We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location for tourism”
Review of Akcent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akcent
Ranked #157 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

echoing previous reviews,well located'tourist'hotel offering all thats needed for a3or4day trip to prague.it was my first time on this 'side' of the river,finding a 'new' area to wander around and explore<the malostrane area>.a comfortable 30mins walk.also discovered an alternative way into/out of town<100bus to zlinic,then metro>to/from the airport.clientele of hotel mixed which is evident at breakfast,which is adequate but no more.staff helpful as can be when asked.overall worth a visit to stay in the 'andel' area,making a change from the overpriced 'old town'!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geeteeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 521 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

I enjoyed staying at this hotel, it was very clean, we had a very spacious room that had a balcony. All of the rooms are on the 7th floor of an old office block - sounds odd but it was good as all the rooms had decent views and there was absolutely no noise from other rooms. Can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't get up early enough for it!
When we first got to the hotel I have to admit I thought it was in a bit of a strage area. But the location is actually really good - literally next to an entrance to Andel metro station which is just a couple of stops away from Prague centre. You can also walk or catach a tram - number 9 was the main one we used.
At the back of the hotel was a little grocery shop selling various things and also there is a shopping centre up the road with a Tesco and McDonalds.
The best tip I would give is to do a day trip to Dresden in Germany - it is only a 2 hour train journey from the main train station (Hlavni Nadrazi) and passes through some of the most beautiful countryside you will ever see.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam_Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Akcent, and it was a very pleasant experience. As others have said, it's not what you'd expect based on the exterior. But once you get inside, the fact that the building doubles as a casino/office building isn't a factor. The staff is friendly and helpful, and most importantly, the rooms are clean and comfortable.

As mentioned, the location, steps from the Andei stop, is very convenient. You can pay more to be right in the middle of everything, but you don't gain much, and you miss out on getting a much better feel for the local flavor of Prague.

I do agree with previous posters in their complaints about the pillows. Even by European standards, they're not great. But otherwise, the room is comfy, the bathroom is clean, and the property is safe and secure. I can't ask much more than that.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronanderson303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel might not look the part, and I have no idea what the rest of the building is used for, but the seventh floor hotel is clean, neat, has AC and Wifi. The location is great too, close for walking and right out front is the underground. Don't let the Casino sign fool you, you barely notice it once you are in the hotel. Very simple hotel as well nothing fancy but it still turned out to work very well for us. The breakfast was included and decent as well!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

this was our second stay in this hotel and although first impressions may be slightly unnerving it is a really nice place to stay.the hotel rooms are on the top floor of what looks like an office block. the reception staff are very friendly,the rooms are quite adequate and spacious with air conditioning.the breakfast room is on the ground floor and is of good quality with both hot and cold fare.outside of the hotel there is the andel metro station and across from the hotel there is a bus station,but these are not really needed as all of prague is within walking distance.

Room Tip: just across the road from the hotel,heading for the river there is a small bar/restaurant called the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank failworthjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel is situated beside the Andel subway station and opposite the bus station. The hotel is on the 6th floor of an office building. Reception and the restaurant and bar is on the ground floor. Your room pass-card is used in the lift as an added security feature that gives you access to the hotel. We had rooms at the back of the hotel. The rooms are basic, but clean and a good size. All rooms have a little terrace. There is quite a bit of road noise but if you close the french door and window it shuts out most of it.
Air conditioning, a safe and Wi-Fi is provided free of charge - not something you'd expect for free in a 3* hotel. However, although tea and coffee making facility is provided no tea and coffee is provided! I had already spotted this on Trip Advisor and popped some in my case.
The beds were comfy but the pillows are useless! As soon as your head hits them they go flat.. We requested a couple more which made our second night more comfy. Breakfast is quite basic, ham, cheese, eggs, frankfurters, bread and yogurt. Plenty to get you set up for the day.
It's a short walk to the local area where there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. Just come out of the hotel and go left.
If you'd like to read more about our visit to Prague, reviews of transport and restaurants please visit my blog post - this one has links to my other 2 days and a hints a tips section: http://soosieboo.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/prague-day-3/

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for extra pillows as soon as you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soosieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the previous reviews.
Stayed for 4 nights. Average temp was 24-27C..absolutely brill.....
We took the pre-booked shuttle which was on time.

(If u had time and wanted to take a cheaper mode of transport from airport to the hotel, then take bus 119 and then u can get the metro to hotel.)

Dont change money at the airport, ....the hotel also changes money but the rate was worse than airport.
I changed at the bank CSOB in the town centre rate was excellent and no commission.

The hotel doesnt look like the photos maybe an older version.
When we arrived I walked into the casino next door by mistake couldnt tell where the hotel entrance was.lol

We were given a room on the 6th floor, all hotel guests are on the 6th floor. (elevator only goes to the 6th floor) ......All room numbers on this floor was in the 700s.
The hotel was clean and the receptionist was polite.
Check in was easy.
Keycard entry for the rooms and to use the elevator.

The room was big, two single beds with clean sheets.
The bed was comfortable.
There was an LCD TV with most channels not in English..... the usual 2 english news channels were CNN AND BBC.
A frigde with a full minibar was available.
Cups and a kettle were provided but NO tea or coffee, this could be purchased at reception for 5 CZK and milk and sugar for 2 CZK.

Room had a safe and the free wifi was great.

The bathroom was big with a shower just like in the pictures.
It appeared clean but there was mold on the plastic bits....I hate mold in the shower!!!!
The shower was powerful but the shower holder on the wall wasnt holding the shower head securely and it kept falling off the wall while showering.
There was a small bar of soap and some sachets of shampoo/body wash which was replaced on 2 of the 4 days only. Not sure why it wasnt replaced everyday? maybe because she saw that we brought our own.
On the last day when the room was cleaned the cleaner left a wet towel on the floor of the shower and the hand towels we got was torn...very odd.
Saying that the towel that were left on the previous days was clean and smelt good.

We had a balcony with views of the bus station but we could see the St Peter/Paul church in the distance.
This was a great balcony as it didnt face the sun so we could sit outside in the afternoons without sun in our faces......we were in room 731.

The hotel was non smoking but we got a constant smell of smoke in the corridors.

Breakfast started from 7-10am. Large breakfast room. There were a couple of birds in a cage which added to the atmosphere of the restaurant.
We were really excited to go for breakfast from the previous reviews but I was slightly disappointed.
Having said that the breakfast was ok for me, scrambled eggs and fried eggs available.
There were cereals and cheese,ham and yogourt.
The fruits included oranges and apples............. and they very old and bruised.
The cucumbers and tomatoes were not fresh at all except on the 3rd morning....
There was machine juices and coffee which was ok.
There was also what looked like meatballs but I didnt try that.

The metro entrance was literally outside the hotel lol.
Which was a good thing.
We got all day travel cards(CZK 110) but I recon if you plan your journeys well...... u can just get away with two 24CZK tickets each.

There is a big mall, Nový Smíchov 100m from the hotel. As u exit the hotel turn left and u can see it at the end of the street.
There is a food court at the top floor, good food.
Also a Big Tesco supermarket.

Even though the hotel is located close to the bus station, we could hear cars at night but it wasnt that loud and it didnt affect our sleep.......
I was worried about the hotel as it didnt look safe at night but we had no problems.
There was police visible constantly.....which made me feel safe.

We didnt have dinner at the hotel.
But try Restaurant Zlaty Klas, opposite the Ibis. Good food.

All in all.......I had a good holiday and I slept well.....sure the alcohol before bed helped lol.......only a few issues we had with this hotel........
For the price we paid I would say this hotel is a little better than average.

So if u looking for a basic budget clean hotel in a quiet but centrally located hotel this is it for u.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matrix1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Vienna House Andel's Prague
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#113 of 646 in Prague
1,546 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#79 of 646 in Prague
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#192 of 646 in Prague
1,635 reviews
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#92 of 646 in Prague
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akcent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akcent

Address: Stroupeznickeho 1/253 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Prague
#114 Business Hotel in Prague
#186 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $41 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akcent 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly reconstructed Akcent hotel is a modern 3-star budget hotel with a friendly atmosphere located on the 7th floor of a 1930s Functionalist-style office building and can boast splendid views of Prague from all 53 rooms. The hotel is situated in the heart of Smichov quarter, just a 3 minute walk from one of Prague's major commercial and entertainment zones, where two big shopping malls Novy Smichov and Zlaty Andel are to be found. Guests highly value the hotel's location also for easy and quick connections to the centre of Prague. With an entrance to the Andel subway station right outside hotel front door, and several tram line stops nearby, the entire historical centre of the "City of Hundred Spires" is just 5 minutes away, while picturesque Lesser Town, park Kampa and Petrin Hill is only a 20 minute walk. Not far is also river Vltava and Vysehrad Castle. Hotel's location is also very convenient for tourists coming for Prague Beer Tour as Staropramen brewery is in surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akcent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Akcent Hotel
Akcent Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing