We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zizcov is an up and coming area of Prague”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Seifert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Seifert
Ranked #226 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Zizcov is an up and coming area of Prague”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

I stayed at Hotel Seifert for 17 days, longer than most. The staff, housekeeping and breakfast were all very good. Have read the comments about the odd mixture of frozen vegetables at breakfast time, but does it matter?? there was a fair mixture of stuff given the varied tastes of the many nationals they are trying to deal with. I am 55, much travelled and consider myself fair minded.

The area is one that is 'Up and coming' - or a 'Transition area' as is said in the US, rather than 'run-down.' So there are interesting points on the door step. You can still find working class pubs, that serve basic Czech food at sensible prices. Such food of course, is not to the taste of everybody given its heavy focus upon carbohydrates.... but from Hotel Seifert, you can nip up the hill to the Billa supermarket and get yourself a salad and buy beverages (Alcoholic or otherwise,) at reasonable prices. There are also ATM machines both to the right and the left of the Hotel.

At this time, the major building works for the railway pose a bit of a challenge to those on foot going into town. The foot paths are quite a guessing game. Better at the minute to go on the bus, or nip up the hill one block and get the 26 tram - particularly if you are under the influence!I Beware also if you going out of town on the train - the Czech National Railways Web site has not been updated to show that most trains are being diverted to Massaricovo Station rather than central - and there are no sign posts from one to the other, although they are adjacent.

The tunnel through to Praha 8 - which appears the nearest Metro, can be a little scary and, though I bought myself a wee joint there, is best avoided if you are on your own.

Best summary I can give: I went nervously as it was my first journey alone for 30 years having lost my partner, without speaking more than 12 words of Czech. I felt quite at home, safe and comfortable at Hotel Seifert. Well done to them!

Richard C (richard.cook49@btinternet.com)

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank FlashmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    180
    42
    9
    19
See reviews for
58
170
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

This hotel was clean with spacious rooms and friendly staff. It was about a twenty minute walk into the town centre or a quick tram ride and the price of the restaurants and bars in the area were much cheaper as a result. The breakfast was great - it had options of a couple of hot things as well as the usual cheese meats, bread and cereals etc. We also had a huge bathroom with a really powerful hot shower. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alfie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

Just returned from a 5 day stay at this hotel. Room was a good size and was very clean. Bathroom also clean and modern. Helpful staff on reception desk. Breakfast was fine, good choices. As said before the area seems to be run down and badly lit at night but we felt reasonably safe.

Easily accessible to the main town centre by either a bus 133 across the road, or come out of the hotel, turn left, then first left and go right to the top of a steep hill and catch a tram on the same side of the road (about 4 stops to city centre). The fare for this ride was 17 crowns (between 60 and 70 pence). Journey took about 10 minutes.

As regards eating out, a previous review recommended the restaurant to the right around the corner (U333 Trojek). We dined here on one occasion and when we received the bill it was not itemised and the prices were not legible (just figures scribbled on a piece of paper). We were overcharged and the waitress still waited for a tip! We thought a much better place to eat was the restaurant across the road near the bus stop (Restaurant Sklepeni). The food and drink here was excellent and very reasonably priced. Modern and clean establishment.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and value for money.
  • Disliked — Area.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Roamer5040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

Locationwise 10-15 minute bus ride is not bad given the bus stop is within 50 yards away from the hotel. Yes surrounding area is not touristy at all but seems to be safe. Breakfast is not good but you can't complain considering that you pay less - basically bread, ham, yogurt, coffee(tea), frozen veggie and one sausage plate. Great upside was you can use internet in your room for free. They don't have any wifi access but you can use pretty fast internet as long as you bring LAN cable with your laptop. You can also use a PC in the lobby. My room was very small but it seems that there are four rooms in each floor and mine was the smallest. From airport, you may want to take a AAA taxi (looks like small version of nyc yellow cab - they seem to be one of very few credible taxi operators in this town - around 650 cr) or take a share-ride with 480 cr (you can find the booth of this minivan service but I don't remember the name of it).
Overall the hotel is a fair value given the fact that there are so many rip-offs in city-center.

  • Liked — internet
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pincerattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

Hotel Seifert is a decent place to stay, although its not right in the centre of town, it does have trams and buses which take you to the heart of prague within 10-15mins. You also get to see a different side to prague, the touristy areas started to annoy me after a while, considering the amounts they were charging for a bottle of water (40 CZK) when you could easily pick one up near the hotel for 10CZK. Its absolute day light robbery.

Although the location of the hotel and the vicinity in which it is in seems fine during the day, its another story at night. The streets are dim and does seem a little dodgy. Nothing significant happened to us when we came back from town at night, but there were a few seedy characters running around. Do take precaution!!

Bus 133 ( which is literally accross the road) takes you all the way to Staromestka, which is within walking distance to Jewish Town, Old Town, Charles Bridge and Prague Caslte (apparently it takes 15mins to walk from Staromestka to Prague Castle, i think it could take more like 25 mins).

Tram 9 also takes you into the heart of old town, if you take a left out of the hotel, and then the first left, Walk up the hill about 200 m and the tram should be on the left.

Buffet breakfast was pretty decent, although not the best in terms of selection and variety, i thought it was good enough to set you up for a good day out in prague.

The room which we were given were huge, we actually had 3 beds instead of the standard double bed, the pillows, although large were quite flat and caused some serious neck stiffness. Another negative which i found was that there was no hotwater available after 11pm, so if your out all day and night and come back and want to take a hot shower, you werent able to.

Overall, i thought the hotel was above average, the hotel staff were very friendly, there is free internet in the lobby, you could stow away your bags if you have a late flight, there is also a safe in the room so that you can lock away those important items. Watch out for pick pockets, although nothing happened to us, we were extremely cautious most of the time.

P.S If you are lazy like how we were and couldnt be stuffed trying to figure out how to get from the airport to the hotel, check these guys out http://www.prague-airport-transfers.co.uk/. They charge about 1150 CZK or 35 Pounds (for up to 4 people) for return airport transfer plus they also give you a free 4 hr walking tour which operate on tuesday, thurs and saturday.

Enjoy Prague and hotel Seifert!

  • Liked — Clean, tidy, cheap and somewhat converniet
  • Disliked — Pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kid_n_play18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

We stayed at this hotel early April, and could not have chosen better. Room was larger than expected and spotless .Helpfull staff, nothing was too much trouble.One word of warning though,in reception you can book a taxi to the airport for 600 kr.
When we tried we were told that it was 900kr, when queried we were told that as we were a party of 4 there was extra luggage.
We said on the way from the airport we were charged 650kr for the 4 of us. He then said he could do it for the 600kr stated, so dont be talked into paying 900kr.
As others have said, the hotel is situated in a less than attractive area, but we felt completely safe walking at night.
Chinese restaurant across the road very good, but our favourite was , out the hotel turn right and right again and about 50 yards up on the right. Four 3 course meals and 3 drinks each and costing 1200kr (approx £40)
Walking to the old town took 25 minutes at a leisurely pace.

  • Liked — cleanliness and staff helpfullness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank megrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york, New York USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

19.03.08
Our stay at the Hotel Seifert in the last week of February was so nice that we re-arranged our holiday to return to Praha on the way home and stay a few more days at the Seifert.
The staff was fluent in many languages and extremeley helpful. Their knowledge of the city saved us alot of money and time. The breakfast was the best we have ever been offered in any European hotel. The variety and freshness of the food was a treat every morning.
Our room was clean, bright and comfortable.The television was a very nice treat with a wide selection of International channels.
Being located in Zizkov was another plus offered by the Hotel Seifert. A wonderful neighborhood in itself and only minutes to Stare Mesto via mass transit.
Thanks to all at the Seifert for a wonderful time, and I can't wait to visit again!!

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rskairus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#109 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Taurus
Hotel Taurus
#241 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Praha 3
Bily Lev
Bily Lev
#294 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Aida
Aida
#235 of 670 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Praha 8
Hotel Mucha
Hotel Mucha
#207 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#107 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seifert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seifert

Property: Hotel Seifert
Address: Konevova 152/8, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Seifert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seifert is located in the center of Prague, just a short walk from the Wenceslas Square, the Main railway station and the international bus station Florenc. It is a modern hotel with thirty modern rooms and underground parking. Visitors will especially appreciate its location, right next to the hotel there is a public bus stop offering a direct connection to the river banks near the Manes Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seifert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing