was quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxAgGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel was a great choice. My family and I wanted to stay in the Prague Old Town, but at the same time, in a calm street. Besides that, it is a short walk from Old Town Square, the Jewish Quarter and all the great restaurants.
The room size was really good (just ask for it, because they have different room sizes), clean, comfortable and good value of money.
The staff was very friendly, always ready to help and provide information.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innacindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were initially allocated a very small room in the roof with no windows, just two small open skylights and no curtains to shut out the light. We asked to be moved to a room with windows which was thankfully granted. Smoking is permitted throughout the hotel including inside the restaurant which is grubby and prices exorbitant for very average food and dreadful wine (when they haven't run out). Also on the two occasions we dined in the restaurant we were simply verbally advised of the total bill. This concerned us so we asked for an itemised bill and were just given a scrap of paper with various amounts scribbled on by hand. Breakfast was the worst we encountered over 10 weeks of travel. The coffee was undrinkable, juice was watered down cordial and the scrambled eggs came complete with bits of egg shell. We will never return to Hotel Hastel.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the street and the lift.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Happy Aussie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Mixed reviews on this. The location is great. 10 min walk from the center town. close to the metro and bus lines. Plenty of restaurants around. The front desk was mostly friendly compared to Czech folks I met in restaurants, metro stations, general public. The room is really basic. The room contains a hair dryer. You can't borrow an iron from the front desk but has ironing service. Room also has a very basic mini bar. The breakfast is good. Hot and cold entrees. The price was expensive but I cared for location most of all, and not necessarily all the amenities. If I were to come to Prague again, which I doubt, I will try to look for another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelina_Serra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our room overlooked a beautiful church and the street so it was a bit noisey (our fault - since we opted to leave our windows open, instead of having the air-conditioning on in our room) but it offered us a front row seat to the charming off - main street early morning and night activities in Prague. The "Hostel" around the corner was the main offender for the noise as the late evening activites at times were a bit too loud. Nonetheless, the Hotel Hastal was a charming place with extremely helpful staff. Eva, at the reception desk could not have been anymore helpful! She patiently accomodated us with making dinner reservations at the Bellevue Restaurant, helped acquaint us with bus and tram schedules, arranged a cab to the Opera House, day trips and much much more. Her sincere helpfulness and attention to our needs made our 8 day stay truly enjoyable and we left feeling like family. The breakfasts were typically European (not the heavy breakfasts that Americans are used to) but the young woman in the breakfast area made every effort (she never had a minute to rest) to keep the tables cleared and food restocked for the hours they were open. One day she even served our table a delicious meat and cheese filled pastry. The breakfast eating area was small, but we made acquaintances with several tourists that we ended up going to the Ballet and dinner with. So that was a bonus to our stay! We will certainly stay here again on our next trip to Prague.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are a bit noisey if you plan to leave the windows open, but offer a char...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Only good thing about this Hotel is the location and the staff.
The rooms are small and run down in need of update, although the bathroom was ok.
Breakfast was poor in fact on 2 days of our stay the orange juice was really only orange squash. The bread and rolls were stale and dry. There is very little space in the breakfast room and tables usually have to be shared with other residents.
Try having breakfast at the Irish bar on Old Town Square only 2/3 minutes away.
The beds were not very comfortable with hard wood frames and with a very small pillow not comfortable on the head.
The staff were very good and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davehitchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 647 in Prague
2,386 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#77 of 647 in Prague
545 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#75 of 647 in Prague
1,532 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,309 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 647 in Prague
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $70 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing