We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“filthy and disgusting”
Review of Apple Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apple Hostel
Ranked #489 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Reviewed November 6, 2006

three of us stayed in this Hostel for a total of four days. Four days too long unfortunately. The toilets/showers are absolutely filthy and disgusting. The kitchen and sitting room area are very run down and unclean. DO NOT leave any of your own food in the fridge as it will be gone when you go to retrieve it. The breakfast provided is an insult to the etrm 'breakfast'. The 'dorms' are very VERY basic. The staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. The only good this that I can comment on is its central location.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank brianmefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 31 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2006

I 've wanted to go and visit Prague as I have heard that is was a beautiful city to visit.My friend and I wanted a cheap weekend as we was on budget and booked apple hostel.

Bad points:

Not much of a view from the outside window
Could have been cleaner
The quaility of the bed was very basic
Having to walk up a few flight of stairs to get to the hostel itself

Good points:
The location was great so close to eveything you want to see
Supermarker right on your door step
The shuttle bus we took from the airport dropped us off in Prague city centre which has happen across the road from the hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ttl_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

If you want to get some sleep at night , never book this hostel.
There's a huge construction site in front of the hostel, where they are working 24/7. We couldn't keep the noise outside as the windows couldn't be closed. We didn't have courtains in our room so it was really bright with the streetlamps shining in. The showers and toilets were dirty and disgusting. There was also just cold water coming.
The sheets and linen they provided were also dirty - as was the kitchen.
The hostel staff tried to be nice but wasn't really helpful.
We complained about the noise from the construction site about 4 times and they wouldn't give us a discount or even let us speak with the manager of the hostel.
All they did was smiling and telling us that they couldn't do anything at all, because it was not "their" construction site.
Be aware that you won't get your money back as they charge in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

The hostel was ok considering how cheap and its good location but there were lots of problems with it. I got into the room and sat on the bed which immediatly broke. The other beds also didnt look very stable and the pillows were uncomfortable. Also there were no real curtains and the huge windows meant it was hard to get to sleep being so light. The construction sight next to our hostel was very noisy and they seemed to be working almost 24/7 making it hard to sleep. Bathrooms were not very pleasant with communal showers and you have to keep the button pressed down for the whole time or it turns off. Security was poor since we had our room broken into and expensive items of my friends were stolen whilst we were out. This was likely to have been due to the poor quality of the door making the room easy to be forced open even when we had locked it. The staff at the hostel werent helpfull when we told them about it. I would warn anyone staying in this hostel not to leave anything valuable in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

This is a quality place to stay. It is cheap and cheeful. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bunk beds are great and comfortable!

The staff are friendly and helpful, they did not knock on our room once and we partied well into the night.

The location is the best aspect of this hostel (if not the price) there is an undergorund supermarket across the road which is massive, and sells beer very cheap. The hostel is about 5 mins walk from the main square and has several bars and cafes across the road.

We got room number 1 which had its own shower and sink. This was ideal as it allowed a cold beer area and our shower was obviosuly better than nothing.

There is a safe deposit box which is ideal for money and passports, which gives you some security.

PRAGUE IS EXCELLENT AND THE APPLE HOSTEL ADDS TO THE ENJOYMENT!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

Just got back from the Apple Hostel today and I must say what a great place to stay it is! Read a few reviews before going which said the hostel had unfriendly staff, dirty rooms and a list of many other problems but I experienced none!

The hostel is in a perfect location as it is situated on the north side of Prague and is a 2 min (literally!) walk to the centre of the city for the sights etc. Old Town Square is a street away and there are plenty of shops, bars, restaurants and the Charles Bridge is about 5mins walk which is a must see (also look out for the Bridge Band as they are superb).

The staff at the hostel were extremely helpful (went and found a bottle opener at 12.30ish at night!) and the place seemed secure and safe. The rooms were large with bunk beds and had enough storage for clothing etc. The breakfast was ok - mainly cereal, bread but we found the large underground supermarket over the road great as it sold everything we wanted.

All in all the Apple Hostel is the place to go! The great location and the basic, clean and down-to-earth style of the place made it a great place to stay.

-----------------------------------
Tip 1.) Try and get room number 1 if possible! This was the room which 6 of us out of a group of 21 got and it has its own shower, sink, mirror etc which many of the other rooms did not have..

Tip 2.) Visit the Karlovy Lazne Dance Club next to the Charles Bridge, 5 floors with different styles on every floor for about a £1!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe_Russ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2005

Located on the 2nd floor of a commercial/office building. Quite popular, but water pressure in showers was lacking. They have these annoying showers that you have to keep pressing the button every 1 or 2 seconds. Stayed in a 7 bed dorm room - seven beds in that sized room was probably a couple too many. Skipped b'fast as I had read no good things about it on other hostel review websites. If you walk-in to book, as for a discount - we got a 10% discount for an on-the-day booking.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#157 of 647 in Prague
3,059 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 691 in Prague
791 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#20 of 691 in Prague
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#534 of 647 in Prague
187 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#89 of 647 in Prague
3,307 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#139 of 647 in Prague
5,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Hostel

Address: Namisti Republiky 7 | entrance - Králodvorská 16, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #489 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $55 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Apple Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing